We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Ranked #54 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great deal and location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Traveled all over central and southern Vietnam in April. During my stay in Ho Chi Minh (formerly known as Saigon), I was lucky to find this little gem in the middle of the city. I found the rooms to be very inexpensive for the location. The rooms offer plentiful storage space for your luggage as well as a safe for your valuables. Every room has a nice size bathroom with a great tub for soaking. The air conditioning works really well especially when you need a break from the extreme heat of the city. They also serve complimentary breakfast every morning, so make sure to get their early since seating is very limited.

Tips when staying there:
1. You are located around some really nice restaurants and shopping centers so it is easily to walk and explore. I walked almost everywhere.
2. If you do opt to take public transportation, look for cabs that are VINASUN. They are the most trusted taxi service in the area and very cheap too!
3. They do have dry cleaning service and that was also very inexpensive. It literally cost me under $10 for a huge bag of clothes.
4. I found myself hanging out a lot at the Grand Saigon hotel which is two blocks away. That hotel has a little casino, great roof top bar and restaurant and also a nice spa (which gives 40% off treatments before 3pm). So I got the perks of an expensive hotel without staying at one.
5. There is a restaurant around the corner called Pho 24 which is great for people on a budget. You can get their basic Pho for just 29,000 Viet dongs which equals to $1.37 USD! I ate there a couple of times during my stay.
6. When traveling through Vietnam you must leave your passport at the front desk at most hotels. I don't know about you, but I don't feel comfortable leaving that with some stranger. So it's important to make photo copies since most hotels including this one will accept them.

The two most important things for me when staying at any hotel: The cleanliness of the hotel and the comfort of the bed. Both were perfectly fine for me, but I do like my beds a little harder then plush. I grew very familiar with Ho Chi Minh city and would gladly stay here again!

Thanks for reading and make sure to follow me on twitter at @travelfooddude

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Travelfooddude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    211
    47
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
292
72
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fluent English support 24 hours a day, restaurant recommendations; what else could you ask for?
Our room had no windows so it was hard to tell when to wake up. But there was a sofa, tea cups and kettle, fantastic beds, TV, and large bathroom.

This place was well run and great to come back to after pounding the pavement all day.

Room Tip: If you want windows (but also potential noise), be sure to ask.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I like Tan Hoang Long Hotel because it's centrally located and very clean. Oh, and the shower --> good water pressure, good temperature control, good draining.

Breakfast is delicious. I like Pho and porridge very much.

I booked the room with window but I went out all day everyday and came back at night, also when I was in the room I always close the curtain for privacy reason. So I think the window is not necessary for me.

The only problem I had while stayed there was the air-conditioner. It's not efficient to keep the room cool.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSJThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Although the decor is a bit dated this hotel was clean and had everything you need for a short stay in Ho Chi Minh City. Good location, near lots of nice restaurants as well as some of the main shopping centres and the river. To get to the back packer area (bit more night life going on there) we generally took a taxi as the walk was a bit much when its so hot! Overall we found it was a great place if you just want somewhere to touch base and sleep after a long day of exploring the city.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Nice enough hotel although we preferred backpacker area. Rooms very nice minor issue with exploding air con resulting in relocating to upgraded room . What spoil your stay was because of a past midnight return flight we should have booked an extension to our stay but when we asked got very abrupt reply that the hotel was full. In all of our dealings with the people in Vietnam it was the only time we were ever met with smiles and a positive attitude. Maybe we were spoilt by this stage. Anyway wouldn't go back other people may have a better experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KevtheKamper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Very close to large international hotels such as The Continental and The Rex. This makes restaurants in the area expensive, but is otherwise well placed for facilities and attractions.

Service is very good, breakfast is fresh and varied and the room was good. No street noise.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zc123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Second time staying here, this time got a twin room which is much much bigger than the double, great space, clean, basic and comfortable. Love how convenient it is to walk from everywhere here, Cafe RuNam has opened up next door which is the perfect way to start the morning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank epona_race
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#37 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#51 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#45 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#46 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
#59 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#47 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Hoang Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Hoang Long Hotel

Property: Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Address: 84 Mac Thi Buoi | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tan Hoang Long Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is at great location and offering pretty good values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tan Hoang Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing