We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience!”
Review of Minh Chau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Minh Chau Hotel
Ranked #36 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The nicest place I stayed during a 2 week bicycle trip in Vietnam! It is out of the craziness and expense of District 1 , yet only 5 minutes away. The owner has one on one contact with each guest and the staff is extremely helpful! The hotel is located in a true neighborhood, so a guest can experience a daily Ho Chi Minh City routine! One of the best memories of the entire trip!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Living in Cambodia full-time we went on a weekend trip to HCMC without booking any hotel.
As soon as we arrived at Minh Chau we knew we had made a good decision. The owner/manager speaks perfect English, is very helpful & gives you that warm homely feeling of being fully taken care of!
Would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting HCMC on a budget. For first timers to the city you will find at Minh Chau a very helpful guide for a stress-free trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Minh Chau Hotel is in a good location for train access, not far from the airport & in a quiet street with an easy taxi ride to the main attractions. Walking around this area gives you a close experience of real life in Saigon. Breakfast/dinner in the rooftop restaurant is very pleasant. Our room faced the street & it was quiet during the night. The room was very comfortable, amenities good, cleaned daily & good wifi. The hotel owner, Phu, is a lovely lady & helped us with our plans & gave us good advice which we found invaluable as Saigon was the start of our Vietnam visit. Calling a taxi is so easy, quick call from the staff at the front desk & one turns up in no time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceejay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent 3 nights at Minh Chau & returned for our final night as it was was such good experience.Its in Dist 10 but we loved the local experience & prices,eg my wife got a local Mani/Pedi in the same street for 100k.Apparently thats a bargain.
Plus its only around 70k in a cab to downtown HCMC which the owner Phu will arrange for you.

Rooms are basic,very clean & well maintained.
Dont understand the few negative responses,this is a $30/night local family run hotel.

My wife was ill in the night & Phu gave us a note to take to the Pharmacy in the same street so we got the correct medicine.
She is very helpful if you need advice on trains/buses etc but no pressure to sell.

We ate at the cafe several times,food is very fresh & delicious & views were sensational.
We will be back

J&K

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sethlad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Chose this hotel initially as it is near to the Saigon railway station. However, the owner of this hotel clarified that it is easier for us to book a bus to Muine instead of train. Fortunately we haven't booked any train tickets and we heed her advice. Ms Phu was very helpful and ensured our bus tickets are booked and arranged taxi to pick us up to the sinh tourist the next morning at no extra charge. She even made breakfast for us as we were leaving at about 6.40am.

Room wise, was comfortable and clean, exceeded value for the price we paid.

Location was quite a distance away from the city but I guess for us, we only stayed for a night so that wasn't any problem. There is a 24 hr convenience shop, about 2 min walk away. We also walked further and had dinner at Burger King.

Overall, we were happy that we met the owner who could communicate well in English and made arrangements for us. Recommended for all who need to take train the next morning or on budget. We had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindeeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at the Minh Chau hotel for four nights and were so impressed. Our room was air conditioned, clean, cleaned daily and was well stocked with bottled water. But what really makes this hotel so special are the staff and it's location. As we arrived, we were met by the hotel owner
who spoke excellent English. She helped us with so many things during our stay including making dinner reservations, spa reservations ( and directed me to a beautiful, less touristy spa too) taxi bookings and directions.

The hotel is located a little way from the centre of town, but for us, this was a major plus. The street is always buzzing with morning food markets and has a great atmosphere. We took a taxi to the centre when we needed to (50 - 60 000 which is about $3) and we loved the rides. It's a great way to see the crazy traffic and the city.

I'd highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Could not have asked for a better place to stay with our budget! The owner of the hotel is the sweetest lady I have met so far in SE Asia. She went out of her way to make our stay perfect. She booked us taxis into the tourist district (about 2-3 USD each way) and made sure the driver knew where we wanted to go when we arrived, she booked our tours for us, told us how to catch the bus to where we wanted to go, she recommended good cheap places to eat, and she even made us our early morning breakfasts we ordered the night before for the days we went on tours and called our room to let us know it was ready!

Beds were comfortable enough and the room we had even had it's own kitchenette with rice cooker and everything.

There is also a beautiful terrace restaurant to eat at with good prices and great views!

STAY HERE!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Harrison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.4 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#94 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
812 reviews
0.7 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#99 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
540 reviews
1.5 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#39 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#50 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minh Chau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minh Chau Hotel

Address: 119 Hoa Hung street, P.12, Q. 10, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £13 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Minh Chau Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Minh Chau Hotel - 2 stars Our Minh Chau hotel - 2 stars has 30 elevator accessible air-conditioned rooms fitted with classic wood furnishings. Rooms feature Vietnamese-style decor with a fridge and cable TV. The en-suite bathroom features hot water a shower and free toiletries. The hotel is decorated with indoor plants and greenery, with the rooftop restaurant providing a cozy environment during meal times. Take in view of the surroundings from to floor-to-ceiling windows while dining. Our restaurant is capable of hosting your events after discussing with management. LOCATION ( important notice, please read carefully before booking ): Minh Chau Hotel is in the center of Ho Chi Minh city, 5km from airport, 750m from Train Station, just 3km to the downtown where you will find Ben Thanh market, Bui Vien / Pham Ngu Lao backpacker area, war museum, central post office, Reunification Palace, and Notre Dame Cathedral. Close enough to enjoy all the features of downtown, but just enough distance to leave it all behind to have a quiet night's rest with truly local life style - far from crowded noisy tourist streets - ( taking you about 60,000 VND by taxi from hotel to the all the mentioned tourist sites ). The Hotel rooms are good, spacious, with competitive pricing compared to similar hotels in the downtown area with rates up to 50% lower. Mitsubishi elevator accesses to all rooms. We are located in a very secure area with local Government Buildings nearby. You came to Vietnam, so make sure you enjoy the real Vietnam. This area is a traditional Vietnamese neighborhood featuring many cafes, restaurants and shops in a traditional/ non-touristy environment. The food in these restaurants and cafes are very traditional, with a few featuring english menus. You will be treated fair as a real local when it comes to fair trade and pricing, with no need to negotiate on prices. Our staff is willing to help you with any questions or services you may require. This is a wonderful area for travellers who wish to experience and explore new and amazing things from the perspective of real live local traditional Vietnamese neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Minh Chau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing