We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Central Hotel
Ranked #84 of 461 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Good location and worth of Money, walking distance to Ben Thanh Market, Saigon Square, and Indo-chine Spa, so many food around the hotel.
We are really satisfied !!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssoenjoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in June. The room was small with not much natural light and was quiet cramped. The decor was not relaxing and nothing matched but as we weren't in HCM to spend much time in the hotel it didn't matter to much. The bathroom had a good power shower. The swimming pool was small but it was nice to have the facility there. The location of this hotel was what was good about it. It was only ten minutes walk to the reunification palace/catherdal and post office. Also only 15 minute walk to the back pack area where a lot of the tours went from and where there was a wide variety of bars and restaurants. The Ben Thanh market was only 5 minutes away. Would recommend this hotel for the location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audsdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

we had 2 rooms for 5 days in this hotel for our family of four (2 teenagers). We found the hotel rooms very comfortable with good amentities. We had a coffeemaker, welcome basket of fruit and complimentary bottled water in our room. Our double room was small but more than adequate for what we needed. Hotel was in a good location. 1 block from the market, walking distance to all sights. Free internet in lobby which was great for teenagers! Pool on rooftop was such a welcome oasis at the end of the day, although not a large pool it was clean and very refreshing. Breafast included in our room rate was fantastic - we left so full we didn't need much to eat during the day. Good variety of food. Hotel had a spa in the basement which I used for a massage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Good location - bit more expensive than comparable hotels we stayed in hcm but worth it for pool

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights & was disappointed.
I booked & paid for a suite & found out they called a suite a larger room. A suite should have a separate bedroom & sitting area.
They showed me several rooms before I picked one and they were all similar. Their " high tech shower " was a POS.
The first day it was scolding hot & I was unable to use it , I complained & a man fixed it & then it was stone cold.
I kept quite after this as it was better to freeze than be burnt. Also their High Tech Toilet seat was so hot it was like sitting on a BBQ grill
I had to splash cold water on the SOB before I could use it.
Other bad things, Slow lifts, small crappy pool & pool area. Exercise area was a couple of machines around the pool .
Breakfast so so , Other food I tried also only so so
The staff were very nice & helpful & it was a good location

Room Tip: ask to see the room before you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigWayneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

On a three week trip in Asia this was our first stop. The Golden Central Hotel in HCMC is really central, major sights and many many restaurants are in walking distance. Rather small but comfortable rooms, nothing to complain. Service staff helpful, full breakfast on the 17th floor with a view all over the city. Definitely recommended for s stop in Vietnam!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamburgKK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here on our last night in ho chi min after a great 2 week holiday, stayed at the sanouva hotel down the road for first 3 nights, cheaper and better than golden central.
The hotel has small rooftop pool and you have breakfast on the 17th floor overlooking ho chi min not a lot of room once everyone gets up there for breakfast and the breakfast was nothing to write home about! we got a standard room which was really small, no view out the window and smell of urine in our bathroom had to keep the door closed.
It was the next street back from ben tha markets. The staff were all friendly.
the foyer is lovely and clean as you walk in, try the toilets in the lobby my friend and i were amused that the toilet has a blow dryer for your bottom!

Room Tip: I would maybe think about upgrading
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#30 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#31 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Ho...
#53 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#101 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Boutique Hotel
Millennium Boutique Hotel
#41 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
A&Em Signature Hotel
A&Em Signature Hotel
#230 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Central Hotel

Address: 140 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 461 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £48 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing