We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost there”
Review of Hotel Nikko Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Ranked #5 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Almost there”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Good business hotel, but people have complained its a bit far away from centre, but really only a 10 minute taxi ride. Looked great, big room, service still needs a bit of work, but nothing that should put anyone off.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,525
    646
    107
    35
    30
See reviews for
658
1,377
211
468
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed four nights recently in the new Nikko Hotel Saigon.

We were really impressed by the professionalism, courtesy, and command of English of all the younger members of staff we encountered; they were by far the finest we have had the pleasure to meet during stays at a number of hotels worldwide, and we commend the hotel for its selection and training of these fine young people.

The décor throughout the hotel was discreet and harmonious, and our tenth floor room extremely comfortable and lacking nothing, although it did take a while for the hot water to become hot. The bathroom was well appointed, with quite an impressive array of toiletries, and it was nice to have the toilet in a separate room (although a telephone on the wall there was positioned just where it could be knocked off the wall anyone time anyone went in).

The breakfast buffet was really extensive, and its offerings quite wonderful.

For a panoramic view of the city go up to the Executive Club Lounge and out onto its terrace.

The small supermarket next door (accessible directly from the hotel) is a useful place to know about.

The hotel shuttle to and from the downtown core was very useful, and on one occasion we took a Vinasun taxi back to the hotel from the War Remnants Museum, which cost $3. We were advised to take only Vinasun back to the hotel, as other cab drivers can be less reputable and even threatening towards tourists.

We felt we were treated like royalty during our stay at the Nikko, and shall definitely return if we revisit Saigon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicci2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed one night at Nikko at the beginning of March 2012. Check in was smooth with characteristic Vietnamese friendliness. Room was impressive given size, furniture and decor, with an obvious Japanese feel to it. Bathroom had great shower but no plug for razor and odd separate closet for toilet. Breakfast was good but lacking local food and perhaps variety. Reason why I think this hotel is not the best in Saigon is due to inexperienced personnel (waiters need a bit of training, valets need to improve their English) and location, a good 10-15m taxi ride to the heart of District 1 (business/shopping area).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEAsianFlyingFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Words can't to justice to the phenomenal hotel known as Nikko Saigon. I've stayed at a number of 5 Star hotels and The Nikko Saigon is by far the most amazing. The staff is incredible helpful, kind, and respectful...they make you feel like royalty. My dad and I stayed here on the final night of our Father/Daughter trip. We had booked a deluxe club room w9th two double beds Upon check-in we were informed that the manager has up graded us to a junior queen deluxe suite because the hotel wasn't full. Great start :) Then we were told to head up to the executive lounge while our room was being prepared. We headed up and received a welcome drink upon arrival and fresh tea. This hotel has customer service down to a science...everything is smoothly run, from check-in to check-out.
We stayed with "club access" (which for the extra $12 a night is WORTH IT) which meant we got access to the executive lounge. UNREAL. Tea time from 2-4:30 with a huge spread of complimentary gourmet sandwiches, desserts, coffee, tea, cappuccinos, etc. Then from 4:30-8pm they have complimentary happy hour with unlimited beer and good wine PLUS more snacks (chicken kebabs, crab cakes, spring rolls, grilled tuna, olive and cheese plate, etc) and another gorgeous dessert spread.
For breakfast, Nikko has the most extensive buffet I've seen Asia. Just to name a few things...make your own granola station, bread table, massive breakfast pastry table, make your own cappuccinos, lattes, coffee, tea, made to order eggs (florentine, benedict, fried, omelettes), crepes, pancakes, hash browns, a variety or cereals, yogurts, fruits and salads PLUS a all of the Vietnamese food you could want (pho, smoked salmon, sticky rice, bun, etc)
Room was super spacious and the toilets are so high tech!
It is pricey for Vietnam standards ($124) but a hotel like this in the US wouldn't be anything less than $500. And at $224 this place was worth EVERY cent. Neither of us wanted to leave!!

Room Tip: ANY room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacquelyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKG
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The Hotel Nikko Saigon is located at the western end of District 1 and boarders District 5. To visit the center of District 1 the hotel offers a shuttle bus which currently runs 4 times a day. The hotel has a beige theme with spaceous and very comfortable rooms. I loved the bathtub and hi-tech Toto Washlet toilet. In-room Wi-Fi was complimentary which I found extremely useful. Breakfast was really good with a wide selection of food. Next to the hotel is a small shopping mall with a supermarket located in the basement level.

I found the staff very friendly and courteous making for a very relaxing stay at the hotel.

Some of the hotel finishing was questionable but did not distract from a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We just loved our stay at this hotel.
It was a great place to stay with extraordinarily helpful and wonderful staff who couldn't do enough to help us with our every query.

It is located on the edge of district 1, but really only about 10 to 12 minutes from the CBD. Roughly 50,000 VND or about AUD$2.50

The hotel has a great taxi service.

Breakfast and dinner buffets are serious eye candy as well as offering the best range of the most fantastic food. Knock yourself out!

The hotel was very family and traveler friendly.

Room Tip: Request to stay on the Pool or CBD side for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We went to HCMC for family and vacation reasons. My wife and I took 3 boys - twins 6 and a 13 year old. Our boys are typically spoiled brats, but they just loved the ambiance, hot chocolate for breakfast each morning as well as the fantastic breakfast range, pool and excellent service from all members of staff. In particular, special thanks would have to go to the girls from Guest relations, who helped to make our trip especially well catered for and researched our every request from laundry services to finding the best eats within our budget range as well as arranging and booking day trips etc.

The hotel is extremely family friendly, as well as great for business travelers with a great and functional business centre based on Level 4. The free Wifi worked without fault.

The pool was fantastic!

The only little issue is the fact that the hotel is on the edge of District 1 and not within realistic walking distance of the louder part of town. However, the hotel has exceptional taxi services and a very strong relationship with Vinasun taxi's. We never had to wait for any taxi's at all during our 10 day stay, as the hotel has it's own taxi rank for guests. We went during Tet and the city was very busy. The average taxi fare was about 10-12 minutes to the centre of D1 and cost about AUD $2.50 each way.

The in house restaurants are very good, although typically higher end.

We would love to stay here again. We all had withdrawal symptoms after leaving here!

It was that good! There is always next time!

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the CBD or overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vongp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,566 reviews
1.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#12 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,523 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#15 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,687 reviews
5.0 mi away
Villa Song Saigon
Villa Song Saigon
#2 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
773 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre
Pullman Saigon Centre
#13 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Saigon

Property: Hotel Nikko Saigon
Address: 235 Nguyen Van Cu, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nikko Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE STAR RELAXATION IN HO CHI MINH CITY MODERN * STYLISH * SPACIOUS ROOMS * MINIMALIST DESIGN * Known for its High reputation in Staff Excellence. * Just 20 minutes by car from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. * Peaceful location away from the hustle and bustle of the city. * Best Buffet Breakfast serving the widest selection of breakfast food items. * Most talked about La Brasserie Seafood Dinner Buffet offering unlimited huge lobsters, crabs and oysters. * Stunningly Nikko Garden for outdoor social events accommodating 1,200 guests. * Breathtaking Nikko Club Lounge at the 23rd floor providing spectacular view of the city. * Complimentary daily drop off shuttle service to city center main tourist's landmarks. EXQUISITE SERVICE * EPIC FOOD GOURMET * UNITERRUPTED RELAXATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nikko Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing