We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“economic, comfortable, clean, and great service.”
Review of Family Inn Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Family Inn Saigon
Ranked #40 of 891 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Taichung, Taiwan
1 review
“economic, comfortable, clean, and great service.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

As I said, this hotel is very economic. It is located in the heart of Saigon, and if you arrive in the morning, there are plenty of museums nearby you could walk around.
Honestly, I was surprised as I opened the room, the room is clean (of course), there's a large bathtub in the restroom. The bed is comfy, and I could just sit in my bed and watch TV all night long.
People from the check-in counter are well trained, and the lady in the lobby was really nice and gave me many ideas to sight-see this city.
This hotel is on top of my list if I happen to visit Saigon again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franky713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Family Inn S, Guest Relations Manager at Family Inn Saigon, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback and we are deeply delighted with your excellent rating of our services. Our strength is our people who are passionate with their work and very dedicated to ensure that our guests are very well taken care of to the best of their satisfaction.

We would be more than glad to welcome you again on your next visit to Ho Chi Minh City.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    176
    69
    21
    10
See reviews for
62
109
51
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
501 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here a few nights and it was nice. Room was simple and a trip up the tiny elevator took us to a very nice small restaurant. Ate there two dinners and 3 breakfasts. I had never stayed in this area of District 1 before, but I liked it. 10 or 15 minutes to the main market and a 30 minute walk will get you to the river or clear on the other side of the back packer area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Family Inn S, Guest Relations Manager at Family Inn Saigon, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your patronage and we are absolutely elated with your very nice review of our hotel. Your comfort and convenience is always our priority and we shall continue delivering the best possible service that is expected of us.

It is truly fulfilling to learn that our guests bring home great memories of staying with us.

We look forward to you next visit.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent hotel with super fast wifi! The breakfast was delicious and the room was wonderful. Everything in Vietnam is SO cheap and this hotel is no exception, but it is very high quality! The staff is very helpful and friendly and speak wonderful english. I hope to come back again one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Family Inn S, Guest Relations Manager at Family Inn Saigon, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and thank you for your very nice comments of our hotel. Our convenient location complemented by our excellent services make your touring holiday a pleasant one. Your satisfaction is what matters most to us and we shall continue to ensure utmost comfort of all our guests.

We would be glad to have you with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed at the Family Inn Saigon in a double room that was absolutely spacious and super clean. It's location is very good as it close to local attractions including the Cho Ben Thanh market and The Golden Dragon Water Puppet Show, which I absolutely loved! Staff is also friendly and the view from the restaurant above is pretty good as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joongoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Family Inn S, Guest Relations Manager at Family Inn Saigon, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so delighted to receive your heart-warming comments of our facilities and services. Most importantly, we are very glad that you had enjoyed our breakfast and the comfort of our rooms. Thank you also for rating us the best hotel in our vicinity.

Your nice feedback is equivalent to recommending us to prospective guests and we highly appreciate that. Hope to be of service to you again soon. .

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is my 2nd stay at this hotel, choosing to return due to the comfortable stay last time after booking an Intrepid tour. I'll also share a little about the kind of travellers we are to give you an idea. Vietnam is cheap to visit, however we couldn't justify splurging on a 5 star hotel for 8 nights so this hotel became our budget stay for 5 nights at the start of the trip and we later moved to a 5 star hotel for 3 nights to keep the budget more realistic. If you're looking for a reasonable 3 star place, this is it!

The good: the price for this hotel is very affordable. We paid $41AUD per night for a deluxe room on the 11th floor. There are cheaper rooms at $36 but they have no windows. The rooms were clean with functioning strong aircon, a must in Vietnam. Our room was cleaned to a good standard daily, beds made with 2 free water bottles. Our room also had good natural light which is important for me as I hate dark rooms. The location of the hotel on Bui Thi Xuan st was a sufficient base to get to most places by taxi. Ben Thanh market will be a 20min meander in the heat while looking out for traffic just to give you an idea. The hotel had free and strong Wi-Fi and the buffet breakfast included was satisfactory. Items included an egg station, fried rice, steamed veggies, noodle soup, fresh fruit, toast, cereal, juice and dim sum just to name a few items. The aspect that makes this hotel worth coming back to is the staff. There's a 24hr reception, staff were always friendly and willing to help with anything from a map to calling a taxi. There is also a computer in the lobby with free internet but no printing. The hotel is also next door to Zest Massage, which for 300,000 ($15AUD roughly) will get you a 90min hot stone and full body massage.

The improvements: like a few have mentioned there's only 1 lift in the hotel. This is generally fine but during peak time, expect to wait 5 mins as it stops at every floor and gets crowded. It's also hot and stuffy in there. The way the bathroom is designed means that after a shower, there's a slight 'flood' on the tiles which means you'll need to be a little careful. We also had room 1101 which was a light filled airy room only to be let down by the light thumping music from next building over. The room backs onto the adjacent building which rents out its facilities to functions. One night, the music didn't stop till 3am. If you're a heavy sleeper, fine but this is something to be wary of. Nothing the hotel can do but worth mentioning in a review for readers. We (a couple in our late 29s) heard music on 3 of the 5 nights which did annoy me.

Overall, the Family Inn served its purpose and met our expectations and I would return. It doesn't pretend to be anything else. If you're looking for a solid 3 star hotel in HCMC then this hotel should deliver.

Room Tip: Avoid 1101 if you're a light sleeper. You can hear the music from next door. Choose a room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnhNguyen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Family Inn S, Guest Relations Manager at Family Inn Saigon, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your patronage and we are absolutely elated with your very nice review of our hotel. Your comfort and convenience is always our priority and we shall continue delivering the best possible service that is expected of us.

It is truly fulfilling to learn that our guests bring home great memories of staying with us.

We look forward to you next visit.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Pros: good location, newly renovated bathrooms, good wifi.

Cons: rooms tired and old, horrible uncomfortable beds, well below average breakfast even by Asian standards, with hot room temperature milk and unfriendly staff. I asked a staff member if they had cold milk for my cereal and his response was "put some ice in it"... Um no how about you conform to some good safety standards and refrigerate your milk.

Plan on coming back to HCMC but won't be staying here, so many better options in this city.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s4172249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Family Inn S, Guest Relations Manager at Family Inn Saigon, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experiences and we certainly value your comments and feedback that would help us work further for improvement. It is so unfortunate that your impression of us is not good and we are deeply concerned to learn of your unsatisfactory experience. This does not reflect the usual service and quality at Family Inn Saigon.

We do apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered. This issue has already been discussed with the associates and department head concerned and please be assured that the same incident will not happen again.

It is our hope that you would spare us another opportunity to be of service to you again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here in a twin room (as part of a group tour) in May'14. The room was a bit small but that was a minor inconvenience. The buffet breakfast, on the topmost floor with a view, was quite lavish. The location of the hotel (15 minutes on foot from the city centre) was convenient. The staff was very helpful - i bothered them with quite a few questions regarding sightseeting and they were very patient with me....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peripateticously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Family Inn S, Guest Relations Manager at Family Inn Saigon, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your patronage and we are absolutely elated with your very nice review of our hotel. Your comfort and convenience is always our priority and we shall continue delivering the best possible service that is expected of us.

It is truly fulfilling to learn that our guests bring home great memories of staying with us.
We look forward to you next visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.1 mi away
May Hotel
May Hotel
#168 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
#45 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,473 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ma Maison Boutique Hotel
Ma Maison Boutique Hotel
#21 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anpha Boutique Hotel
Anpha Boutique Hotel
#26 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen Ann Hotel
Queen Ann Hotel
#160 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#34 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Inn Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Inn Saigon

Property: Family Inn Saigon
Address: 84A Bui Thi Xuan Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 891 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Family Inn Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Family Inn Saigon Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing