We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Central Hotel
Ranked #82 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a signature deluxe room for 5 days. The whole experience was mostly pleasant. Most staff were friendly and helpful, the young bell boy was very helpful in highlighting extra things to see on the map. Rooms were clean, although not very big, the shower looked like a time machine it was a little strange. Breakfast was good, buffet style, with a good variety. When we stayed there was an issue with the pool, looked like it was being drained so we weren't able to enjoy it. The location was great, short walks to restaurants, the museum, and the markets.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sha86sha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    375
    163
    40
    35
See reviews for
117
343
62
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Croatia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

After horrible experience at one hotel in backpack area we decided to stay at Golden Central with our friends.Located 5 min away from Benn Than Market and 15 min walk to major attraction sites (Chatedral,Post Office,War Museum....).Large variety of food for breakfas,comfortable bed,very clean room.There are two things that I didn't like ,staff is so noisy in the morning and pool is cold.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balancana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

upgraded to signature deluxe. feels like a 3 stars hotel. everything is like a 3 star except for the 4 star pricing. they have a policy of not bringing viet girls to the room after 10pm but of course you can sort of book another room saying you are staying separately. limited nice breakfast and great view.

Room Tip: not much difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeLe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We decided to stay closer to ben thant market this occasion of travel so we choose Golden Central.

Located like 5 mins away from Ben Thant Market, it is also centrally located from most of the local must see Landmarks - War Museum, Opera House and etc...

The staff were very friendly, efficient check in. We booked a room with 2 single beds but they advised on an upgrade for $30 USD per night with additional single bed including breakfast.

Breakfast spread was decent, more on cookies and cakes then the usual. Nothing spectacular.

The pool is on the 16th floor which brings in colder waters than the usual.

If you are choosing a room, please choose further from the lift lobby as the noise pollution travels easily beyond walls in this hotel. We stayed on the 6th floor which is non smoking but the corridor was filled with occasional cigarette smell.

The bath is much spoken off in the reviews for this hotel, The shower cubicle does leak bath water and floods the floor if not used properly.

The room lighting is somewhat dim, our room lack ceiling lighting. The power points available were limited too, 2 points only.

Overall a great stay, efficient check in and check out. Great bell hop service and front desk too. We were looking for a salon with hair braiding and they manage to source one within minutes for us located 10 mins away from the hotel.

Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose away from the lift lobby rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolchalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Decided to stay within walking distance of Ben Thant market this visit. Our choice was Golden Central Hotel, very conveniently located near to major attraction sites other than the market.

We stayed in Signature Deluxe Room, with upgrade to triple share for $30USD per night.

The rates we painful comes with daily breakfast, the spread is reasonable with extra choices of cookies and local cake delights.

The rooms are fairly compact, avoid rooms near lift lobby as the noise level sometimes can get noisy transferring into rooms situated near this area.

There are limited power sockets available in room. Lighting in room are slightly dimmer than the average hotel as our room had limited ceiling lights.

The shower cubicle are state of the art but some mastering of usage to avoid entire bathroom floor soaked in after shower water. Basic toiletry necessities are provided.

Overall check in and check out is smooth and front desk is helpful in all our queries.

Definitely a good choice of stay when visiting HCMC, well worth the price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanoi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have just experienced 4 days in this supposed 4 star hotel. BEWARE-its not. Although a friendly welcome was received on the first day the rest was frustrating and disappointing. Perhaps a new manager who could whip the rest of the staff into action. My main issue was the non-existent gym and very very ordinary roof top pool. Broken chairs, dirty cushions, old dilapidated rusty gym equipment were what you will be met with (lucky the photo's were done at night). The positives- breakfast and an upgrade after complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location within Saigon, an abundance of shops, markets, restaurants and landmarks nearby. The price and value for money is great and my personal favourite is the shower. After a long flight, these new age showers with steam sauna, lights, spa jets, various water heads and even a radio were my highlight haha

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#30 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Ho...
#44 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#20 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
EdenStar Saigon Hotel
EdenStar Saigon Hotel
#53 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#37 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#33 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Central Hotel

Property: Golden Central Hotel
Address: 140 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing