We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a good night sleep !”
Review of Minh Chau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Minh Chau Hotel
Ranked #36 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights at this small, quaint, and charming hotel in Ho Chi Minh City. The staff is pleasant and eager to help. However, the room itself with a kitchen was very small and restrictive. But the real problem was the air con which was directly over the bed and was challenging to get the temp just right. Consequently, the room temp was usually too cold with the air blowing over the bed and was too hot if you the air con was off. The hotel wouldn't supply you an extra blanket either so this made it uncomfortable when dealing with the blowing air in the room.

Also, the hotel is a bit out of the way with respect to the central area with all the restaurants and Opera House.

Fortunately for us we were rarely in our room during our stay which made our challenge be mainly sleep related.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jazsacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is perfect for a budget stay in Saigon. Cheap, well located, clean and very friendly. They welcome you with a drink and show you the rooms you could rent. We had no booking so highly appreciated their offer. English is very good, staff is helpful and very well trained.

Shuttle to the airport can be taken, because it is as expensive as a taxi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwissDutch-Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

A good location that was surprisingly quiet. The best thing about this place was that the rooms were clean. Unfortunately, the room I was in had an extremely poor shower with meagre water pressure and very hard to control. But all in all it's a great deal and you certainly get a bit more than you pay for.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rix03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Hotel booked due to its proximity to the railway station but what a delight. The deceptively plain facade did not prepare us for such a surprising interior. From the moment we stepped in the door and met Phu (owner manager) she investigated the non-arrival of our expected train tickets and a successful outcome ensued. She welcomed us to her terraced restaurant that evening and cooked us a wonderful meal. We were aware of her reputation from previous reviews but that did not prepare us for the exceptional service we received.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidpgodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The lady who runs the hotel is a wonderful help for all of your needs, genuine and lovely.
The hotel is between the airport and the main city centre in a lovely local neighbourhood which is great to see HCMC go about its business. The street food around the hotel is also amazing and very cheap and the locals are always friendly (bowl of soup and 4 beers for $4 :)

Hotel is well equipped with everything you need.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Dharmabum17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The owner lady really looked after us, she is a wonderful host.

Our room was spacious, air con was already set for our arrival, which was very nice to entering a cool room. We have ate few times at the restaurant in the hotel, it was delicious and loved the fresh juices. Everything was for a very reasonable price. Enjoyed sitting on the massive balcony.

We choose this hotel because the location, we weren't disappointed, loved it. It is not in the touristy area, it is surrounded by locals only. We went for a walk in the evenings and it was safe. There is a 24/7 shop which was convenient, also locals selling fruits, veges, fish etc on the street, nice to see how their everyday life goes by.

We used Vinasun taxi to get in to the centre, it cost 50.000 and another day 80.000VND, depends where you want to go, and around 140000VND to get to the airport.

I would definitely recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank su12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Phu is an amazing host as other reviews have stated. The rooms are large and comfortable and the rooftop terrace is also very nice. It is maybe a 10 minute drive from most of the places you'll want to go, but I really enjoyed staying in a local neighborhood and sampling all of the great food available at my doorstep. It's also perfectly safe to walk around this neighborhood at night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potatochip77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.4 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#94 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
813 reviews
0.7 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#99 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
540 reviews
1.5 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#39 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#50 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minh Chau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minh Chau Hotel

Address: 119 Hoa Hung street, P.12, Q. 10, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £13 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Minh Chau Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Minh Chau Hotel - 2 stars Our Minh Chau hotel - 2 stars has 30 elevator accessible air-conditioned rooms fitted with classic wood furnishings. Rooms feature Vietnamese-style decor with a fridge and cable TV. The en-suite bathroom features hot water a shower and free toiletries. The hotel is decorated with indoor plants and greenery, with the rooftop restaurant providing a cozy environment during meal times. Take in view of the surroundings from to floor-to-ceiling windows while dining. Our restaurant is capable of hosting your events after discussing with management. LOCATION ( important notice, please read carefully before booking ): Minh Chau Hotel is in the center of Ho Chi Minh city, 5km from airport, 750m from Train Station, just 3km to the downtown where you will find Ben Thanh market, Bui Vien / Pham Ngu Lao backpacker area, war museum, central post office, Reunification Palace, and Notre Dame Cathedral. Close enough to enjoy all the features of downtown, but just enough distance to leave it all behind to have a quiet night's rest with truly local life style - far from crowded noisy tourist streets - ( taking you about 60,000 VND by taxi from hotel to the all the mentioned tourist sites ). The Hotel rooms are good, spacious, with competitive pricing compared to similar hotels in the downtown area with rates up to 50% lower. Mitsubishi elevator accesses to all rooms. We are located in a very secure area with local Government Buildings nearby. You came to Vietnam, so make sure you enjoy the real Vietnam. This area is a traditional Vietnamese neighborhood featuring many cafes, restaurants and shops in a traditional/ non-touristy environment. The food in these restaurants and cafes are very traditional, with a few featuring english menus. You will be treated fair as a real local when it comes to fair trade and pricing, with no need to negotiate on prices. Our staff is willing to help you with any questions or services you may require. This is a wonderful area for travellers who wish to experience and explore new and amazing things from the perspective of real live local traditional Vietnamese neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Minh Chau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing