We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean Hotel with friendly staff”
Review of Roseland Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Roseland Inn Hotel
Ranked #20 of 873 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brunei
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location and clean Hotel with friendly staff”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

With low expectation since we travelled on a budget and this is a 2 star hotel, we booked and stayed here for 5 nights during our first visit to Vietnam.

We reached Vietnam at around 9pm after a 5 hour transit and booked a taxi and went to this hotel. Upon reaching the hotel, we were greeted with these enthusiastic and fast bell boys who reached for our heavy and big luggage’s in record time, and were told by the reception named Jessica there was a slight problem with our reservation. The room we booked were not available because the airconditioning was faulty. And she told us further that the room was small with no window! But she suggested we could checked into a different hotel about 5 blocks away from where we were and spent the night there while she sort out the problem.

In the morning we could come back and decide whether we still wanted to stay at the room we booked or upgrade to a bigger and more expensive room. We were too tired to argue and agreed so we were sent to that hotel with a taxi fares borne by the hotel.

The next morning we returned and after some discussions we agreed to upgrade to a bigger Deluxe room with additional USD10 per night. No fuss and no arguement and we were happy how they reacted to the situation and how they handled their guests.

Although it was just a bit odd on what happened the next day. We were relaxing at the lobby near the reception when we overheard the conversation between the reception and a guest that there was also problem with his room (not sure what) that he needed to check in to a different hotel (same hotel) so they could sort out his room, and returned the next day.

The hotel was good though, clean with comfortable bed. Deluxe room comes with a L-shape comfortable sofa and Jacuzzi (although we didn’t use it because it was too noisy when we switched it on!) The staff were friendly, respectful and helpful, especially the beautiful reception named Jessica :) The location was superb! We are Muslim and this hotel located very near to two Halal restaurants (well.. there were more but we liked these two and went there a few times during our stay). The restaurants served delicious food and service was good. The hotel was near a Masjid too. There was also a few grocery stores nearby so it was quite convenient. Our deluxe room faced the busy main road so there were alot of traffic noises and honkings from the vehicles but we got used to it after a while. Service was good, house keeping was on time but it was weird when they refill the complimentary bottled water but they put them in the toilet!

It was a good stay for us. The hotel was located near a few big department stores, Opera House and Saigon Centre (all these within walking distance). Just beware of traffic especially those motorcycles when crossing the road because we were almost hit, there were just too many of them!

We don’t mind staying at this hotel and meet Jessica again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel which I think is quieter. If you are a light sleeper you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemongrass08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    100
    40
    12
    9
See reviews for
33
104
56
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Staying 5 nights with three children (4, 6 and 9). Great location in district 1. Nice clean rooms, friendly staff that pay attention to details. Nothing to complain about. Decent internet and good breakfast. For USD90/night (5 people) it's a great deal for down town Saigon.

Room Tip: Get the highest room possible to avoid noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thordane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed in Hai Long 5 Hotel for 3 nights end of May to 1st of June. Vietnam in general is cheap so was this hotel. I took a small room, the room was very clean with a comfortable bed. The location of the hotel was perfect to move around HCMC shopping areas in District 1 and 3. During my stay, I had ordered a taxi to the airport, I recommend you skip that as taxi's are plenty along Hai Ba Trung.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbblandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed in Hai long 5 for only three nights and found it to be quite comfortable. We stayed in a small room the first night which was fine as it was clean and we just needed to sleep after a 17hr bus trip. The next two nights we stayed in the suite room which was much larger and definitely a nicer room with a window. Bed was comfy and room very clean.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AmandaPanda916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The location was perfect, the room was very big and the bed was comfortable. We had a room facing a big street so quite noisy the whole time but you get used to it. The hotel staff was very kind and helpful. We booked with them the Delta Mekong trip and also a massage for a great price on a hotel 2 inures away.
The breakfast doesn't have many Western options.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilinepinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Having read other reviews, it's obvious it is quite hit and miss with the type of room you get.

Here's what we got:

On arrival, the bell-boys were turbo-enthusiastic, as they seem to be across Vietnam. The night receptionist was pleasant and told us as we had booked with booking.com, he was going to upgrade our room to some sort of suite. Happy days, we thought.

The hotel corridor on the floor our room was on smelt like bad damp. The room itself was spacious and overlooked the busy main road.

My wife did her usual pull back of the sheets and found enough black hair to make a wig out of. Seriously, I was even shocked at just how much there was. There was also soiled marks at the end of the bed as if someone had slept in the bed with dirty shoes on. The Mrs was convinced the bed had been re-made without changing the sheets. We can't be 100% about this though.

There were used wet towels still hanging up in the bathroom, and the bathroom itself was very old and tired.

After a restless nights sleep on smelly pillows, we ventured down for breakfast.

You can believe the rest of the reviews. It wasn't up to much, and most of what was there was cold and hard. They were also washing up the pots at the breakfast reception desk, which I thought was quite odd.

The staff were all friendly enough, and at the end of the day, it was a £20 hotel in the city centre..

Was I daft to think it would be any better?

Room Tip: Any room over the street is going to be loud at night. Avoid rooms without windows though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiLongworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located close to the Opera House, City Hall and the Market. The room and the breakfast were basic, enough not to go hungry. If you don't plan on spending much time in the hotel, then it's acceptable. Reception lady was nice and helpful. They also offer taxi coupon to the airport if you are afraid to get ripped off by taxi drivers. We purchased it for 160k VND and the final meter was close to 140k. I've read from other posts there was an additional 10k VND for airport fee. So all in all extra 10k = less than $0.50 for less headache. Well worth it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#13 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverland Jolie Hotel & Spa
Silverland Jolie Hotel & Spa
#22 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseland Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseland Inn Hotel

Property: Roseland Inn Hotel
Address: 59, Hai Ba Trung Street | Ben Nghe Ward , District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam (Formerly Hai Long 5 Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 873 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roseland Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roseland Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing