We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alagon Western Hotel
Ranked #88 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My son and I arrived early from the train trip from Da Nang at about 6 a.m. and it was no trouble to book in at that time though it cost us a bit more. The outstanding feature of this hotel is the staff and three are particularly memorable and an asset to the hotel, Angela, Lucy and Herbert. Angela was particularly helpful with printing new e-tickets when our domestic flight schedule was changed back in Australia plus some personal help interpreting Vietnamese writing. She also booked my train trip north and obtained an aged persons discount which was a considerable saving. Other staff were extremely helpful in finding a dental clinic and ensuring they spoke English before making an appointment for me. Staff on the door always gave a friendly greeting. I have absolutely no complaints regarding this hotel. Yes, there are some guests who have no consideration for others and allow their children to run up and down the corridors but I don't blame the hotel staff for this. Apart from a little of that noise I did not find the hotel noisy at all. I consider this a great value for money hotel and would certainly stay there again when in Saigon.

Room Tip: If you require a window view make sure you ask for a room with windows. I only require a hotel room...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_hhl2, Manager at Alagon Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Rob

Thank you very very much for your kind feedback and great commend.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the our Hotel and you remarked all perfect things for the hotel. We’ll transfer your feedback about the staff to them. With your great commend, it’s very important to us. Besides, We really appreciate for your sympathetic about the noise in the hotel.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again soon and are looking forward to your next visit in Saigon

Yours sincerely

Chuong FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for Alagon Western Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

I originally booked our stay for 3 nights and ended up staying for 7 nights. The front counter staff could not be more friendly and helpful if they tried. They helped book train tickets, plane tickets and print out tickets for our flights. We booked a day trip to Cu Chi tunnels which was great from the travel desk. Bellboys would run up the street to get taxis for you if requested.
The rooms are good although you can hear noise in the hallway pretty easy but that would be my only complaint. The breakfast was good and a buffet style with plenty of choices even halal if you so desire.
I would stay there again no problem at all and would recommend it to other people looking for an affordable place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_hhl2, Manager at Alagon Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Davidlord

Thank you very much for spending your time to give us a kind feedback.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. We are so happy that you appreciate the breakfast and the tour booked in the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in our hotel and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again.

Sincerely yours
Chuong, FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel rates itself as 3 star on it's business card; but I am not convinced.
We stayed on level 5 and the rooms are tired, poorly lit and poorly ventilated. Also the breakfast buffet wasn't ready at 6am which is disappointing if heading out on an early tour or departure.
the reception staff are most welcoming and very helpful. There seems to be a bazaar or private market going on in the lobby which takes up a considerable amount of room and makes the lobby uninviting if you want a place to sit & relax rather than being boxed in your room. The street outside is teeming with traders and half a block from the night market. The area seems to cater to Malaysian tourists.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room before checking in. Check the aircon in the room and the bathroom before checking...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lathkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_hhl2, Manager at Alagon Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear lathkill

Thank you for spending your time to give us a straight feedback.

We express regret for the space in the lobby which have a few group check in at the same time. The location of our hotel is in the center of the City and next to the Ben Thanh Market. It is really exiting and crowded on the street in front of the hotel, specially after 6:00 PM.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Ben Thanh Market area and hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service.

Sincerely yours

Chuong, FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The room was not sound-proof at all. You should expect to be waken up in the middle of the night and very very early morning (free morning waking-up service there) because of the noise in the hallway. It is highly recommended to wear ear plugs if you want a good night sleep (or get very drunk the night before). We could hear anything that was on the hallway from people talking, people walking, kids running, kids screaming to people showering in their rooms

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timmy_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_hhl2, Manager at Alagon Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,
I would like to apologize for the noise, that you experienced during your recent stay. We always try and provide the comfort and quiet environment for the guest. Honestly, When you were staying in our hotel, We had some family group stayed with their children running on the floors. I would also like you to know that we will take steps to make sure that our hallways are better supervised to prevent this from happening again.

Best Regards,

Chuong, FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in December 2013. This hotel is not the most 'elegant' hotel in Saigon but definitely meets all the criteria to ensure for a great stay in Saigon. If you are looking for a budget hotel with adequate facilities then definitely consider this hotel!

SERVICE: All staff members were polite and spoke fluent english. The hotel also offers day tours for a great price (we did the City and the Cu Chi tunnels tours). Our stay there also included a buffet breakfast. The wifi speed was good enough for us to FaceTime back home in Sydney.

VALUE: definitely!

SLEEP QUALITY: The bedsheets were clean with comfortable pillows (I thoroughly inspect hotel beds prior to sleeping on them). The hotel rooms were fairly close to each other with thin walls. I was able to hear people talking along the hall way in the early hours of the morning.

CLEANLINESS: The entire room was very clean. The only thing that bothered me was the plant sitting on the vanity as there were tiny bugs crawling out of it…

LOCATION: From the hotel you can easily walk to Ben Thanh Market to get delicious cheap food and clothes. There are heaps of Vietnamese ice coffees just outside the hotel. At around 7pm, there is a long strip of night markets selling lots of imitation products! Make sure you bargain as the locals WILL try and rip you off!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trayseeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_hhl2, Manager at Alagon Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Trayseeee,
Thank you very very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate your kind words,wonderful suggestion and positive feedback.
All staffs and hotel management work very hard to give the best services to all guests staying in the hotel.
We look forward to your next visit to the Ben Thanh area in Ho Chi Minh City, and would like you to know that we truly value your staying!

Best Regards,

Chuong, FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel was extremely, extremely noisy. Children SCREAMING (why aren't the parents telling them to be quiet?), other guests shouting between rooms because there are some big groups occupying multiple rooms, and even room service staff could be heard. The walls are paper thin and the people who stay here are just inconsiderate. I couldn't find any signs in the hotel or in the rooms advising guests to be considerate of others by keeping their noise down as I sometimes see this in many other hotels.

The rooms are tiny and my "superior" room had no windows. This made the room very gloomy and depressing as there was no natural light.

We also booked this hotel because they advertised a gym. There is NO GYM. Dishonest advertising. There was no explanation either why there was no gym but they offered the use of a gym at another hotel in their hotel group.

The location is excellent, but there are so many other hotels in this area that I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank czerine22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_hhl2, Manager at Alagon Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am just disappointed to read your comments, and I really apologize for the unacceptable noise in our hotel. Since your last stay, we have made a supervisory change to reduce much noise in all floors of our hotel and have some attention done to the guest.
I wish you back to our hotel to see our improvement and we would welcome your stay the next time you are in the Ben Thanh Market area.
Best Regards,
Chuong, FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of dec 13. Staff excellent room clean with free wi fi and breakfast good.
Reception will do all they can to help you and speak good english.They do trips and we went to the tunnels. Enjoyed it and only about £10 each all in.
The hotel is only a few yards from the market and many places are walkable if you have the bottle to cross the roads that are busy day and night. Taxis are cheap and only about £4.00 to airport, Make sure you get a metered taxi when leaving airport by going left on exiting airport.Many will say 25 dollars but you will get the metered taxi for around 7 to 8 dollars. ATM machines all over the place and cash can be changed but not travellers cheques.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plantmanLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_hhl2, Manager at Alagon Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give wonderful review to our hotel. We very much appreciate your wonderful words, and positive feedback ,and let us know you had a very good stay in our hotel and nice time in Viet Nam.
We very much appreciate your time staying in our hotel , and look forward to welcome you come back again soon.

Best Regards,
Chuong, FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#56 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
#98 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anpha Boutique Hotel
Anpha Boutique Hotel
#32 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#42 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Luxe Hotel
The Luxe Hotel
#84 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#55 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alagon Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagon Western Hotel

Address: 28-30 Nguyen An Ninh Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Hoang Hai Long 2 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £27 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagon Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alagon Western Hotel is centrally located in the midst of Ho Chi Minh City, and within walking distance of major centres of commerce and entertainment. It takes only two-minute walking to Ben Thanh Market, more three minutes to Saigon Opera House, Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral Basilica, etc.., The hotel is the perfect place for business and leisure tour Hoang Hai Long: a place of great hospitality. You will be pleased with the state-of-the-art convenience, and the most wonderful services that Hoang Hai Long has to offer. "COME TO ALAGON WESTERN - COME TO THE PERFECTION". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alagon Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing