We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice. Love it”

The Lunch Lady (Nguyen Thi Thanh)
Ranked #1,272 of 5,432 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: It's the best hawker/food stall in ho chi minh city!
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

The place is opesit road of Zoo saigon which beside of river saigon.Their serve irresistibly chicken drumstick noodles .I love it so much,especialist the soup, full of sweet potato taste.you will not find this in others place. Exclusive in THE LUNCH LADY. must come!!!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Bernice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 224 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Delicious! We had the soup of the day which is what locals were ordering but beware. Other vendors share the space and they just place spring rolls among other side dishes on the table and when you eat them they charge you for them (naturally) but they don't ask you if you want them to begin with. They just place them on the table which they didn't do to the locals. We paid 30,000 VND per bowl but locals paid 20,000.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank ladylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We went on Monday and had the Bun Thai, broth has a tangy and sourish (maybe tamarind) flavour and it's a hearty bowl with a lot of goodies- tender slices of beef, squid, two prawns.. It's good value for VND40000 but not exceptional..

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank chinat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Really not blown away by this place as I had been hoping. Lots of food placed in front without really ordering (not unusual in Viet Nam but this was a LOT), spring rolls were good, prawn chips delicious, noodles expertly cooked, but the broth was bland and contained what felt like a hodgepodge of ingredients (prawns, okra, some strange looking but quite tasty sausage perhaps, or ground meat of some sort) that didn't really fit together or create any kind of coherent flavor. The main component was thus a let down a made the meal one of the less memorable in Saigon. Quite expensive to boot.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank faintasticduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I'm Vietnamese and i think the thai noodle soup, which is Anthony tried in show "No reservation", is insanely delicious.
When i sat down, they brought me a dish of spring rolls and stuffs that i didn't order. Then I asked them to take it back. Some of my friends told me that if i didn't return it, they would charge me. So you have to be AWARE especially if you were FOREIGNERS!!!

Date of visit: February 2016
3  Thank Quỳnh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Lunch Lady (Nguyen Thi Thanh) also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The Lunch Lady (Nguyen Thi Thanh)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.