We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its in the backpacker area - come on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cappuccino

Cappuccino
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This is another restaurant owned by the same people who own the one located in De Tham street (already on TA).
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Its in the backpacker area - come on!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

quite simply put - its not 5 star - but the staff are friendly unless yer a complete tool - i mean they put up with me - the food its good but simple - yes you could cook better yourself probably on some of the dishes - but its cheap - and it was my breakfast spot for my vacation - the pho is nothing spectacular - the burgers were good, pasta why would you go to vietnam to eat pasta - generally the best italian is in district 1 near the duxton hotel - the orange juice is squeezed right behind the bar - its fresh i had a seed or two - the one on de tham is better - plus its a good place to sit and watch people

basically decent food - cheap price - decent service - and if you can muster up enough social skills to be friendly and have repeat visits the service improves

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank restlesswandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not go here!!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We have just been here and I am dissapointed to say although it was busy we thought we would try some of the food where there was locals eating.
We had veggie and meat spring rolls and there were meat spring rolls on the veggie plate. The meat ones also tasted fishy. We had bruschetta which I could have made better myself.
For mains we had tofu and veg noodles which were plain and greasy, and tofu with lemon grass which was very bland.
To drink we had a glass of sangria which has to be the worst sangria I have ever had-maybe we shouldnt have picked this!
Worst of all I did not feel well after!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claire178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
255 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

After 3 weeks of street food, we really enjoyed the pizza and pasta served here with a cold Tiger or Saigon or 333 Beer.
Nice , simple Italian cuisine.
No problems, quick, polite service
It is directly across the street from a great place for manicures and KaKa Spa where we went daily for back massages, so we ate here twice while waiting for our favorite manicurist and masseuse to become available.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Typam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Had a great meal here - service was excxcellent, lady who enticed us in was very good humoured and friendly - ending up eating there for breakfast too.. Good banana pancakes and a good price too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cookliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEAsia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have found the De Tham place generally better than the Buoi Vien place. Good food, prompt service although the breakfast shift can be a bit hit and miss

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotelmaintenance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cappuccino also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Cappuccino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing