We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Cuc Gach Quan

Cuc Gach Quan
Ranked #43 of 3,241 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

From the decor, to the faultless service and exquisite food, it was simply a brilliant experience!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NBM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,427
    672
    219
    70
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food, very memorizing and make us want to visit again”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We choose this place is just suddenly by googling with 'romantic restaurant' the keynote and the nearest place and very recommended restaurant for the tourist.
Our hotel at the ben thanh market, it just about 15 minutes with taxi to this place. First time we arrive, it's surprise us with the place, it's not at the main road but it's in the alley, but there's lot of taxi is standby at the place so don't be afraid going to the hotel from this restaurant. This restaurant have a small gates not like any other restaurant which is have a wide gate and the board name above and the name is not cuc gach quan and of course i didn't know the meaning.
Inside the restaurant is crowded, table is full at the 1st floor.
The waiter accompany us to the 2nd floor, and guess what, many foreign tourist inside enjoying their dinner. They serve wine (red and white). We go here to this restaurant is looking their original vietnamese cuisine. We choose pork with ketchup sauce, fried fish serve with mango pickles, one plate of original vietnam vegetables. All of the mealsnis amazing, wonderful, very original vietnamese, memorizing us. Surely when we back to Vietnam at Ho Chi Minh, we will come here again for have some dinner. Very recommended restaurant at Ho Chi Minh.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank andrysutanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Totally awesome, a must to experience when in Ho Chi Minh city”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We got introduced to this place over breakfast at our hotel by another guest sitting next to us, we decided to go there for lunch and so glad we went (thank you friends).From our hotel Nikko it took about 20 minutes by taxi to get there not too farr and cost 80k dong, less than 5 bucks....in Oz it cost as much just to jump in a cab before it leave the kerb. While there we ordered ca loc kho to, canh chua Tom, ca tim xao hanh, thit kho trung, thit bo nuong...typical Vietnamese meal that we used to have when we were kids, and this really brought tears to my eyes, the memories, the taste, the old music in the background, the ambience of being back in the old days With the help of the surrounding, from the old chipped bowl, to the old tin chopsticks holder....anyway for the authentic experience of real Vietnamese food that doesn't cost a bucket load this place it perfect. And the service is fabulous as well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuandmar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A fabulous restaurant with positive energy .”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Wise choice .This restaurant exceeded any expatiation and it was certainly a great introduction to Vietnamese food ,having been here on my first night in the city. .No complains
A favorite among the wealthy and well known Vietnamese.
The staff were very efficient and the vibe was relaxing with positive energies.

Recommend ordering a few dishes ,to share .
Not to be missed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HRHSoraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I have been here quite a few times and it never fails to impress. The decor is fabulous, and serving staff wonderful, and the large range of Vietnamese food so delicious. If in Saigon you must visit Cuc Gach Quan!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SaigonAhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cuc Gach Quan also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Cuc Gach Quan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing