We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When they say "family run business"”
Review of Minh Chau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minh Chau Hotel
Ranked #33 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“When they say "family run business"”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

They mean that they will treat you like family. My wife and I chose this hotel at random for the first week of our honeymoon ramble around southeast Asia. I'm afraid we may have spoiled ourselves for the rest of our time here.

The value for what you pay here is unbeatable, the rooms here are fairly spacious and clean. The rooftop restaurant is a great place to begin your day with coffee and baguette and Mrs. Nguyen's homemade jams, it is fairly close to downtown (if you don't mind a bit of a walk) and close to good local coffee and food...but what really sets this place apart is the staff.

When Mrs Nguyen found out that we had chosen Vietnam because of the cuisine and that I love to cook, she insisted on giving us private instruction on a vast array of traditional and original Vietnamese dishes. She took us through the traditional market and helped us select ingredients.

She and her sons are well-travelled and speak excellent English and are as kind and helpful people as I have ever come across in my travels. They helped us with bookings, gave us advice on where to go, where to eat and how much we should be paying, connected us with other guests and took time to take an interest in us...we even shared a couple of family meals with them.

We would definitely stay here again...and if you prefer friendly and personal service to servile and overly-obsequious, I recommend that you do the same.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    171
    45
    13
    7
See reviews for
53
190
108
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I found this hotel by chance and am so glad I Did, The owner was great and helped me so much in booking train tickets, Airport pick up and helpful tips. We only stayed one night but will stay there again when we go back. We had dinner in the upstairs restaurant and it was a lovely meal .
It is not a five star Hotel but Value for money it gets seven stars from my wife and me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbrow100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millicent, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed two nights room had a balcony great just to sit and relax. Food was great everytime. Very well looked after, veRy friendly family buisness would recommend. Lovely top floor for dinner and drinks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We visited this hotel in June 2014 and found it to be satisfactory. The family running it were very helpful and for a budget price hotel the value was good. The rooms were clean and neat and we experienced no problems at all. The hotel was a bit out of the city but transport into the city was easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham51sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed at the Minh Chau Hotel in a superior twin room booked through Agoda. The room was comfortable and clean with a small balcony overlooking the street. Noise was not an issue for me. The hotel was quiet as it was the beginning of the low season but the staff were friendly and ever present. The bonus of the Minh Chau is its location. I enjoyed the sights and sounds of the street and the neighbourhood - plenty of places to eat and drink - coffee shops abound!!. I especially like the coffee shops where you can go and sit and talk and read and make a glass of "cafe den da" last for 2 hours. At the end of the street is the guard house leading into the old Chi Hoa prison precinct . Also its only a 15 minute walk to Com Tam 390 (Google it - its worth the visit)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rusthomco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great inexpensive place. I'm very honest when I write my reviews and I write them "Cons first, Pros last" as not to leave people with a bad taste in their mouth - so read on:

CONS:
- The VIP room was very large and accommodating but had an "odor" to it coming from the bathroom. Closed the door and it was a little better. There was a line of tiny little ants coming from one side of the room to the other...a little bug spray took care of that. Moved to another cheaper room which was a bit better (didn't need such a large room anyway).
- They shut the power off on you when you leave to preserve power (understandable!) but just make sure you aren't relying on any devices being charged when you get back.


PROS:
- Rooms were very comfortable, had just about everything I needed
- Staff was very nice (Mrs. Phu is awesome, VERY helpful)
- Good Wifi everywhere, only occasional disconnects
- Food/Breakfast was delicious and inexpensive. HIGHLY recommend the coffee (iced or hot)
- Good water/pressure/clean
- Short walk to good food, 7-11 type minimart, billiard hall, coffee, and drinks.
- Great movie channels (HBO/Cinemax/Starz) ... was constantly entertained.
- BEST part was the literal "sanctuary" they have on the top floor. Plants, birds, fountains, fish, good view...just a nice place to sit down and eat/drink/work/relax. Fun to be up there if/when the rain hits. Must see.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a very pleasant 4 nights here. As others have mentioned, the woman who owns it is very nice and helpful. We had the least expensive room (105) and it was just right for us. Cleaned each day, air-con, mini-fridge, nice bathroom. It also had a closet we could lock.

It is a bit far from most action. We walked a lot but you can also take a bus. Walking to the War Remnants Museum is about 35-40 minutes. Overall, the location wasn't an issue, plus it is quiet in this neighborhood qith good coffee shops and lots of fruit vendors in the morning.

Room Tip: We had a room with no windows, so probably the least expensive. This was fine for us because it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heatherm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.4 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#29 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
528 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#109 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#34 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,996 reviews
0.7 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#94 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
79 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#47 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minh Chau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minh Chau Hotel

Property: Minh Chau Hotel
Address: 119 Hoa Hung street, P.12, Q. 10, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Minh Chau Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Minh Chau Hotel - 2 stars Our Minh Chau hotel - 2 stars has 30 elevator accessible air-conditioned rooms fitted with classic wood furnishings. Rooms feature Vietnamese-style decor with a fridge and cable TV. The en-suite bathroom features hot water a shower and free toiletries. The hotel is decorated with indoor plants and greenery, with the rooftop restaurant providing a cozy environment during meal times. Take in view of the surroundings from to floor-to-ceiling windows while dining. Our restaurant is capable of hosting your events after discussing with management. LOCATION ( important notice, please read carefully before booking ): Minh Chau Hotel is in the center of Ho Chi Minh city, 5km from airport, 750m from Train Station, just 3km to the downtown where you will find Ben Thanh market, Bui Vien / Pham Ngu Lao backpacker area, war museum, central post office, Reunification Palace, and Notre Dame Cathedral. Close enough to enjoy all the features of downtown, but just enough distance to leave it all behind to have a quiet night's rest with truly local life style - far from crowded noisy tourist streets - ( taking you about 60,000 VND by taxi from hotel to the all the mentioned tourist sites ). The Hotel rooms are good, spacious, with competitive pricing compared to similar hotels in the downtown area with rates up to 50% lower. Mitsubishi elevator accesses to all rooms. We are located in a very secure area with local Government Buildings nearby. You came to Vietnam, so make sure you enjoy the real Vietnam. This area is a traditional Vietnamese neighborhood featuring many cafes, restaurants and shops in a traditional/ non-touristy environment. The food in these restaurants and cafes are very traditional, with a few featuring english menus. You will be treated fair as a real local when it comes to fair trade and pricing, with no need to negotiate on prices. Our staff is willing to help you with any questions or services you may require. This is a wonderful area for travellers who wish to experience and explore new and amazing things from the perspective of real live local traditional Vietnamese neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Minh Chau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing