We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good convenient hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bong Sen Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Ranked #113 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good convenient hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Very well-positioned hotel in the heart of the action on Dong Khoi, surrounded by good shops and restaurants. Pleasant quiet rooms (though some with no windows) and an excellent buffet breakfast with a large array of Asian and Western food. Helpful staff. Recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    288
    111
    27
    13
See reviews for
64
91
89
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Walnut, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Pros:
1. Great Location
2. Decent Price

Cons:
1. Blood Stain on bed
2. Wifi broken 75% of the time
3. Doormen were less than helpful
4. Toilet worked exactly 50% of the time (you had to flush twice every time)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed here recently during a business trip to Ho Chi Minh. The location of the hotel is really ideal as it is in the main area in District 1 opposite Sheraton Hotel.

The lobby area is not to large but sufficient for a 3 star hotel. The re are rooms with and without window, so if you prefer a view do request for a room with a view.

The check-in was done quite promptly. The room size is quite large but overall it is clean. The room with a view includes a balcony which is quite nice as you can get a view of the street from your room. However soon the hotel will probably need to refurbish their carper which is getting a bit aged.

Breakfast is at the restaurant on the ground floor and has quite a good variety considering this is a 3 star hotel. There is a fruit counter, noodles/egg station, variety of breads and daily selected items of Asian dishes.

Overall it was a comfortable stay and the best thing is the location which is surrounded by many restaurants and cafes.

Room Tip: If you prefer a room with a window make sure to request in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveNLetLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I stay in the Bong Sen hotel after 10 days in Nha Trang. What a welcomed relief it was to be back in the hustle and bustle of Ho Chi Minh city. Despite the busy road outside our room was quiet and serene to the point that I forgot the busyness of the outside.

The reception staff were very competent and welcoming. Of all the hotels I stayed at on this visit to Vietnam. Bong sen's staff had the best standard of English.

I was delighted to have booked two nights at Bong Sen for just £73 including breakfast for a family of four! I must add that my children were free of charge as they are 5 and 3 years of age and we all slept in the same bed ( king size, which was more than adequate for all of us!).

Breakfast was good with a wide choice. Again I found the waiting staff to be professional and provided a high standard of service. What I suggest not to be missed is the buffet lunch. The charge is 210 Vietnamese dong per person (including service charge)which is approximately £7.00. There was a huge variety to chose from and the food was excellent. In addition to my lovely dining experience at the Bong sen lunch buffet, both my children eat for free, whereas there was a charge at the Sheraton in Nha.

Bong Sen hotel also exuded for me a sense of relaxed ease, in opposition to the busy city. I liked the staff's uniform and the interior decoration of the lobby. However, I must add that the bathroom needs a renovation, bluish green bathroom suite is not what I call in vogue. Despite this, I loved the boutique feel of the establishment.

A major plus point of the hotel is its location. We were able to walk to and fro to Ben thanh market with children in tow.I very much enjoyed the bargaining, and you must bargain well, as prices were sky high. We paid half price for several items that was originally quoted twice the value.

What I was disappointed by which doesn't have much to do with the hotel is the taxi drivers parked outside the hotel. On two separate occasion we had bad experiences. On the first occasion we wanted to go to Ben Thanh market which should only cost 30-40 Vietnamese dong (=£1.20). However, as soon as we got into the taxi, the driver was so aggressive with selling us journeys to various tours we got rather stressed. On this occasion we accepted going to a different market tripling the taxi's fare to 120 vnd. He persuaded us by saying the Ben Thanh is a very expensive market and is a tourist trap, we will be charged much higher prices there. This I have read so agreed to go to market he suggested and see it as an adventure.Upon arrival the market was dirty and clearly not a lovely market to wander around with two children. It was clearly a market for business where people go to buy in bulk and stock up their stalls. Not a market to buy souvenirs! We felt rather foolish by agreeing to go there. 5 minutes was enough for us and we took another taxi back to the hotel to recover from being conned by a taxi driver!

I suggest the Bong Sen management to have a system in place like the Novotel Saigon Center, where there is a hotel staff managing the taxi rank. At the Novotel, a member of staff escorts us to a taxi, gives us a small form with the taxi driver's number, and if we have any complaints about the driver we have the form as proof that we have taken a journey with the driver. I won't bore you with the second bad experience with a taxi driver. We asked a member of staff to call us a taxi to the airport on the morning of our departure rather than use one of the waiting taxis outside the hotel. Well recommended to do this. We had a pleasant journey in an air conditioned car and no 'bull*hit' from the driver.

Finally, a downside to Bong Sen is no swimming pool. Otherwise I would highly recommend this hotel as a value for money 4 star hotel with good staff with a lovely boutique atmosphere. I will definitely be returning for a second stay.

Nu Cullen.




  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NTCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were checked into a room that reeked of cigarette smoke and they were only able to change our rooms the following day. The rooms are stuck in a time warp although the lobby appears upgraded. The doormen were very unhelpful and the lift takes absolute ages to transition between floors. There is a smell of smoke throughout the hotel and the breakfast leaves much to be desired, with only a good selection of Vietnemese food on offer. The hotel even charges you for ice. I would not return nor recommend it to anyone. Excellent location in walking distance of many heritage sites.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Storm_peters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel is located on Dong Khoi St. a.k.a. HCM's shopping street. The rooms were spacious with nice furnishings. Our safe didn't work but we didn't bother with it, we didn't have valuables anyway. The bed was okay but the pillows were rock-hard. The TV had a great selection of local and international channels. The elevators were very slow so since our room was on the second floor, we took the steps most of the time. Breakfast was good, with a great selection of local and international cuisine. The room was clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. For the location alone, this hotel is already worth its price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

For the price ($50) on agoda.com this hotel was great. Excellent clean rooms with everything in working order, a varied and extensive breakfast and nice decor. The hotel was in a great location for exploring HCMC and I would consider staying here again if I visited HCMC. The beds were also comfortable so it was easy to get a good nights sleep. Unfortunately they did not have enough rooms for our tour group to stay a second night in a row so we had to stay at the sister hotel 'Bong Sen 2'. This was just around the road and was a much poorer standard of hotel. They are around the same price but the second night at the other Bong Sen paled in comparison to Bong Sen.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#101 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#46 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bongsen Annex Hotel
Bongsen Annex Hotel
#257 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#59 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Oscar Saigon Hotel
#185 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Hotel
Saigon Hotel
#102 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bong Sen Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bong Sen Hotel Saigon

Property: Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Address: 123 117, Dong Khoi Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bong Sen Hotel Saigon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bong Sen Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing