We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but well looked after” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thanh Guest House

Thanh Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thanh Guest House
Ranked #329 of 821 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but well looked after”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

The room was tiny, the balcony was only just big enough so that the door could open and the bathroom was the size of a shower cubical.
The room was well maintained and seemed clean apart from the cockroach in the bathroom when we arrived (which the owner got rid of for us and we didn't see any more)
We moved to a different guesthouse for our 2nd night in HCMC which was much bigger and better but cost the same per night as this place.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Thanh Guesthouse. Very nice, clean and reliable. They are down one of the alleys along Bui Vien, so you need to look for it, as a taxi will drop you at the head of the alley. No problems with our HostelBookers reservation (USD$15 per night). They have 3 houses around an alley intersection, so don't be surprised if you are taken to a different house from where you check in. The family based staff are all very friendly and helpful, many speak English and are able to help out with plans, directions, bookings etc... They were really sweet and assisted us whenever we asked. We had a double room a few floors up that overlooked the alley. Air-con, fan, cable TV, wifi, hot water all good. Small, neat, clean room, safe environment and very close to Saigon's main attractions and transport hubs. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Higher floors have nicer views but also require a walk up stairs. Not a problem for backpacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delboywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The location is great but the staff is not so great. They are not sympathetic and don't speak proper English. It also can be very noisy. The room was clean.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabina00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed in the placeforone week. For a family of 4 it was little squishy but the staff are great, the place is so clean, and the location is close to all the good markets and eateries

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Mai Guest House
Mai Guest House
#33 of 821 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anh Dao Guesthouse
Anh Dao Guesthouse
#444 of 821 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Venus Hostel
Venus Hostel
#194 of 821 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 486 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#3 of 821 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
#2 of 821 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Guest House

Property: Thanh Guest House
Address: 84/26 Bui Vien Street, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 821 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer good services, great value prices and the friendly service we are famous for. The accommodation we offer are fully-decorated and spacious rooms. We are always willing to be your best partner during your journey. Thanhguesthouse is a warm and friendly guesthouse that welcomes travellers all over the world. We have a wealth of experience in the industry and know what travellers value and need during their stay. Guests can relax at the lobby inside the house, complete with comfy sofa, cable TV and catch up with friends and family over the internet. Free wi-fi access is also available throughout our guesthouses. Trips and tours can also be booked at our reception, so don't be afraid to ask. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Thanh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing