We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cheap, just try it. Not 188 it's 88”
Review of Nam son

Nam son
Ranked #968 of 3,241 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So cheap, just try it. Not 188 it's 88”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Hi I came to try the steak yesterday. I came from Australia and we have quality steak in oz but I gotta say the steak in Nam Son is deliciouse. Portion is small but there is a bigger dish if you desire. 55 dong equals to just over 2 dollar Aud. how bloody good is that. Please try its worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    20
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
HCMC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quick and tasty lunch or snack”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The definition of a fast food restaurant! This place specialises in steaks on a hot plate which arrive sizzling on the table in record time! They have ostrich, local beef and ozzie beef and you can choose to have it plain, with egg, onion, pate, meatball or get the special (all of them). I choose the plain as the more side you get on the plate the smaller the steak gets ;)

Things can get a little greasy so would advise against wearing your best silks or putting your arms, hands, elbows etc. on the table!

My tip would be put the soy sauce whilst its still sizzling, the chips aren't always piping hot, but putting a few on your hot plate is great idea for heating up and use the bread to soak up the sauce at the end!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beef Steak Rice”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Two locations around HCM that we saw. Clean and bright restaurant. Accepts only Dong and no Dollars.

When we went by there were many tables. The service was quick. The beef steak with rice was very delicious. Their fresh passion fruit juice was also very good. Very sour and sweet. Think most people go here for the beef steak or noodles. But we tried the rice dish and it was very delicious. Definitely worth checking out and having a meal!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ddaisys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good beefsteak”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Very good place for steaks in a nice area in HCMC!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fridelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ostrich Steak”
Reviewed 6 October 2010

the best ostrich steak in Ho Chi Minh city!

me and my wife found it when we traveled on Nam Ky Nghia Street.

we wrote the address and came back in the evening.

We ate Three steaks (together) with baguette ,tomato , chili and lettuce

It was one of the best steaks we ever ate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YocTLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nam son also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Nam son? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing