We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but not great.”
Review of Golden Wind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Wind Hotel
Ranked #96 of 855 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Ok but not great.”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel was the location. Although its down a small ally so make sure you know were your going. Everything else was just average. I don't really have any big complaints but there nothing special about this place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stodds73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    72
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
52
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Of course it's not the Hilton, but for the price, it's a very good hotel with a great location, very nice owners and stuff. Before we stayed in Tan Hoang Long Hotel, which was neraly double the price and smaller and less nicer rooms. The only reason I do not give 5 points is, because of the light smell of cigarette smoke in our non smoker room.

Room Tip: The twin bed rooms seem to be a bit bigger than the double bed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonAlfonso01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The location was ok. We checked in at 1am. A bit of scary at first since we had 2 go past an alley. But there was a staff of the hotel that waited for us outside. We got the family room. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. The shower was nice. The breakfast was satisfying. Hotel staff were excellent. Just a bit noisy in the morning. The price was great. Good value for your money. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank odessa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The hotel is in a great location, it couldn't be better; smack bang in the middle of everything that's going on but down one of the lanes so that you don't get all night street noise outside. When you fiind 219 Pham Ngu Lao (it's an alleyway) just go down the alley & right & you'll see it on your left. That said, Saigon is a city that never sleeps so you will always have people coming back to their rooms from being out at night. The walls are very thin so you will hear everything & the noise in the hallways is a big problem. Even wiith earplugs this turned out to be an iissue because the room doors are difficult to open & cause everyone problems, even moreso with a few beers on board, so be prepared. Also, nextdoor either has building woorks going on at present or its some sort of factory because tappiing & banging starts at around 6:30 each morning & pretty much goes on all day, which is pretty annoying.

The room is very modern & very clean with good a/c. The shower is the best wwe've had in Asia so far but wear the flip-flops as you could kill yourself on the floor otherwise!

The staff are very friendly & you can book tours wiith them. The Cu Chi tunnels tour is cheap & pretty good so handy to boook at the front desk. The breakfast is nice too.

You have to weigh up great value & location vs noiseyness here really. We thought it was good but could have done with soome better sleeps. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in 206 & the works are next door so maybe ask for the opposite side of the buildiing, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sober_Colm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We were a little apprehensive arriving in HCMC as we were scammed by our taxi driver when leaving the airport, however the staff on the reception at the golden Wind Hotel were excellent providing great recommendations for us on where to eat etc (although I think in Vietnam it is hard to go wrong with food!) There were a few minor problems with the room like the bathroom sink not draining but when alerted the staff soon sorted the problem. We stayed 3 nights and were happy. One of the receptionists even offered recommendations for our next destination and booked the bus for us to Mui Ne.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Good location in HCMC, but can of hard to find. The location is central, but in a bit of a dodgy alley... We were very sceptical, but it turned out to be a good hotel. The hotel is lookes new and is cleen. The staff is excellent! Nice rooms, ok price. Perfect for a couple of days in HCMC.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Wonderfully helpful staff. Excellent location. Fair price. Comfortable rooms. Staff was quick to bring an extra sheet when we asked for it after we discovered there was none. If our room received just a bit of attention to detail and some maintenance, we would have given the Golden Wind an Excellent rating.
There is only one trash can in the room - a rusting metal can with a foot lever. Since the lever doesn't really work, you need to open the can by hand - getting your hands dirty in the process. No shower curtain or door. Not terrible by itself, but also no squeegee to dry the walls or floor. Water was sitting on the floor around the toilet when we arrived - and will still be there when we leave. Found hair on the sheets and a blob of something on the wall side of the bed. Two hangers left by a former guest were hanging from the curtain rods. Cleaning staff needs supervision.

We did not stay long enough to try breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTBillJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Diamond Suite Parkview Hotel
Diamond Suite Parkview Hotel
#57 of 543 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Pearl Hotel
New Pearl Hotel
#55 of 855 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quoc Minh Hotel
Quoc Minh Hotel
#97 of 855 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kim Khoi Hotel
Kim Khoi Hotel
#101 of 855 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
N Dung Hotel
N Dung Hotel
#155 of 543 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
4 Boys Guesthouse
4 Boys Guesthouse
#275 of 855 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Wind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Wind Hotel

Property: Golden Wind Hotel
Address: 219 / 8A Pham Ngu Lao, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 855 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Wind Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Wind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing