We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Oasis on the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
An Lam Saigon River
Ranked #11 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little Oasis on the river”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We spent two days, 1 night here at the end of our two week trip to Vietnam. We wanted a retreat where we could relax after a busy trip and An Lam was ideal.

We arrived via speedboat which was easily organised via email and welcomed with a cool towel and refreshing drink. The friendly general manager then explained we had been upgraded to Villa Saigon which we were delighted about.

The villa was spacious with its own pool and views over the river, a real treat.

We spent our days relaxing by the pool and watching the boats pass by on the river. We also had a massage at the spa which was excellent.

We enjoyed two delicious meals at the restaurant, including the best Panna Cotta dessert I've ever eaten.

Yes it is very quiet and outside the city, but if you want some downtime I can't recommend An Lam enough.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennyheartsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anlam S, Manager at An Lam Saigon River, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Jennyheartsfood,

Thank you very much for staying with us at An Lam Saigon River and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I did communicate your comments to all our team. We do hope to welcome you back soon in future.

Best regards, Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    87
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
89
223
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was a holiday within a holiday. We were collected by boat from a restaurant in District 2 and taken to the hotel. We received a great welcome and what a peaceful place the An Lam is. We had a very large suite - accommodating us and our 2 grandchildren. We loved the butler idea and our butler was so helpful. All the staff wanted to be friendly and helpful. Excellent service. The included breakfast was superb (endless!) and we also enjoyed other meals taken.

We saw other guests taking the hotel boat into the city centre which was a great way to travel.

Definitely hope to re-visit.

Room Tip: If it's a family visit ask for the very large room - ?room 3 - upstairs above office
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anlam S, Manager at An Lam Saigon River, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Val S,

Thank you very much for staying with us at An Lam Saigon River and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I did communicate your comments to all our team. We do hope to welcome you back soon in future.

Best regards, Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
252 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We booked our stay through Smith so had very high expectations of An Lam, particularly considering the price of more than US$500 per night.

The property is very well maintained, rooms are spacious and there is a general sense of peace and quiet in the gardens set back from the Saigon river. Despite some fairly industrial boats chugging their way to and from the city day and night, there is little noise from the river.
The speed boat into the city is a great way of avoiding the traffic and the timings work well, unless you plan to eat out in the evenings, in which case a taxi back can be hard work and a 30+ minute journey.
The spa was friendly and with well trained masseurs.

My main gripe with An Lam was that for the price, the service is not up to scratch. The private butler is overkill for a hotel where the reception is a 2 minute walk away. This concept works well on sprawling resorts where you need a buggy to get from your room to the amenities but at An Lam, it resulted in constant questions and interruptions.

The butler wanted to know what we were doing over the 4 day stay from the start. If we mentioned that we might do something at the weekend, instead of offering some useful information, the immediate response was "what time?". As the hotel was very quiet it was unnecessary and felt a little intrusive.

The butler also insisted on escorting us EVERYWHERE in the resort, from room, to spa, to dinner, to boat etc. Given none of these walks were more than 100m, this was really quite annoying. It's obviously part of the training but for guests who are used to staying in top end properties, it's not appropriate.

Food service was generally slow, but tasted good when it arrived. We waited around 45 mins one evening for some desserts to be brought to the room and 30 mins at breakfast for three coffees.

I also felt that the excursion prices were far too high. For three of us to take a speed boat to and from the Chu Chi tunnels, with a private guide for half a day, plus lunch (which wasn't great - boiled veg in stock and grisly pork ribs.....) we paid US$350. If I calculate how much this would have cost on a piece meal basis, including private boat returns it would have been approx US$150. We paid because we were travelling with parents and couldn't be bothered looking around but blatant overcharging smacks of complacency which this hotel can't afford.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Project25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anlam S, Director of Sales at An Lam Saigon River, responded to this review, 30 May 2016
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at An Lam Saigon River and were impressed by the Resort’s services and settings. I trust you had fond memories of your stay in paradise and we look forward to your next arrival.

Warm regards,

Phan Huu Duc
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at this place between the dates of 11th-13th Oct.. The price performance for the service is poor, also they want money for kimono that they didnt find at the room!! .. I never see something like this, also they want us to check to luggages!! It is not a good behave.. Then they want 90 USD for kimono , we dont want to pay something we didnt take or lost then they want 50usd .. also they want money for some little broken ashtray , thanks god we didnt broke any glass or something... Daily price for room is 410USD+++++!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anlam S, Director of Sales at An Lam Saigon River, responded to this review, 30 May 2016
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to share some concerns regarding your recent stay, your comprehensive feedback is much appreciated. At An Lam Saigon River, we do constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations, and it is disappointing to hear that your stay with us was less than perfect. I would very much value the opportunity to speak with you directly about your stay, if you would kindly contact me by emailing rdm.rm@anlam.com

Warm Regards

Phan Huu Duc
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just spent 3 nights here, and was ready to leave after 1. To start, this is a nice little boutique "resort". The villas are clean and nice, but the grounds leave quite a bit to be desired. If this place was 200.00 USD per night, it would be well worth it. Maybe even 250.00. But definitely not 500.00 a night. All staff including the manager were extremely nice and seemed to try, but it largely fell short. Maybe if you are a local Vietnamese, this place is great, but for a Westerner booking into this place from a North American advertisement, it was disappointing. The location on the river is stellar, and if you get the Villa Song, it is quite nice, but again, not worth the money they are charging. I never saw a single villa gate that actually closed and latched. The bathroom door leading to the plunge pool at our Villa either banged into the shower head if pulled inward, or hung up on the decking if opened outward. They advertise complete seclusion and privacy, but that is difficult to deliver when your "villa" has another villa upstairs that looks down on yours, and a meeting area with windows that look directly down on your pool and lounging area, not to mention into your villa if you don't have curtains drawn. The noise from the "villa" above is also overbearing. I always thought a villa was a stand alone structure. Here there are 5 in one building, and they are all called villas. So what was service like? Well again, the staff is all very nice, but this is not a Westerner's resort. I realize I am in Vietnam, and on the street, or at a 50 buck a night place, I wouldn't expect English to be spoken, but at a 500.00 per night (for the cheap seats) resort, I expect at least passable English. There are no English papers or magazines. The staff grasp of the English language is not good at all, except for a couple of people. Instead of saying they don't understand you, they just say that, "no, we don't have that". The first breakfast, we asked for two things on their menu and they didn't have them. Food is passable, but very expensive for what you get compared to local restaurants. Besides the complaint about privacy in the villas, don't expect any from your Butler either. I use the term butler loosely. He is not always available, and the do not disturb on the villa door means nothing to him. He will come and go as he sees fit, walking right through the gate and to the glass enclosed villa. I thought it quite ironic that he walked right through the gate with the do not disturb sign on it, to leave a comment card on our desk in the room. Everything in the resort is severely rationed. I cannot stress enough how frustrating it was trying to get anything. When you order a coffee and ask for sugar, they bring you one. If you ask for more sugar, they bring you one more. What ever happened to a few packets? In the room there is a coffee maker. Very nice touch. 2 packets of sugar. I asked for extra sugar. So they left one more. I told the butler that I would like a bunch more sugar, as I use 2 packets per cup. He brought 1 more. Really? For anyone reading the reviews, mine is an echo of so many others, and even going back a year in the reviews, the complaints are always the same, but the resort is doing nothing to address them. When I complained to the GM, he graciously upgraded me, because I wanted to leave, but that doesn't fix the customer experience problems. Again, nice resort. They try hard, but not for the kind of money they charge. When you spend a certain amount of money, you expect a certain standard. No matter how sincere the staff are, or how hard they try, if the training and caliber are not there, then you can't charge the big bucks. Rooms are worth it. Customer experience absolutely is not.

Room Tip: Villa Song is worth the splurge. Excellent riverside nook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank welllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anlam S, Director of Sales at An Lam Saigon River, responded to this review, 30 May 2016
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to share some concerns regarding your recent stay, your comprehensive feedback is much appreciated. At An Lam Saigon River, we do constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations, and it is disappointing to hear that your stay with us was less than perfect. I would very much value the opportunity to speak with you directly about your stay, if you would kindly contact me by emailing rdm.rm@anlam.com

Warm Regards

Phan Huu Duc
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

An Lam was a wonderful find after living in Ho Chi Minh City for over a year and a half. It was the perfect escape from all of the chaos of life in Ho Chi Minh City. The beauty of An Lam is that it is within driving distance of Ho Chi Minh yet manages to feel like you are miles and miles away from the big city. It is a quiet tranquil place with lovely private villas, wonderful food, and outstanding amenities both in the villas and within the complex.

The staff are highly attentive and their English was excellent by Vietnam standards. The Hotel Manager was accommodating, and obviously had an eye for detail which is a rarity in Vietnam. All areas of An Lam were clean and in good condition.

My husband and I enjoyed the food, especially the breakfasts (the bakery items were second to none). The cuisine was a mix of Vietnamese and Western. We opted for the Vietnamese cuisine and weren't disappointed.

I'd recommend An Lam for a couple who are looking for a 'stay cation' where you can relax in a romantic, private setting and just enjoy the sound of quiet and of course delicious food and drinks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2312Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anlam S, Director of Sales at An Lam Saigon River, responded to this review, 30 May 2016
Dear Karen,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at An Lam Saigon River and were impressed by the Resort’s services and settings. I trust you had fond memories of your stay in paradise and we look forward to your next arrival.

Warm regards,

Phan Huu Duc
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

After an exhausting trip and a horrible business day in Hanoi we arrived completely out of order .... Experiencing an lam was a wonderful recovery and to wake up at the riverside with a breakfast that stands for its own quality we fall in love with that wonderful place the staff was absolutely perfect in service kindly and always on duty for any wish we can just recommend everybody to stay and experience the worm hospitality we will get back defenetly Sylvia

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glentanasylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anlam S, Director of Sales at An Lam Saigon River, responded to this review, 30 May 2016
Dear Glentanasylvia

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at An Lam Saigon River and were impressed by the Resort’s services and settings. I trust you had fond memories of your stay in paradise and we look forward to your next arrival.

Warm regards,

Phan Huu Duc
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
4.5 mi away
Villa Song Saigon
Villa Song Saigon
#2 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
754 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
629 reviews
6.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel des Arts Saigon Mgallery
Hotel des Arts Saigon Mgallery
#8 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,020 reviews
6.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,304 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Lam Saigon River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Lam Saigon River

Property: An Lam Saigon River
Address: 4 21, Trung Street | Vinh Phu ward, Thuan An District, Binh Duong, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — An Lam Saigon River 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and pure, An Lam Saigon River Private Residence is a captivating and exquisite luxury lifestyle boutique hotel. Located on the fringe of Ho Chi Minh City - a 15-minute boat ride from the city's center, the property blends utmost privacy with serenity and exclusivity. The property comprises seven luxurious riverside villas set in vibrant tropical gardens, and offering extraordinary views of the Saigon River. The villas host a total of seventeen guestrooms, each exclusively designed and furnished with its own contemporary identity and with elegant Vietnamese touches. Natural exotic wood floors set the tone where simplicity reigns, with elegant touches defining a sense of place and attention to the smallest of the details, adding to the unique charm of the resort. All villas are equipped with modern amenities that redefine a luxury lifestyle. The villas are designed with large terraces open to breathtaking views of the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your An Lam Saigon River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing