We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Find”

Ba Thien Hau Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.00*
and up
Half-Day Ho Chi Minh City Chinatown Tour by Cyclo
More Info
US$22.00*
and up
Half-Day Ho Chi Minh City Tour
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Mekong Delta River Cruise Including Lunch and Vinh Trang Pagoda
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Interesting Find”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Having a 'free' first day in HCMC, we chose to visit less touristy sites. We were pleased to stumble upon this temple which was completely empty except for one worshiper. We had time to admire the sculptures and details of the building. The incense clouds made our visit even more magical.

If you have the time and energy, I would suggest you visit Chua Ba Thien Hau.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    291
    103
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A smoky place”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Chua Ba Thien Hau temple was very interesting. I had never before visited a Chinese temple and I’m glad I did visit it. I can’t say that the temple was beautiful, but it had a very special atmosphere partly due to the heavy smoke coming from all the praying sticks. The spirals under the roof were said to burn from three months up till one year. It takes long time for your prayer to reach heaven.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,876 reviews
610 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 912 helpful votes
“Beautiful temple in Chinatown”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This place is certainly worth some of your time - assuming you are not already 'templed' out.
The carvings are exquisite - and it is so peaceful compared with the outside.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Definitely worth a look for the fabulous porcelain dioramas around the roofline. Take the time to photograph or take binoculars, so you can see all the amazing details in these figures. The incense coils are also pretty cool!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AussieOy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely little temple”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Most temples in Vietnam are pretty much exactly the same but this is one worth visiting. It's small but the carvings on the roof and outside the temple are wonderful. Visit this charming little place if you've got the time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katbot56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ba Thien Hau Temple also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ba Thien Hau Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing