We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room with honest and helpful owners.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diep Anh Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 927 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We booked Diep Anh Guesthouse based on the great reviews on TravelAdvisor and we weren't disappointed.

Clean and spacious room and that the drinks in the fridge were so much cheaper than the ones sold outside.

The couple owners were helpful and honest. Honesty is important since it was a refreshing change from being cheated in Hanoi.

The cable TV works well and that there was WiFi connection in the room. Or you can surf the internet from the computers on the first floor.

Perhaps the only drawback was that there was no lift. So we always had to climb up and down daily to our room located at the most highest floor (level 4 or 5. Can't remember).

And that he pointed out the nearby restaurants including the halal Indian restaurants along Buiven and another is just a few doors away from the guesthouse. More Halal Malay and Vietnamese food near Sheraton Hotel at Dong Khoi Street and near the neighbouring mosque.

The owners (Mr and Mrs Anh) provided us a map of the city and showed us the routes covering the city area (e.g war museum is A MUST GO, Chinatown, Ben Than market, Post office is a MUST GO, cathedral etc). It's all within a walking distance except for Chinatown. So I felt there was no need to take on the city tour.

We booked the half day Chu Chi tunnel tour from the guesthouse at usd$6. Then we saw a nearby travel tour charging only usd$4 for the same tour. But the price difference wasn't much. 1 day Mekong tour (w/o going to Cai Be floating market) cost about usd$8.

Once we checked out, Mr Anh booked for us a cab and even escorted us ladies to the cab, helping us with our backpacks. He told the cab driver that the trip to the airport will only cost 120000 Dong and nothing more =] That was 30 000 dong cheaper than what we paid another cab driver for sending us to the guesthouse from HCM airport.

So overall, I truly recommend tourists to stay at Diep Anh Guesthouse. MAKE SURE TO GO TO THE ONE WITH THE CORRECT ADDRESS BECAUSE THERE'S ANOTHER GUESTHOUSE WITH THE SAME NAME JUST A FEW DOORS AWAY.


Enjoy Ho chi Minh and Vietnam =]

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Diep Anh Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

Before arriving in Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon), we researched the best place to stay on TripAdvisor. We found Diep Anh Guesthouse to be highly rated and the reviews were glowing. We decided to try it out.

Diep Anh Guesthouse is run by a very sweet couple (Diep being the husband and Anh being the wife), who are very into customer service and want to make sure you have a great time in Saigon. This is a very refreshing sentiment in this region indeed.

For $22 a night, we had a large double bed room (2 double beds) with a balcony, en suite bathroom (all brand new and very clean) with air conditioning, fan, fridge, and wifi.

You might be able to find something cheaper, but this place was immaculately clean, the inside is lovely with lots of dark teak wood, and the bathroom was spotless. It makes it worth it to deal with Diep who will help you with anything you need. He even walked us out catch a taxi (to make sure we got a fair price) and walked us to the train station when we were slightly lost.

Room Tip: Email them directly! Very friendly!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOccasionalExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed with our family and found the location and service to be just right. The room is small but a great base to explore the city. Mr anh is willing to help and we found it a friendly spot to meet other tourists and to watch life from the street. The stairs make is a bit tiring but a good work out for the gluts. All in all a comfortable stay for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kym068mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This is a fantastic place to stay in the backpackers' area.

The owners of the hostel are massively friendly and start by pointing out all the sights in the city to you on the map. Other plus points:

- The guesthouse is not on Pham Ngu Lao itself but in one of the backstreets off the main street. It's described as an alley on here, but that makes it sound a little frightening. Actually it is perfectly safe and very quiet (compared, I imagine to Pham Ngu Lao or De Tham proper). In the street outside you see some interesting people - it is obviously also a residential district. There are people outside cooking etc too.
- The rooms are totally clean, working hot water and A/C and not a bad price at all, a decent amount of space.
- All the usual tours such as the Cu Chi tunnels can be organised.
- Wifi which is totally reliable and computers downstairs in the lobby.

All in all... a brilliant guesthouse which deserves to be as highly rated as it is. In fact, there should be many more positive reviews on here!

(btw, some of the rooms are pretty high up. If you don't like stairs then ask for a room lower down)

The email address for the place is guesthouse.diepanh@gmail.com.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are pretty high up.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will1984London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a truly excellent guesthouse. The owners are very accommodating and the rooms are spotless and very luxurious considering the price. The owners will reccommend sites and restaurants and can organise day trips. Skip the Mekong Delta trip - it's a tourist conveyor belt but the Cu Chi Tunnels are great!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLH_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We booked here due to the positive remarks on Trip Advisor and weren't disappointed. The rooms were clean and comfortable and owners were very welcoming. I am amazed at how polite and friendly they are despite being heavily booked- they obviously enjoy it. There are many cafes nearby and within walking distance to the market. Being down an alley was interesting as you are right in the heart of where the locals live which is always interesting and not in some built up tourist area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

It's a great place to stay. I love the hosts-they were really nice and friendly people.

Diep Anh is a guesthouse located along the backpacker alleys of Pham Ngu Lao. The location was great. It was walking distance to everywhere we needed to go. My parents even walked 15mins to the Ben Thanh market!

Rooms: Simple and clean. No broken or faulty furniture. There was air condition and fan. The bathroom is alright. No fuss. But additional pillows would be good ;)

Service: Besides giving us a warm welcome when we arrived, Uncle & Aunty also helped us change our USD when we needed VND . They were really friendly and helpful. They helped keep an eye on our belongings when we checked out and went out to do some last minute shopping. Also, the uncle helped us get across the crazy traffic and get us the best cab rates!

Facility: Free coffee and wifi. There's always an option of chilling out downstairs at the living room with your family while watching a good movie on Astro when you can't sleep at night.

Food: It's a guesthouse. So don't expect it. But because of its location, just a 5 min walk out, you'll get to see numerous hawker stalls that have Vietnamese traditional breakfast.

Room rates: Great Value for money. You don't have to worry about quality matching the rates. They're reasonable and affordable with great quality.

I love Ho Chi Minh and even though it's not a great place for everyone, it's a good experience. And I'm definitely staying in Diep Anh when I go back there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#49 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
#2 of 927 in Ho Chi Minh City
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#3 of 927 in Ho Chi Minh City
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Inn Hotel
Saigon Inn Hotel
#4 of 927 in Ho Chi Minh City
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diep Anh Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diep Anh Guesthouse

Address: 241/31 Pham Ngu Lao Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 927 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £17 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diep Anh Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diep Anh Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diep Anh Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing