We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel in central location”
Review of Golden Wind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Wind Hotel
Ranked #96 of 873 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel in central location”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We were a little apprehensive arriving in HCMC as we were scammed by our taxi driver when leaving the airport, however the staff on the reception at the golden Wind Hotel were excellent providing great recommendations for us on where to eat etc (although I think in Vietnam it is hard to go wrong with food!) There were a few minor problems with the room like the bathroom sink not draining but when alerted the staff soon sorted the problem. We stayed 3 nights and were happy. One of the receptionists even offered recommendations for our next destination and booked the bus for us to Mui Ne.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    72
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
52
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Good location in HCMC, but can of hard to find. The location is central, but in a bit of a dodgy alley... We were very sceptical, but it turned out to be a good hotel. The hotel is lookes new and is cleen. The staff is excellent! Nice rooms, ok price. Perfect for a couple of days in HCMC.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Wonderfully helpful staff. Excellent location. Fair price. Comfortable rooms. Staff was quick to bring an extra sheet when we asked for it after we discovered there was none. If our room received just a bit of attention to detail and some maintenance, we would have given the Golden Wind an Excellent rating.
There is only one trash can in the room - a rusting metal can with a foot lever. Since the lever doesn't really work, you need to open the can by hand - getting your hands dirty in the process. No shower curtain or door. Not terrible by itself, but also no squeegee to dry the walls or floor. Water was sitting on the floor around the toilet when we arrived - and will still be there when we leave. Found hair on the sheets and a blob of something on the wall side of the bed. Two hangers left by a former guest were hanging from the curtain rods. Cleaning staff needs supervision.

We did not stay long enough to try breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTBillJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

a great place. very friendly and nice stuff. great location, close to the centre and everything. the rooms are very nice and the price was ok. totaly great value for money.........................................

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naama_ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modiin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Great location at Saigons backpacker's area, friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms. the breakfast was OK, a typical breakfast for Vietnam. WI-Fi was available also in the rooms. Located in an ally but it was easy to find it and it was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liron i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of the backpacker district but is in a quiet alley. This led to an unexpected advantage of being in a busy area but not fronting a busy street. Nights were quiet and the aircon was great. The reception here always spoke good english and were very helpful with safety deposit boxes and booking tours. Breakfast of an omelette, breadroll and tea/coffee was simple but fine. Would stay again for the location, price and service.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking room if possible and make sure toilet doesn't smell too much. (our kids had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariadne238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

After a 5 night stay in the 'posh' area (very sanitized and international), we wanted our kids to experience getting in and amongst it in Pham Ngu Lao. We stumbled on Golden Wind and were impressed with the rooms and price. The labyrinth of alleyways gave great insight into how HCMC inner city locals live ... kids playing hopscotch; Nana's wandering in their pajamas's; religious celebrations; music; people clipping their toenails in their underwear, sharing meals ... real life!

The rooms were pleasant and well equipped, the price was good and the staff were the most exceptional we have encountered in Vietnam. They were proficient in English, had a great sense of humor and went out of their way to assist us. We loved the simple breakfast: a crusty baguette, spectacular pho and eggs any way you choose - perfect way to start the day.

I cannot fault this hotel ... we traveled with 3 children aged 14 - 7 and stayed in adjoining rooms. It was clean, safe and walking distance to a myriad of restaurants, bakery's, shops and spa's. Each night after dinner we would sit in the park over the road and watch the locals play soccer, badminton and practice dance routines.

If you want to be clean and safe but amongst the hustle and bustle of Saigon this is a well priced hotel with great staff in an exceptional location!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank halcyondays007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
#105 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#28 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elios Hotel
Elios Hotel
#72 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
New Pearl Hotel
New Pearl Hotel
#51 of 873 in Ho Chi Minh City
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
SAIGON downtown B&B
SAIGON downtown B&B
#56 of 567 in Ho Chi Minh City
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamond Suite Parkview Hotel
Diamond Suite Parkview Hotel
#59 of 567 in Ho Chi Minh City
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Wind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Wind Hotel

Property: Golden Wind Hotel
Address: 219 / 8A Pham Ngu Lao, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 873 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Wind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing