We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel in the non-backpacker part of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Ranked #63 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I know the touristy parts of Saigon fairly well. If I was 20 and wanted to only meet other travellers and have a fairly action-packed night scene, I'd stay in the backpacker area, around buu vien. The part of town that Tan Hoang Long is in is more upmarket, close to the opera house, some nice eateries and higher quality more expemsive silk shops but still walking distance to Ben Thanh markets for the cheap souvenirs and to the river. The hotel itself is a nice clean well-equipped small 3 star hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is a set and limted menu but if you dont want eggs or a big bow of noodles, there are plenty of places within the block with other offerings. It's quiet, well-located and a good price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsychristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked Tan Hoang Long Hotel while in Phuc Quoc and weren't really sure what to expect. We arrived early evening to be told that we had been upgraded, and this was just the start to the lovely experience we had. The rooms were clean, well designed and had a lovely clean bathroom with a good choice of toiletries. Our room had a corner spa bath which was a welcomed suprise. The next day, while walking around the site, we realised the fantastic location of the hotel - round the corner from the international hotels, designer clothing and Ho Chi Minh sites. A review wouldn't be complete without mentioning the attentive staff. From arranging taxis', train tickets, tours and reservations all the staff went out of their way to help. The door man helped us several times to get cabs and with bags. A great hotel, greate value ( we are a back packing couple who were treating themselves in HCMC) amazing staff and lovely rooms.

Room Tip: We booked direct with the hotel, not sure if this helped us get upgraded or not, but our room was fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdavis1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stay at this hotel for the fourth time.
The hotel is in a great location! The location is perfect for exploring the city and shopping.
The staff was very productive and polite. Excellent Internet access, lovely air conditioning. There is a safe. In the room you can prepare tea and coffee.
Spotlessly clean room, as are the towels and bedding. The bed are very comfortable. We had a great sleep. Large, clean bathroom. Strong water pressure. They provide good bathroom amenities. Everything was perfect!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were extremely pleased with our our choice of the Tan Hoang Long Hotel - great location, clean and comfortable with friendlyl staff. The staff were very helpful when information was requested such as local restaurants and directions. Staff even helped when a problem was encountered using the conveniently located ATM at the entrance of the hotel. Free WiFi and 2 Internet PCs in the lobby helped. I looked forward to the breakfast over the 3 days
I had mistakenly left behind an article of clothing and when contacted, the manager Long Le went the extra mile in posting it to me at no cost to me. I was pleased to receive it a week later at my hotel in Hanoi. That’s service!
A great little hotel that I would recommend

Room Tip: Choose a room with a window on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MombasaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for about 5 nights in Saigon. We had just a standard 2 person room with a window. Initially, we only booked one night, just to see how the hotel was before we would extend our booking. After about 2 minutes in the room, we decided to stay for a week. The room was perfect for our wishes. Nice bed, a bit of space, TV with US channels, nice bathroom. When we extended our booking, the receptionist was kind enough to give us some discount. At the end of our stay, we would fly back home at 1 am, so checking out at 12 pm is a bit uncomfortable, since you would like to take a shower before flying and all that good stuff. So we just asked what they could do for us, and they gave us a room for 30$, which was about a 40% discount. It was a nice gesture. Now we could stay until the evening, take a shower, rest a bit and then go to the airport. The breakfast was super and diverse. The English breakfast is very nice but I would also recommend the Chicken Noodle Soup. Their "ca phe sua da" (coffee with condensed milk and ice) is also very nice.

The reason why I'm not giving this hotel a 5/5 is because of two minor problems. First, there cleaning staff is pretty noisy. They start early, they clean carpets by hitting them very hard and if you're sleeping, you'll wake up. Normally I would seriously complain about this, but we were smart enough to take earplugs. The second problem is that the water in our room wasn't really hot. The water was lukewarm, just warm enough to take a quick shower. If it was cold, again I would be unforgiving, but it was just okay. But since you're standing in a bath tub, I would expect water that is hot enough to take a bath, which was not the case. We mentioned this. We then had hot water after some hours, but then the next day it was cold again.

So my tips for the hotel is: 1) make sure the staff is silent (or as silent as possible) until the end of breakfast. Traveling can be tiring, so guests need their sleep. And 2) make sure there is always hot water. There is no excuse for 40$+ per room hotels not to have hot water.

Besides these minor inconveniences, it's a great hotel and I would recommend it to people looking for a good almost-budget hotel.

Room Tip: Don't pay more for a room with a window. You don't need the window, trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riverdale27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We arrived at 7 am in the morning and the people at the front desk looked confused. We have booked a superior twin bed room and the first thing front desk clerk says “you need pay 10 dollars more for a twin room, you booked standard” After 40 minutes trying to understand why in the world do we have to pay more for something already paid in advance, please notice that the front desk clerk was ignoring any of our questions his only response was pay more to get your room!! Finally the manager appeared, we were hoping that him will be able to sort out the problem. All he did was to repeat the same sentences that the front desk clerk only with a Australian accent, the manager has NO idea how to manage his hotel, how to treat people, he is completely uneducated, his staff do not seem to have an idea of what they are dong, in one sentence NO idea of what customer service is. It is a shame he spoiled my last day in Vietnam and left me with a sour feeling for the city. Make yourself a favor and DO NOT stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mextrip425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We arrived for check in after booking with Agoda a superior room. They tell us if we want twin beds we need to pay more as it is a different category. When we ask, what category is it. Superior???
We are still at reception, 2 hours later, and nothing is solved. They look and smile. HORRENDOUS service. Will never even come close to this place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yantak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#50 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,554 reviews
1.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#37 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,104 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#4 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#67 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
540 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Luxe Hotel
The Luxe Hotel
#87 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#55 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Hoang Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Hoang Long Hotel

Address: 84 Mac Thi Buoi | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £26 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tan Hoang Long Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is at great location and offering pretty good values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tan Hoang Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing