We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”
Review of PP BackPackers

PP BackPackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
PP BackPackers
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The staff at PP are the best going around. Jade was super sweet and would always help us out with whatever we needed or give us advice. Yui (probably wrong spelling) was also an absolute champ, taught us plenty of vietnamese and even ran down a thief on his motorbike one day! He's a hero.
We were only planning on staying a few days in Ho Chi Minh but ended up there for two weeks mainly because of how much we enjoyed PP and all the staff.
The place is kept spotless all the time thanks to Tan (legend) and the beds are very comfortable.
Also it's located of a little side street between Pham ngu lao and bui vien streets so the late night noise is far less than if you were on one of those main roads.
I would highly recommend anyone travelling to Ho Chi Minh to stay at PP Backpackers. It's quite a treat!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alex_Wylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were really happy with our stay at PP Backpackers. We took one of their private double en-suite rooms for three nights. The room was clean with a nice bathroom and the fridge came in really handy. Air conditioned with comfortable beds. The street outside was a little noisy late evening and early morning, but otherwise the location was great, walking distance to most good restaurants and attaractions in District 1, or a short taxi ride. Would recommend.

Room Tip: The private en-suite's come with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrCrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This time my wife and I stayed 4 weeks + 1 day. Did nothing but rest on our way home from France. Have stayed at PP Backpackers five separate occasions previously. Stayed in a room with a queen bed, staff are friendly and very helpful. The owner goes above and beyond to make our stay feel like home. Would highly recommend as a great place to the action of district one.

Room Tip: Always set the criteria for yourself:- secure, clean, quiet and a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank notleyww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a good stay there. They were all very freindly and helpful once we stayed in a large room with a few people it was clean but hot and we had one bathroom for 6 people but you know thats backpacking so it was as expected. And a second time we tried out the double room and i have to say the double room was nice.

Room Tip: For Backpackers the big room and for a couple the two bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaddel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed three nights here with a private room with balcony. This room has two queen sized bed, spacious, clean. The balcony is small, but you can do people watching there with the busy street view. Other rooms are smaller. The staff is very friendly, helped us with information of the bus tickets to Can Tho. The breakfast was so so, you have choice of eggs or toast with tea or coffee. We had two breakfast there, but skipped the third one because there are much better coffee places just around the corner. When you book a room, you have choice to chose with or without breakfast, the price difference in price is $3.
The location of PP Backpackers is great. It is at the end of backpackers street, at the corner of the busy commercial street of District one with endless eateries, cafes, bars. The moment you step out the guest house, you are immediately step into the center of everything.
In general, it is good value with good service!

Room Tip: The two queen-beds room with balcony is the best one, price at $17 with no breakfast as we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for a few nights while travelling through Vietnam - comfortable room, good A/C and decent value. The lady who runs it is SO helpful regarding booking buses, tours etc and just giving general advice like where to get some good food.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Overall we (me and a friend) had a pleasant stay at PP Backpackers. The room was spacious, very clean and well equipped. The location is perfect. Right in the middle of the backpacker area. The staff is more then friendly. Willing to help with anything. There's loads of hostels to choose from in HCMC, but this one is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Madam Cuc 127
Madam Cuc 127
#155 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lily's Hostel
Lily's Hostel
#11 of 669 in Ho Chi Minh City
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Giang Son Guesthouse
Giang Son Guesthouse
#30 of 944 in Ho Chi Minh City
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diep Anh Guesthouse
Diep Anh Guesthouse
#10 of 944 in Ho Chi Minh City
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#3 of 669 in Ho Chi Minh City
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hangout Hostel Saigon
The Hangout Hostel Saigon
#61 of 669 in Ho Chi Minh City
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PP BackPackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP BackPackers

Address: 283/45 Pham Ngu Lao Strret, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 669 Speciality Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, comfortable, affordable hostel. Situated in the heart of Saigon City in the middle of the tourist district. Countless bars and tours available for an enjoyable time in Saigon. The hostel has a comfortable setup with cheap drinks and good food for socializing and meeting people. Free Wifi, Air Con, Hot Water, Breakfast. Knowledgeable Vietnamese staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your PP BackPackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing