We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the first class hotel it looks like”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vissai Saigon Hotel
Ranked #88 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not the first class hotel it looks like”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

+ very modern looking hotel
+ good variety at breakfast
+ refrigerator with some space after space for mini-bar

0 hi-tech tools for managing lights and temperature, but
hard to understand
0 tall hotel

- not enough electrical outlets
- WiFi less than .48 MBPS
- there is a Venetian blind to allow salacious views from the bedroom into the bathroom, but if one uses the
bathroom late at night it floods the main room with light
- outlet in 1116 desk area does not work
- 40 watt bulb near bed is barely enough to read by
- breakfast is too many people chasing too few seats
- at breakfast cheese was old, food cold, had to serve
self coffee

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Leeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VissaiSaigon, Manager at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Mark_Leeper,

Thank you for your comment helping to list things out. We found them very useful to our improvement. We have discussed internally with those concerned to push for service enhancement so we can better meet the needs of travelers.

Best regards
Do Thi Phuong Hai
Vice General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    200
    41
    16
    4
See reviews for
59
135
28
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just a short cab ride from Ho Chi Minh airport, we stayed here for a night on each side of a trip to Bai Tram Resort in Song Cau.

The hotel was very nice, rooms were spacious and super clean. Beds were comfy and the hotel was quiet.

We stopped into the restaurant and it was pretty good. They were having a "buffet night", with a combination of fresh seafood, asian dishes and some basic western dishes.

Check in and check out was quick. It's a perfect place for a short stay near the airport in Hoh Chi Minh.

Vissai is formerly the Star City Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsallhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VissaiSaigon, Manager at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear itsallhere,

Thank you for your very motivating comments. We shared this to entire team and will do our best to keep it up in order to maintain high level of service to the needs of today travelers.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Best regards
Do Thi Phuong Hai
Vice General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Vissai Saigon (formerly Star City) for 3 nights on a business convention. The hotel staff was very friendly and the hotel has very comfortable rooms. By the way, the hotel keeps your passport until you check out. This is rated a 4 Star Hotel.

The check in was very smooth and our bags were delivered to the room without delay. The room was a good size and had a large king bed, flat screen TV with adequate cable channels, although not my favorites, and an in room safe in the closet. There was also a hair dryer located in the drawer of the desk by the TV. The bathroom was large and had a large shower but no tub. There is free WIFI most everywhere in the hotel which was convenient.

All the switches for the lights are located on the clock next to the bed. There is a significant shortage of convenient electrical plugs to plug your phone or computer. The primary plugs are located on the wall underneath the desk by the TV. So you have to climb under the desk to plug in your stuff. You do not need electrical adaptors for U.S. type plugs, they work fine.

We took our meals on the hotel’s Mezzanine floor and they were all buffet. The food was good and plentiful but the only thing that I did not like was that most of the food on the buffet line was either luke warm or cold as they did not have any flames under the pans. There is a separate egg station for egg orders and they also served noodle soup there, and it"s hot. Be sure and keep control of your valuables, purses etc., when getting your food. Two in our group had their purses stolen when they were away from their table getting food from the buffet line.

They have 3 elevators and they all were in working order and fairly fast, so no complaint about the elevators.

If you do not want to pay hotel rates all the time for dining, if you go out of the front of the hotel to the right, there is a Burger King about a half block away and another restaurant, the Mon Hue, about a block away which has some good noodles and other dishes and some of the waitresses speak English. I was told that there is a Noodles 24 restaurant reasonable close by to the hotel which is a very popular noodle place. We did not go there because you have to cross the street, which can be a challenge with all the cars and massive amount of motor bikes. I was told to ask the Bellboy for help in crossing the street.

I understand that the hotel has airport pickup, but we did not use it as we had our own transportation. The hotel also has some shopping shuttle service, so ask about it if you want to go shopping.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VissaiSaigon, Manager at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Ken B,

Thank you for sharing your experience on our hotel and the surrounding. We are glad you found it enjoyable and showed it some points for improvement.

It was with regret that the losing of purses was reported to be happened in our premises. We have taken serious measures to ensure this will not happen again.

We hope you will consider us as a venue to stay on your next visit and we will be more than happy to be at your service.

Thank you once again and with best regards
Do Thi Phuong Hai
Vice General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

On booking the first time via Agoda, my experience was good, cheaper and without issue. the second week I booked via their web site. They charged me a deposit after I arrived at the hotel and have suggested I will not receive this back for another 3 weeks. Even after them telling me they will return the money ASAP, I have not received the money back. If you have to stay here, book through a third party and do not give this hotel your credit card details.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Timbo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VissaiSaigon, Manager at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Timbo66,

Thank you for your support to stay with us on and on and sharing your experience. In regards to your mentioned deposit, It was a step of guaranteeing the service spending and then the amount was normally blocked by the bank temporarily within 3 weeks then released. We are sorry it caused you some inconvenience.

We do hope it will not be the factor that prevents you from our other services and that you will continue seeing us as a venue of choice on your next visit.

Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming me you again.

Best regards
Do Thi Phuong Hai
Vice General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My family and i stayed at this hotel for serveral nights in December 2013. The location is not bad, especially when you have early flights (rush hours in Saigon are horrible if you are in a hurry to catch the flight).

Front office staff are very friendly and always willing to help. Rooms are new and very acceptable. If you are allergic against smoke, you need to ask them to go check the rooms before you enter. I mentioned this several times and everytime i checked in i could smell smoke in the rooms. It seems as the regulation for non-smoking rooms is not strict enough :(.

Breakfast service people are not well-trained. They stood around and do not look at their guests. They all looked grumpy including the cooks (only smiling at each other and not at the guests). They have several supervisors (what for?) wearing suits and standing around to look/check whatever while they could just go and do the services.

I used to do breakfast service for a hotel (in Vienna) when i was student (studied hotel management) and sometimes handled almost 150 guests alone for a buffet breakfast when colleagues are in Holidays and/or ill. They have so many staff and not well-trained. It is better to have 2 well-trained staff than 20 not trained ones.

I hope the hotel will improve the breakfast service soon.
Thank you
Best wishes

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kami D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VissaiSaigon, Manager at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Kami D,

Thank you for your comment seeing our hotel as a suitable venue to stay for early flight.

We are sorry to hear about how our service people were performing. We have taken some steps to put into more training as to focus on accommodating and attentive service and other factors that set guest satisfaction to be our top priority. The comment was very straightforward, constructive and helpful.

If you are planning to visit Ho Chi Minh City again I will be more than happy to welcome you personally to our hotel to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one.

Thank you again and best regards
Do Thi Phuong Hai
Vice General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on 3 different occasions and higly recommend it. The staff are fantastic from the moment you arrive at reception and the food and beverage always deliver great service with big genuine smiles. I can't wait to stay again when next I travel to Ho Chi Minh.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VissaiSaigon, Manager at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear happycustomer099,

Thank you very much for your comment highly valuing our hotel. We are glad that our staff and service were able to make you happy and enjoyable. We shared this to the entire team and please be ensured that we will keep it up in order to maintain a high level of service not only to you on your next visit but also for other travelers who deserve the same.

Thank you again and look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Best regards
Do Thi Phuong Hai
Vice General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Please note this hotel is now known as the Vissai Saigon Hotel. Our taxi had a very time trying to locate this hotel as I booked it when it was known as the "Starcity" hotel.

Stayed here for two nights with family. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Check-in was a breeze and overall a very pleasant stay.

I highly recommend this hotel if you stay in the Phu Nhuan area.

-Bill2016

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bill2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VissaiSaigon, Manager at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear bill2016,

Thank you for your comment introducing our new hotel name to the public. We are glad that your stay was a pleasant one

And we do hope you will be back with us in Phu Nhuan District when you re-visit Ho Chi Minh City as this area is somewhat more peaceful.

We look forward to receiving more guests from your recommendation.

Best regards
Do Thi Phuong Hai
Vice General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Tan Son Nhat Saigon Hotel
Tan Son Nhat Saigon Hotel
#118 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon
Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon
#39 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Saigon
PARKROYAL Saigon
#46 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Saigon Airport
Ibis Saigon Airport
#68 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
First Hotel
First Hotel
#98 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
399 reviews
2.4 mi away
Golden Central Hotel
Golden Central Hotel
#82 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vissai Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vissai Saigon Hotel

Property: Vissai Saigon Hotel
Address: 144 Nguyen Van Troi Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City 084, Vietnam (Formerly StarCity Saigon Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vissai Saigon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vissai Saigon is a brand new 4-star hotel with tasteful accommodation and high-end service. This elegant hotel is just 5 minutes aways from Tan Son Nhat International Airport and Tan Binh Exhibition & Convention Center. It is also near White Palace Wedding and Convention Hall and Quan Khu 7 stadium. Commercial buildings and shopping centers are conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Vissai Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing