We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Faifoo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #424 of 944 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Nice hotel, very friendly staff. Homely admosphere.They are ready to resolve any issues and ensure customer satisfaction. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone needing to be in Binh Thanh district.
Love the decor... Gym and cafe nearby. Nice hotel breakfast!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishaThow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Faifoo and were very disappointed.

The location is quite far from main attractions of Saigon & anyone staying there must add minimum 10$ for taxi fare per return trip, to reach the main parts of the city. This adds to the per day cost, which otherwise seems attractive. The neighborhood is utterly unremarkable – we were at a loss to find any other eatery around the place & the location just does not make any sense other than to maybe business travelers with offices nearby or to transit airport passengers. In fact, no day-trip bus company agreed to pick us up from the hotel, which is a very common practice in Vietnam, due to the distance of Faifoo’s location. Die to the distance, it was difficult to get back to the hotel in the afternoons for some rest in the peak Saigon summer.

2ndly, there are gaps between what you read in the web & what you get. Breakfast is sad! You can only order 1 main dish & 1 drink, everything is for extra charge – and the amazing part is, this is NOT told to you in advance! On the 1st day, two of us ordered 1 platter of fruits along with 2 mail items and were charged extra AFTER we had consumed it. Every hotel can have their own policy, but you need to be transparent.
The booking form promised a welcome basket of fruits, which were never given.
The kitchen had limited stocks – on 5 separate occasions we were told – no chicken, no fish and no ice!
Staff is friendly, but not all are fluent with English. There is a lack of consistent practices and all decisions are referred to the resident owner.
Cupboard shelves were dusty and flying bats & insects would come into the rooms - I am serious!

The Sunday ‘Live Musical Dining Experience’ (described as an attraction on the web-site) for invited outsiders, continued loudly till midnight, disturbing hotel guests & all staff at that time remained busy with that event.

In the room we were booked in, the exhaust fan in the toilet did not work and after asking that to be repaired the entire electricity went off & we were upgraded to a bigger room which was quite eclectic – BUT – the room had no writing table, no dustbin, it has a long corridor which while quaint, serves no purpose as it is not air-conditioned, the only dust bin is in the bath-room and the bathroom had 4 tooth brushes, but no shower cap! Whew.
This was a bad choice and we wish we had not just gone by the hotel photographs and the attractive room rate!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanjika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The hotel is like a dark little oasis amidst a chaotic beesnest.You come off the busiest of roads and seem to be in a laneway and suddenly you are there. The room was dark and the bathroom was even darker - no natural light. But that was fine because we were only there to sleep. The staff were shy and had little English so that is a bit challenging though they had the best of intentions. The breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJanetHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and I'd say it's particularly good value. Our room (the standard double) was very tasteful and clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable to sleep off the jet lag. The bathroom was great with a gorgeous shower.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. If you order a taxi with them one comes in minutes and it's very cheap to get around the city. They were particularly great with us when our bags were lost in transit at the airport. They spoke to the airline and sorted everything out for us and our bags were sent to the hotel.

Normally we never eat in hotels we stay at, but I would make an exception if you stay here. The Vietnamese menu was delicious, just be prepared to wait for it (ours took around 20 - 30 mins to arrive but was worth it).

It's in a great location - quiet but near enough to everything. I'd stop here in your search, it's a real gem!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed at the Faifoo Boutique Hotel on a stop over for one night in Ho Chi Minh City. Situated in a quiet alley on the outskirts of District 3, it's only a 15 minute taxi ride to the airport which was why we chose this location. The hotel itself has a lot of character, inspired by classic Hoi An architecture with modern design elements. Our VIP Deluxe room could be better described as "standard": full size bed, basic bathroom, a/c, free wifi. The shared balcony overlooking the courtyard was nice. Our bathroom, however, only had a bathtub with a hand held showerhead that was a bit cumbersome to use. I did get a kick out of the complimentary packets of "skin whitening" body wash, lol. Breakfast is included, but limited (not many veg options) and service was slow. Hotel service in general was satisfactory, with the staff kind enough to call us a legit taxi to ensure we didn't get ripped off. Faifoo Boutique Hotel is a good option if you don't want to stay in a cookie-cutter hotel, in a more local part of town, and close to the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markymeetsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is a really pretty hotel - nice and quiet, far from the crowds of tourists and sidewalk vendors. But just a quick cab ride away from everything else.
The room I had originally booked was taken so I got upgraded to the executive suite. It was a really beautifully appointed room with all amenities. Nice cold airconditioning, very comfortable bed, not like a lot of other hotels around Asia that have rock hard beds. Everything in the hotel was extremely clean and as I am a bit of a clean freak, I was very happy with this. A little bit of confusion on the evening I arrived as the night staff could not speak any English but he called the owner (and woke him up which was a bit embarrassing) who explained everything to me in perfect English. The staff were super helpful and very nice. Food was pretty good too. My favorite item on the breakfast menu was the "Sunny Shine" eggs!! I only ordered Vietnamese food for all my meals there. I'm really happy we stayed there on our first 3 nights in Vietnam.

Room Tip: Have a map with you with the location of the hotel clearly marked. When you leave the hotel to go ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orionqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed here on three seperate periods across a couple of weeks as I explored Vietnam. Its a good clean hotel with excellent staff who try very hard to accomodate. Very polite and well mannered. Hotel is in a good location next to a lovely cafe and away from the main road so quiet in the evenings. Few rough edges to the hotel but nothing to much to gripe about and provides good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ho Chi Minh City
1.3 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#182 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
42 reviews
2.6 mi away
Duc Minh Hotel
Duc Minh Hotel
#205 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saigon Park Resort
Saigon Park Resort
#3 of 3 in Thu Dau Mot
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cam Ly Apart-hotel
Cam Ly Apart-hotel
#457 of 944 in Ho Chi Minh City
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edenroc Hotel
Edenroc Hotel
#139 of 944 in Ho Chi Minh City
14 reviews
6.3 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#212 of 944 in Ho Chi Minh City
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faifoo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faifoo Boutique Hotel

Address: 97/3 Le Quang Dinh St. | Ward 14, Binh Thanh Dist., Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #424 of 944 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £17 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Faifoo Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Faifoo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing