We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff & comfy rooms - minor maintenance needed”
Review of Golden Wind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Wind Hotel
Ranked #149 of 964 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Wonderfully helpful staff. Excellent location. Fair price. Comfortable rooms. Staff was quick to bring an extra sheet when we asked for it after we discovered there was none. If our room received just a bit of attention to detail and some maintenance, we would have given the Golden Wind an Excellent rating.
There is only one trash can in the room - a rusting metal can with a foot lever. Since the lever doesn't really work, you need to open the can by hand - getting your hands dirty in the process. No shower curtain or door. Not terrible by itself, but also no squeegee to dry the walls or floor. Water was sitting on the floor around the toilet when we arrived - and will still be there when we leave. Found hair on the sheets and a blob of something on the wall side of the bed. Two hangers left by a former guest were hanging from the curtain rods. Cleaning staff needs supervision.

We did not stay long enough to try breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTBillJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

a great place. very friendly and nice stuff. great location, close to the centre and everything. the rooms are very nice and the price was ok. totaly great value for money.........................................

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naama_ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Great location at Saigons backpacker's area, friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms. the breakfast was OK, a typical breakfast for Vietnam. WI-Fi was available also in the rooms. Located in an ally but it was easy to find it and it was quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liron i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of the backpacker district but is in a quiet alley. This led to an unexpected advantage of being in a busy area but not fronting a busy street. Nights were quiet and the aircon was great. The reception here always spoke good english and were very helpful with safety deposit boxes and booking tours. Breakfast of an omelette, breadroll and tea/coffee was simple but fine. Would stay again for the location, price and service.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking room if possible and make sure toilet doesn't smell too much. (our kids had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariadne238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

After a 5 night stay in the 'posh' area (very sanitized and international), we wanted our kids to experience getting in and amongst it in Pham Ngu Lao. We stumbled on Golden Wind and were impressed with the rooms and price. The labyrinth of alleyways gave great insight into how HCMC inner city locals live ... kids playing hopscotch; Nana's wandering in their pajamas's; religious celebrations; music; people clipping their toenails in their underwear, sharing meals ... real life!

The rooms were pleasant and well equipped, the price was good and the staff were the most exceptional we have encountered in Vietnam. They were proficient in English, had a great sense of humor and went out of their way to assist us. We loved the simple breakfast: a crusty baguette, spectacular pho and eggs any way you choose - perfect way to start the day.

I cannot fault this hotel ... we traveled with 3 children aged 14 - 7 and stayed in adjoining rooms. It was clean, safe and walking distance to a myriad of restaurants, bakery's, shops and spa's. Each night after dinner we would sit in the park over the road and watch the locals play soccer, badminton and practice dance routines.

If you want to be clean and safe but amongst the hustle and bustle of Saigon this is a well priced hotel with great staff in an exceptional location!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank halcyondays007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We had a nice stay in the Golden Wind hotel. We had no problems finding it, just DONT check googlemaps or so, because the location in not correct. Check the photo of one of the other reviewers and you'll find it. Just keep walking the Pham Ngu Lao from Ben Than untill you see the little street on the photo.
The room we had (406) was clean and nice. It was cleaned every day and we also had new towels every day. We had WiFi, although it was not very fast.
The breakfast is a little poor, a french bread or toast with omelet, jam or creamcheese and something to drink. Not enough for a whole breakfast.
We had warm water in the shower, but you'll have to wait a little while. At the end of our stay we paid in VND, instead of dollars and there was no problem.

Room Tip: We had a room at the 4th floor, and that was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

After staying in another hotel in the middle of the city, I decided to try this one. It was definitely worth the move. For the same price, I had a room with a window to the outside and more space, a big bathroom and a very convenient location.

This was a very good value and I would return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeSeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,748 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,564 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#38 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#52 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Wind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Wind Hotel

Address: 219 / 8A Pham Ngu Lao, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 964 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Wind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing