We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bats and Cockroaches.”
Review of Nam Long Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nam Long Hotel
Ranked #455 of 960 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel was a disaster from start to finish. The staff are fully unprofessional and seriously unhelpful. The room was short of beds (we were a group of 6), the mattresses were dreadful, stained, and slightly damp. For 6 backpackers, floor space was a serious commodity. 6 backpacking teenagers are hard to fit in a confined space not to mention only getting 1 towel when they had sold the room as 6.
1 of us was ill so stayed behind when we had dinner. We came home to find a live bat on the pillow next to her and a dead cockroaches on the floor. Having presented images of these to the sleeping staff downstairs they laughed and fell back asleep. Rude just doesn't suffice.
The next morning we checked out and after making several well voiced complaints about the room hygiene absolutely no discount was offered and the staff just became increasingly more impatient and rude.
Do not stay here under any circumstances. Hideout Hostel just nearby were more than welcoming when we spoke with them later.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJFHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

The most expensive place I stayed in during my whole Vietnam trip. Paid $30 for a stuffy triple room. We found dead cockroaches on the floor and after a night out returned to find a bat on one of our beds. Woke up the nightwatchmen with a photo of said bat who proceeded to laugh and fall back to sleep.
Upon check out we were told we hadn't paid enough despite going through slowly and - at first - politely at least 5 times.
The laundry service was also a shambles, fluctuating the price at will and only charging one bag to our card as opposed to the whole amount thus causing us to incur another card charge.
Do not stay here, the staff are ignorant and rude. Stay next door at Hideout hostel instead.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CallumMcCulloch94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The worst hotel I stayed in during my visit to Vietnam.
The rooms are filthy, and nothing works in the bathroom.
They charged us $30 for a room. Other hotels like the one next door charges $15 for a similar room, much better value.
The breakfast is inedible and the staff are rude and spend all their time on the computer looking at youtube videos.
We stayed a second night after negotiating a room rate of $15 for that night. When we checked out they refused to honour their agreement and said we couldn't prove what was said. They refused to let us have our passports back until we had paid in full. We had to get to the airport and had to pay otherwise we would have missed our flights.
DONT STAY HERE .... it will spoil your stay in Vietnam, everywhere else we stayed was welcoming and friendly and cheap.

Room Tip: Best tip for a good room is .... Don't stay here !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We booked for two nights, after discovering how bad the place was we negotiated a discount for the second day. On checking out they refused to give discount, police were nearly called when one of us went behind the counter to get passports. Rooms are extremely basic, ok if that's what you want at a premium price.
We stayed in plenty of hotels during our two weeks, this was without doubt the worst one by a country mile. We had to leave for a flight, if we'd had more time we would have stood our ground for the promised discount.
No member of staff had a clue, a total shambles. Thank good goodness for trip advisor, just wish we had looked at reviews first.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

For $18 a night it was ok. The room wasn't the cleanest but not filthy and it did have a/c, hot water, cable TV, and a refrigerator as well as a elevator as it is a 7 story building and at least for me the location was great. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cockerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I booked and paid for two nights through Hotels.com. I arrived late and only stayed the second night. In the morning, knowing I was in a rush to get to my international flight, the attendant insisted that Hotels.com is only a booking service and that I had to pay him cash for both nights. Of course I was charged by Hotels.com, and ended up paying for 4 nights despite only staying 1 night.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kawbsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Wat a disgusting place , dirty smelly and the wind blew through the rooms like the Antarctic. The reception area is clean and tidy which draws you in but then u enter the hovel with dirty linen strewn in the stairs and bedding that looks urine stained, we stayed one night and couldn't wait to get out of the place. Good location but if u want somewhere clean walk 20 yards down the alleyway to the victory hotel same price but clean !!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,737 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,560 reviews
1 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#41 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#55 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nam Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nam Long Hotel

Address: 283 / 3 Pham Ngu Lao Str | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 848, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #455 of 960 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £13 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nam Long Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nam Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing