We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Nikko Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Ranked #5 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

we stayed in nikko saigon for 2 nights before mui ne and after for 2 more nights.both times were excellent.
the hotel is looking brand new.decoration is modern, minimal and elegant.
check-in was professional and friendly.
our room was a premium deluxe very comfortable modern in style and very relaxing.first time i saw a japanese style toilet-very trendy!
our room had everything you needed for a perfect stay-mini bar, t.v. with a large variety of asian and international channels,complimentary tea-coffee facilities, complimentary bottle of water etc, etc.
the swimming pool nice area to relax i would like though to have more plants around.
gym, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi very clean and relaxing.
breakfast was very good .
room service excellent and very tasty.
location good-everywhere you could go by taxi.
all the staff was very proffessional and friendly always with a kind smile and ready to serve you in the most sufficient way.
in general we were very happy choosing this hotel for our stay in saigon.
definatelly will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are very glad that you have chosen to stay at Hotel Nikko Saigon.

Thank you for the very nice comments about brand new, modern, minimal and elegant hotel.
We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay in our Deluxe Premium room. Our signature “TOTO” electronic wash let toilet seat is a famous feature in our bathroom. It’s great to learn that other facilities such as our outdoor swimming pool, gym, spa and room service were up to your expectations.

Our highly trained staff is the most precious asset that we have. They are the ones who make our hotel different through their professionalism.

We hope to see you again at Hotel Nikko Saigon in the near future.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,408 - 2,414 of 3,668 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our first hotel in HCMC was a bust. The Nikko was a cut above. Clean, well lighted, and contemporary.

Our room was elegant and well-appointed. The lighting was rather dim, but the desk had a lamp. The bathroom had a large variety of amenities.

A shuttle service runs every hour but beware! We were told to be there at 5pm to go to the market, and when we arrived, we were denied access, and we watched as it drove away. They said we needed a reservation even though they had instructed us to be there at 5!

The breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied, but beware! My children had the buffet. I had a cup of coffee and a croissant, and they presented me with a bill for the buffet.

The concierge staff works with a travel agency for tours. Beware! We booked a Mekong Delta private tour...$70 per person. It was horrible! A tourist trap! We were taken by boat to an island...a shopping center with tourist junk to buy. Then we rode in a trailer to a canoe dock. We spent 10 minutes only on the actual Mekong Delta tributary. What a rip-off!

Finally, the host at the restaurant in the hotel told us that the reason we had been treated so poorly in Vietnam was because we were American. That was the final straw.

Aside from the negative service-related experiences, the Nikko was sleek and confortable, clean and contemporary. That is why I rated it very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janestern228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave encouraging comments. Your inspiring remarks about clean, well lighted and contemporary hotel were all shared with our team members.

Your constructive feedback about the hotel shuttle timings and the unlikely service at our La Brasserie were elevated to our Management. Corrective actions through proper service training were undertaken to concerned departments to ensure accuracy of information and 5 star service standards are consistently provided to our guests. Likewise, we have taken positive actions with our Travel Agent partner about the cost and tour services related to Mekong Delta trip.

Once again, our Management would like to extend our sincere gratitude to you for bringing this matter to our attention.

We hope you can visit Hotel Nikko Saigon again for us to demonstrate the improvements we have implemented.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This was my second trip to Ho Chi Min City so I was open to the idea of not having to stay in the very center of town. And so I chose the Nikko and was it a great decision! The hotel is actually very well situated and offers easy access to restaurants, shopping and downtown attractions, both by taxi or walking. It is a pleasure to enter, easy to check in and the service was outstanding. The room was better then I expected: lots of space, huge window with what could be the best view of downtown (I got some outstanding day and night shots just from my window), a great working desk, superb king size bed and a bathroom to savor. The bathtub made me take 2 baths (!!) in a 22 hour stay. To complete an outstanding experience, room came with a beautiful bathroom sink, excellent shower, separate toilet and top notch toiletries.

I didn't get a breakfast because I wanted to explore local foods but I stopped by the 5th floor to see the breakfast bar that so many guests describe as amazing. Well, they are right! The size and selection is unusually extensive. It seems like it would be a b'fast to remember.

Room Tip: Best views are on the East side. You will have a picture perfect view of Ho Chi Min Skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for finding our hotel a peaceful and relaxing “oasis” during your trip amidst this bustling city. It is our pleasure to be of service you.

We are proud to say that Hotel Nikko Saigon has the most spacious with great view standard rooms among the many 5 star hotels in Ho Chi Minh City. We are glad that you had a great time in our room especially the part where you mentioned how you enjoyed the bathroom.

We hope next time you will try our breakfast buffet because it is “a must experience” treat at Hotel Nikko Saigon where most of our guests gave excellent rating after dining.

Thank you very much for being a vital part of our continued growth and success.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Cannot fault this hotel in any way! The rooms are great- very clean, spacious and comfortable with great views. The breakfast is amazing, and so much selection! The pool is a great place to relax away from the crazy streets of Ho Chi Minh City. The hotel is located on the outskirts of District 1, but only a short taxi ride away from all the main attractions and restaurants. The hotel was also a great value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyssajt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your experience during your stay at Hotel Nikko Saigon. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We appreciate that our Housekeeping team meet your expectations by providing clean, spacious and comfortable room. Please be advised that Hotel Nikko Saigon has the largest standard room size among the 5 star hotels in Ho Chi Minh City. Our guest rooms starts from 10th floor always providing great city view.

We are very glad that you enjoyed the “must experience” buffet breakfast treat in Hotel Nikko Saigon. Almost all our stayed guests gave an excellent rating after experiencing the wide spread selection of food items. Furthermore, we are delighted you had a relaxing time at our outdoor swimming pool located at the 5th floor. It’s one of the favorite facilities of our guests.

Your patronage is a vital part of our development and we hope you can come back and stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We booked a night here just to get away from home in HCM as we'd been working a lot and we were really pleased we did.

The room was great, modern, clean and extremely comfortable...the bed and pillows were awesome!

Breakfast was good to but when we ordered an early dinner for our daughter, it wasn't the best food considering the price. The restaurant does have a little kids play area though which is great.

That said, their Saturday night buffet - which was booked out - looked awesome so we would have tried it despite the not so great order earlier.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the pool was good fun to.

We'd definitely recommend this hotel if the distance from the center of town isn't an issue for you.

And if we needed to hide away from HCM again, I'd be happy to come back here.

Room Tip: We asked for a non-smoking room on a quiet floor and were placed on floor 20 (or near that) - the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahuk_the1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are thankful you have considered Hotel Nikko Saigon as your residence when you visited Ho Chi Minh City. It is rewarding to read that we provided you a pleasant stay from the highlights of your detailed review.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our breakfast and dinner buffet. It is one of the best buffets in town. Please be informed that your comment about the food through room service has been addressed to the related department for improvement.

We are happy that you recommend our relaxing and peaceful hotel to other guests.
Hopefully, you will come back to Hotel Nikko Saigon again soon

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This 5* hotel provides excellent service with a reasonable price. From the bellman to the receptionist, the waiter/waitress and housekeeping, their service is splendid! Rooms were comfortable with all the amenities that you require. Big shower room and a well-maintained bath tub, and most important the cleanliness. We enjoyed the breakfast very much. The spread is fantastic with the menu from the east to the west. Although the hotel location is quite off from the main city but getting taxi is not a problem. I have no regrets booking in to this hotel. My thumbs up to them for their excellent service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KOON A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for speaking highly about Hotel Nikko Saigon’s products and services. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your high appraisal about our staff has been shared with our team members and they felt very honored and motivated to hear so. All the lovely words you wrote provide encouragement and inspiration to all hotel employees. It’s great to know that you enjoyed the fantastic spread of breakfast at our La Brasserie restaurant. Our breakfast is a “must experienced” treat at Hotel Nikko Saigon.

We well understand guests concerns about our hotel location that is why we provide complimentary shuttle service to our staying guests that you may also avail on your next visit to Ho Chi Minh City.

Thank you very much for being a vital part of our continued growth and success. We are looking forward to be of service to you once again.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Location: Not in core district 1 which is one of the drawbacks, good 15 mins drive through the chaos of the city to reach the happening area. If we knew it was not in core district 1 we would have not have stayed here as its hassling taking a taxi up and down. The hotel address says district 1 but its more towards district 5 rather than 1.
Buffet Breakfast: Good spread with Japanese, Western and Oriental options. We particularly liked the eggs section which included options like Spanish Omelette and Eggs Benedict which we though was pretty rare and impressive. Being a Japanese branded hotel, we expected a wider range of sushi than what was offered, a tray of single type of sushi nestled in the corner of the buffer display. The Vietnamese section could also have been given a bit more importance rather than the noodle soup section which appeared to be on the line of "Pho" but was nowhere close and the insipid looking Banh Mi. In terms of coffee which is Vietnam's staple drink, the probably could look to serve traditional Vietnamese coffee and maybe like to invest in a decent coffee machine to churn out morning espressos and cappuccinos rather than unimpressive self service coffee vending machine.
Common Areas: Particularly liked the interiors of the lobby areas and the color and design maintained throughout the hotel. The swimming is just about average, the hotel should look to redo the pool area. Maybe some landscaping and making the general ambiance much more relaxing and resort like.
Rooms: For us, the bathroom was the highlight equipped with a massive tub, separate shower cubicle and a separate enclosure for the WC. The rooms was particularly spacious and the view was amazing. We were staying in a club deluxe premium rooms on the 22nd floor.
However, we must add that we had to change our rooms from the one which was initially allotted to us as it just did not seem fresh, looked as if it was shut for quite some time. I wish some more time was spent in finishing the hotel with regards to the furniture and fittings. The hinges on doors are already rusted and screw marks in doors should be hidden.
Customer service: Top notch, we had requested for a room upgrade at the time of booking which was considered and we upgraded to the club room. When we complained about the initial room allotted not being up to the mark, the receptionist was more than happy to show 2 alternate rooms and was considerate of our request.
Overall, good property and potentially with some minor improvements can 'goods' the property can outweigh the average location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehulagarwal85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We highly appreciate reading your detailed review about Hotel Nikko Saigon products and services. You comments will help us to improve our weaknesses and maintain our strengths.

We understand that location is one of our guest concerns therefore we are providing complimentary shuttle bus service daily to our staying guests to conveniently access many tourist places in the city center. We hope you can make use of this service next time you visit our hotel.

The egg section is one of the busiest stations in our breakfast buffet at La Brasserie and it’s great to know that you enjoyed it. Our Management has noted for consideration your suggestions about the wider range of sushi, Vietnamese food items and serving Vietnamese coffee directly to diners. Likewise, we also acknowledged your constructive feedback about the landscape of our outdoor swimming pool for future development.

Thank you for your compliments from the room features down to the top notch customer service you experienced. We will all share these inspiring comments with our team members.

Thank you once more for including Hotel Nikko Saigon in your destination of choice and we do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,829 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
884 reviews
1.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#17 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre
Pullman Saigon Centre
#16 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,144 reviews
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Saigon Hotel
InterContinental Saigon Hotel
#8 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silverland Yen Hotel
Silverland Yen Hotel
#7 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Saigon

Address: 235 Nguyen Van Cu, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £76 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nikko Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE STAR RELAXATION IN HO CHI MINH CITY MODERN * STYLISH * SPACIOUS ROOMS * MINIMALIST DESIGN * Known for its High reputation in Staff Excellence. * Just 20 minutes by car from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. * Peaceful location away from the hustle and bustle of the city. * Best Buffet Breakfast serving the widest selection of breakfast food items. * Most talked about La Brasserie Seafood Dinner Buffet offering unlimited huge lobsters, crabs and oysters. * Stunningly Nikko Garden for outdoor social events accommodating 1,200 guests. * Breathtaking Nikko Club Lounge at the 23rd floor providing spectacular view of the city. * Complimentary daily drop off shuttle service to city center main tourist's landmarks. EXQUISITE SERVICE * EPIC FOOD GOURMET * UNITERRUPTED RELAXATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Nikko Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing