We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay to stay.”
Review of PP BackPackers

PP BackPackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
PP BackPackers
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best stay to stay.”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I was travelling with family. My wife and daughter 'backpacking' for the first time were full of apprehensions. But our stay at PP Backpackers was a great experience for them and me. Having travelled most of South East Asia. I found this to be my BEST backpacker hostel stay. Ofcourse we had taken a 3 bedroom independent room. A bit of a climb to the 3rd floor, but worth it. The highlight of the hostel is Bech the owner, who,goes out of the way to help you. Suggesting the places to visit and even helping you with 'how to bargain' for goods in the Night Market !
If we go back to Saigon it would be to meet an old 'friend' Bech !
Recommended for families too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suds D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    43
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
3
40
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CH
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

As others have mentioned: PP Backpackers is perfectly located in the backpackers district, the rooms are quite clean as far as hostels go, and the staff is always helpful. We forgot an Iphone charging cable in the room and the staff kept it for us until we passed through again a week later. The area can get noisy in evening and the windows don't block the sound too well, so noise-o-phobes should have no illusions about this being a "quiet" area. But why are you looking for quiet next to Bui Vien, anyway? :) Find a bar, sit on a small stool, and drink and talk the night away like you only can in Saigon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The best thing about PP backpackers is the location - only one street away from Bui Vien so in the heart of district one action but manages to remain quiet and relaxing. The room was a little dated but we found it very pleasant. Comfy bed with clean sheets and towels. Extra security of a safe. Staff polite. We had a little nuisance with ants in the room but this was probably our fault for leaving open cans of coke lying around! Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelly_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

PP backpackers is an ideal base for exploring Saigon.
Room was ok - slightly dated but this doesn't bother me. Hot water shower and free wifi in rooms (which I found super helpful as I was so jet lagged I couldn't sleep for two nights so I could use the internet to amuse me!) Also a computer available to use in the lobby.
I didn't really have much interaction with the staff but they provided a really helpful city map so we managed to walk to most places.
It is in a very central location without being noisy.
Perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Similar to many of the other small hostels, but fantastic staff make staying at PP's really enjoyable. The building is as quiet as can be when it's only one street back from Bui Vien. Great location, great staff, and cheap. What more could you ask for?

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevesgonewalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK- South East
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

This place is pretty much a perfect base for the money in the city. It's well located, easily within walking distance of the sights (no more than 20 minutes away to the furthest ones) and not too noisy.

The rooms are fairly spacious, with TV and fridge. The duvets could seriously do with an update as they have holes in many places. Not a big one but still a basic really! Bathroom spacious with good shower pressure, however the hot water seemed to disappear after the first night!

Staff are really helpful and friendly, we left something by accident and they kept hold of it until we returned again! A rarity in most SE Asia establishments!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ollie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I really enjoyed my three night stay in the dorm room of this hostel. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Rooms are good value for money in comparison to what is on offer in the rest of the city. The dorm room is reasonably spacious for 8 beds and pretty clean. Recommended for budget backpáckers

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egalla84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Lily's Hostel
Lily's Hostel
#11 of 592 in Ho Chi Minh City
270 reviews
30.0 mi away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#4 of 592 in Ho Chi Minh City
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong Quynh
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong...
#16 of 592 in Ho Chi Minh City
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hideout Hostels Asia - Saigon
Hideout Hostels Asia - Saigon
#10 of 592 in Ho Chi Minh City
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#2 of 592 in Ho Chi Minh City
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham...
#24 of 592 in Ho Chi Minh City
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PP BackPackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP BackPackers

Property: PP BackPackers
Address: 283/45 Pham Ngu Lao Strret, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 592 Speciality Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, comfortable, affordable hostel. Situated in the heart of Saigon City in the middle of the tourist district. Countless bars and tours available for an enjoyable time in Saigon. The hostel has a comfortable setup with cheap drinks and good food for socializing and meeting people. Free Wifi, Air Con, Hot Water, Breakfast. Knowledgeable Vietnamese staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your PP BackPackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing