We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian Ruby 3 - a hidden gem...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Asian Ruby Park View Hotel
Ranked #256 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Asian Ruby 3 - a hidden gem...”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I booked myself in to this hotel last minute as I felt ill and didn't fancy spending the night on the flooded floors of a dorm room toilet. My experience was faultless from the off. My first impressions of this hotel were very luxurious (although 5 weeks of slumming it in hostels probably contributed to this impression). The staff were very friendly and led me up to my modern, chic room with all the mod cons. The beds were extremely comfortable, the room service food was prompt and delicious, the tv screened premier league football (a huge plus!), wifi worked perfectly in my room, which was quite high up. The shower/bathroom was clean and elegant. And best of all was the wonderful selection at the breakfast buffet the next morning, consisting of fruits, cakes, yoghurts, delicious hot dishes, omelettes, fresh orange juice, tea and coffee all fresh and plentiful. Let's just say I felt much better after my stay at Asian Ruby 3 and I was very sad to return to the squeaky bunk and dirty sheets of my backpacker hostel. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    128
    80
    22
    24
See reviews for
30
106
47
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

When we were in Vietnam, my friends stayed in this hotel and whenever we go there to see them, the hotel staff allows us to go to their room or stay in the dining area when they're taking their breakfast. We were able to taste their food and it's good as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamrainoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dien Bien Phu, Vietnam
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I booked with agoda and although my room had no window and was a little squishy ... it was an excellent bed ... very comfortable .... very clean room and most impressive the cleaning ladies were just so happy and friendly it was infectious. I think it is always a good sign if the staff are happy. Breakfast was good without being 5 star ..... but again the staff were so nice and happy it made up for it. If you need a room with a view ... you have to pay more ... but it is so close to the center of town you can just go out. Has a good room service menu and very reasonably priced food. AIf you like a walk in the park ..... there's one right opposite........

Room Tip: no window on the 1st floor, at least not in room 104 ..... and very compact
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEV T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I booked Deluxe room over agoda that advertised the deluxe as 30 sq mt floor space. The room I was given as deluxe was less than 20 sq mt. I complained bitterly and was told "oh that is different deluxe" after a lot more complaining and proof of my booking. I was ugraded.
Reception staff need to learn thar smiles are easy and cost nothing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeWone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

motueka
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

First 2 nights of Vietnam holiday at the Asian Ruby 3 hotel. We had booked a Deluxe room and were delighted to be told on arrival that we had received an upgrade. Got to the room and very disappointed. It was very small with the only bonus a view of the park. Noisy aircon and also noisy street. Breakfast was not great as they seem to cater more for Asian tastes. Had a kettle but nothing else to have a hot drink. Have stayed in a number of hotels during 2 trips to Vietnam and this was the one most disappointed in. Definitely no pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff_motueka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We were staying there at the end of April, for 3 days.
I found that the Check in, was quick and professional (The Reception speaks good English)
The room with 2 double Beds on the 8 floor was very quiet and reasonable for a 3 star Hotel and the Price of USD 60, facing a park opposite the Hotel. (Make sure you get a room with Park View)
The windows are double glassed so you can’t hear the noise from the very busy Street between the Hotel and the Park.
The Hotel is now older so the Bathroom and Furniture is a bit worn.
Breakfast is nothing special and I find it needs to improve with the quality of the Western Foods.
The Hotel is close to Ben Thanh Market, easy walk with a child (5 years old), about 5- 7 minutes’ walk
Restaurants and Food stalls are everywhere around the Hotel, priced from very cheap to very expensive.
KFC is a 2 minute walk on the same side of the hotel towards the city or go over to the Backpackers area in Pham Ngu Lao Street opposite the Hotel, divided by a big Park.
The evening Entertainment is everywhere, starting with the” 17 Saloon “which has a Wild West make up, with Hard Rock music and many other Bars and Clubs especially on the Backpackers side of the Park.
You find a casino 6 minutes’ walk from the Hotel next to the 5 star Hotel New World, so you got everything in the area, if you are Single or a Couple.
We were warned to be careful at late night at the Backpackers site and the Park as apparently young Girls rooming the street and stealing Wallets and mobile Phones (single man are especially targeted but even Couples are not save)
For Family’s like us with small children there are many play areas in the park (one is fully fenced) so the Kids are save and have many things to do.
For older kids, they are many Computer Game rooms around the Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schey900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

What's with the pool? That's just false advertising. That looks more like a resort you would find in Phuket or Kho Samui.
Check in was pretty painless until we got to the room and couldn't get the safe to work. They sent up this young...sorry to say "punk" yes they have them in Vietnam too. Now this kid couldn't speak a word of English and he was trying to explain how to set the code. When I couldn't get the gist of what he was trying to convey after about three times he got irritated and barked something at me which sounded like "back" but it may have been Vietnamese for "you idiot" for all I know.
The best two things about this place were the internet in the lobby which was super fast and one of the desk clerks who when I asked for an English speaking doctor for my partner who had become more and more unwell from a respiratory infection we both picked up in Hanoi, organised for her to be seen at the S.O.S. clinic as well as a taxi to get us there. We were seen within 40 minutes. Must admit the tour organiser was o.k. too. But that's where the positives end.
The front desk was fair to good.
All in room services were terrible. It took four days for them to supply us with soap. There were tea making facilities in the room but no tea, coffee or sugar to make it with. The bed linen was not crisp and white instead had a yellow tinge about it and the the sheets had small tears in them. The towels were stained...not saying they were unwashed, just stained which obviously due to constant use were unable to be shifted.
The T.V. reception was lousy except for a few channels and none of the channels were as they were supposed to be.
The worst thing about the room was the bathroom. There was mould and mildew all around the bathtub.
The buffet breakfast which was included in the price of the room was nothing short of disgraceful. The menu had such delicacies as...snake head soup...garlic bread...garlic fried rice...etc. etc. The only eggs you could get were cold , dried fried eggs kept in a steamer type contraption. There were two types of bread..baguette which was good and white sliced to make toast. One morning the toaster stopped working and it took about ten minutes to get another one.There were two types of juice...no cereal whatsoever and anything which was in the bain marie was not even remotely warm. The worst thing was that when something ran out...it wasn't replenished, so if you got to breakfast around 0830...good luck if there was much left to choose from. Would have loved to have gone out for breakfast but this place is not located close to any good food places.
We went to dinner one night at about 8 o'clock because the hotel information said that the dining room was open until 12a.m. Not so. We could hardly get anything to eat except a pizza and when I requested a non alcoholic drink such as a coke or some juice I was told that there was none.
Now let's get to the staff...Virtually none of them spoke even the smallest amount of English.
The night we tried to get dinner the same "punk" from the safe episode was sprawled out across some chairs asleep. On another occasion at breakfast another male staff member was standing behind a counter eating watermelon and spitting the seeds into his hand and then tossing them behind him. Yet another male employee in the restaurant was off on his own playing with his mobile phone.
In my opinion this place does not have too many saving graces. For the money I didn't expect the Waldorf but I did expect a certain level of creature comforts and a clean room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louis x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.0 mi away
Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel
Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel
#150 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
#175 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Asian Ruby Select Hotel
Asian Ruby Select Hotel
#126 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
#101 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
#103 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elios Hotel
Elios Hotel
#72 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asian Ruby Park View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian Ruby Park View Hotel

Property: Asian Ruby Park View Hotel
Address: 100 Le Lai Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Asian Ruby 3 Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asian Ruby Park View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Asian Ruby Park View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing