We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank goodness for their help!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Ranked #56 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for their help!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Have stayed here previously in the Luxury Master - with a friend on this trip we chose the Superior Twin with a window. It was an excellent room and the double glazed windows kept out virtually all street noise.
Sadly on this trip I had my camera snatched in the street and it was necessary to have lengthy close encounters with the Vietnamese Police. Miraculously I got the camera back intact (long story, if it happens to you don't expect this outcome) but without the wonderful assistance of Ms Vuong the receptionist, and later the night manager, I would never have managed this challenging experience. I cannot speak highly enough of the kindness and patience shown by the hotel.
The hotel's location is terrific, level of amenity is very good and represents great value for money. Don't hesitate to book it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilysgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    211
    47
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
292
72
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Over the last two summers I've traveled to South East Asia and have used Ho Chi Minh City as my base. Every time I've stayed at Tan Hoang Long Hotel. Initially, I found it very hard to choose a hotel in HCMC as I read so many conflicting reviews on Tripadvisor but I settled on this hotel and wasn't disappointed.

At this hotel you'll get fantastic customer service from all the staff, especially Long Le and Ho. Both of whom helped me booking trips to local attractions like the the Cu Chi Tunnels and finding good accommodation in other Vietnamese cities. If you are at all confused of what hotel to stay in when in HCMC, stay here.

This hotel is located centrally in a nice area with a particularly nice restaurant around the corner and a fantastic Thai restaurant located behind Bitexco Financial Tower Skydeck.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We couldn't have been happier with the location and room at the Tan Hoang Long hotel in Ho Chi Minh City. The staff were helpful, the rooms spacious, and we were within minutes of most major sites and restaurants we wanted to visit.

They asked for our passports at check-in, but we simply asked for them back a couple hours later without a problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom penh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Nice hotel. Clean, good value and well run. It's in the more upmarket end of town which is good as it's in a quieter area ( that's Saigon Xmas eve quiet ). 20 minutes walk to Ben Thanh market.
We had a back room which although small and with a small window had the advantage of being away from the street traffic. Very quiet. The only thing that tarnished the experience was the ropey old bus ( the pink one in the brochure ) that they booked us on to go to Phnom Penh. There are frequent luxury buses traveling that route so I would book at a travel company next time.

The restaurants around the area are a bit expensive but there is a Pho 24 opposite and around the corner if you are walked/ trafficked out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ross162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter for 4 nights based on reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. In a fantastic location, walking distance to Ben Thanh markets (10 mins), river area and some great little restaurants. The hotel was a boutique style, clean,
and staff were always helpful. In particular the young man on the door was always ready with a smile. We had a superior twin room (501) which was a good size with views over the city. Large bathroom with a bath tub.Would definitely recommend this room. We paid A$53 per night through Agoda and it was well worth it. Breakfast was basic with some fruit on a side buffet and a choice from a set menu, but was fine for us. The hotel was a great base for us without costing a fortune. Would definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brig10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights went away for a couple of days. Whilst away they sorted our train tickets and had them waiting when we got back.
Good location close to all the fancy hotels but at great value.
It's a good base for HCMC would stay again!
No complaints,
Clean.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ishtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I know the touristy parts of Saigon fairly well. If I was 20 and wanted to only meet other travellers and have a fairly action-packed night scene, I'd stay in the backpacker area, around buu vien. The part of town that Tan Hoang Long is in is more upmarket, close to the opera house, some nice eateries and higher quality more expemsive silk shops but still walking distance to Ben Thanh markets for the cheap souvenirs and to the river. The hotel itself is a nice clean well-equipped small 3 star hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is a set and limted menu but if you dont want eggs or a big bow of noodles, there are plenty of places within the block with other offerings. It's quiet, well-located and a good price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsychristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#31 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#51 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#45 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#47 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
#61 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#49 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Hoang Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Hoang Long Hotel

Property: Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Address: 84 Mac Thi Buoi | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tan Hoang Long Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is at great location and offering pretty good values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tan Hoang Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing