We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommendable as we did not get the room we booked..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Little Saigon Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have been to Vietnam a couple of times now and we know that it's fairly common for some of the more affordable hotels to have rooms without windows. To make sure that we won't end up in one, we booked a deluxe room at this hotel and we were very unpleasantly surprised to find out that our room had been given to another guest who extended his stay.
They tried to get us a room at a different hotel, which was booked out. I book hotels online whenever I can so I have security in my planning and I got very upset to find out that I had to stay in a tiny, dark room without a window very because the hotel management is obviously not capable of planing their room bookings.
I can only recommend to stay somewhere else if you would like to stay in a proper place.

Room Tip: The management did not give us the room we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuhao, Manager at Little Saigon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Writer,

My Biggest Apologies for not providing your desired booked rooms, instead of proposing you to our sister hotel or downgrading your room type with the refund of differences in prices.

I am committed that now we carefully monitor our room type forecast and will promptly act when our any of our room types is sold out and won't this type of issues happened again at our Little hotel.

In any rates ,since you are not satisfied with our services even though we have tried to entertain your stay, but failed in vain. That was still our shortage of services and we sincerely apologize for that we hope you could understand our case and we still look forward to have a another chance to welcome you with us and you will understand how we treat our guests as our friends.

With best regards/ John La - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a terrible experience at the Little Saigon Hotel. We booked a deluxe room for one night and upon arrival we were informed that the room we booked online was not available due to a family extending their stay because of a sick child, and that we would be switched to a standard room and refunded the price difference. I had actually read in previous bad reviews that the hotel had used this sick child excuse before as many other reviews on here had commented that they didn't get the room they booked for whatever reason. I also read in previous reviews that they try to transfer you to their sister hotel which is further away. They are scamming people by overbooking their rooms and moving customers around (either to different rooms that they did not book or to their sister hotel) so beware. We specifically chose the deluxe room because we wanted a decent window in our room. The standard room that they downgraded us to did not have a window and was disgusting. We would've definitely booked another place to stay if we had been informed that they did not have the room available earlier. Their excuse of having a sick family extend their stay didn't match up as they had all day to contact us as we didn't arrive there until 10pm. Very inconsiderate and full of excuses when confronted by all of this.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank almondroka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuhao, Manager at Little Saigon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Almon,

As my earlier responses to your friend Julian that in this case, we have no choice, but look for your sympathy with our situation whereas the child of our in-house guests got a hand-foot-mouth desease with fever, then they can't fly back as the schedule. Understanding this situation, we propose to upgrade you to our sister hotel that is just 400 meter away, also next to Ben Thanh market, but you did not want as you mentioned: "we accept the downgrade to a standard room and being refunded the price difference."

In any rates ,since you are not satisfied with our services even though we have tried to entertain your stay, but failed in vain. That was still our shortage of services and we sincerely apologize for that we hope you could understand our case and we still look forward to have a another chance to welcome you with us and you will understand how we treat our guests as our friends.

With best regards/ John La - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My friend and I checked into the hotel on short notice but were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded upon arrival! The room was immaculate, the bed super comfy, and the shower one of the best I've encountered in months. At the front desk, Lana was extremely kind and helpful and spoke excellent English. Overall this hotel has great value for the price!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megang7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuhao, Manager at Little Saigon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Writer,

BIG thanks for voting us as:" Great location, very comfortable rooms and helpful staff”. Lana and our "little" TEAM feels very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comments on everything during your recent stay with us in this Vibrant City and we can't be complacent, but still have a long way to go and our aim is to make any single guests who select our Little Hotel Chain as home away from home.

We trust that other travelers will find your comments as a good & helpful advises when looking for an affordable accommodation in the very central & convenient location with personalized services.

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,

John La - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The room was 22 m2 on website, but actually it was about half of 22 m2.
I complaint to the hotel, but they had no answer.

Wrong map on the booking web site, in addition, hard to find the hotel.
I dont know it caused by the hotel, but at least I felt no hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mirror12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuhao, Manager at Little Saigon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Writer,

Thank you very much for your constructive comments that gave us a chance to look back at our operational mechanism. Our hotel address: 36 Bis/ 2 Le Loi Boulevard. You just asked the Cab driver to drop you at 36 Le Loi, then you can see our neon sign in front of the alley already.


We really appreciate your constructive feedback and will rectify whatever reasonable you mentioned in order to make our little hotel chain to be the most favorite places for all travellers into Vietnam.

In any rates, since you were not satisfied with us and that was absolutely our lack of service level and we again apolopize for that shortage and hope to have a chance to welcome you & your friends back and you will notice that we do a remarkable improve on our room conditions.

With best regards/ John La - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stay at this place every time that we come into the city. You can't beat the location. The staff are super friendly and we even got a free upgrade for our wedding gift! Thanks guys! The breakfast team is great and the food is just what you need in the hot city. We recommended this hotel for all our friends who came from far and wide to stay here whilst they transited through SGN. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessicaillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuhao, Manager at Little Saigon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Writer,

Our "little" TEAM feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comments on everything during your recent stay with us in this vibrant city.

Yes, our location can't beat as we are the only Hotel located on the Le Loi Boulevard and you can access any key tourist attractions within a walking distances and we are in short alley, therefore, you definitely have a good and sound sleep as It blocks all of the noise from the busy street outside.

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,

John La - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked a deluxe room and when we arrived the staff told us that the room was not available because a couple had a sick child and had to extend their stay. They tried to get us a room at their sister hotel, which was booked out so since it was already late we accept the downgrade to a standard room and being refunded the price difference.

I should've trusted the reviews of previous guests, as it seems the hotel does this repeatedly to get their rooms full. The sick child or person story is obviously a lie as you can find at least 5 people with the same experience here on tripadvisor.
Besides that, 3 points to make my case:
1. They had enough time to contact us and inform us that our room was not available (check-out is at 2, we arrived at 10pm) but they did not.
2. Several deluxe rooms were still available to book online even after we checked in although they were booked out. Confronted with that, the staff said that they cannot take them down directly which is not true.
3.The next morning we met a couple at the lobby who got an upgrade on the same day we arrived because they did not want to stay in a standard room and would have left if they would not have received the deluxe room (there goes our room..)

I spoke to the manager the next morning and he still tried to argue that it was because of the sick child. Very unpleasant experience and can't recommend to anyone.
Yes, we did get a refund for the price difference and a free breakfast but that's not the point.
The standard rooms have no window, are tiny, dirty and run down (see pictures).

Room Tip: go somewhere else, they don't give you the room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank P5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuhao, Manager at Little Saigon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Writer,

It was definitely our mistake not to entertain your desired booked Deluxe room, instead of our Standard one even thought we took the initiative to refund you the difference between 2 room types..

However, in this case, we have no choice, but look for your sympathy with our situation whereas the child of our in-house guests got a hand-foot-mouth desease with fever, then they can't fly back as the schedule. Understanding this situation, we propose to upgrade you to our sister hotel that is just 400 meter away, also next to Ben Thanh market, but you did not want as you mentioned: "we accept the downgrade to a standard room and being refunded the price difference."

In any rates ,since you are not satisfied with our services even though you have not stayed with us yet, that is still our shortage of services and we sincerely apologize for that we hope you could understand our case and we still look forward to have a another chance to welcome you with us and you will understand how we treat our guests as our friends.

With best regards/ John La - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit to Little Saigon, firstly staying in a standard room and this time in a deluxe room with balcony. In a quiet side street you are away from the traffic noise, but within one minutes walk you are on the main road with easy walking distance to fantastic buildings like Notre Dame, Opera House, Diamond Plaza and Ben Thanh Market. The staff are always really friendly and happy to help with any requirements, especially Louis and LaNa. It's so nice to be greeted with a big smile every morning and each time you return. If you are a budget traveller the standard room offers everything you need. However the deluxe room gives you extra comfort, more space and light and complimentary water and international TV. I will definitely be back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Logic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuhao, Manager at Little Saigon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Writer,

BIG thanks for voting us as:"Fantastic Location with Friendly Staff”. Lana & Louis and our "little" TEAM feels very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comments on everything during your recent stay with us in this Vibrant City and we can't be complacent, but still have a long way to go and our aim is to make any single guests who select our Little Hotel Chain as home away from home.

We trust that other travelers will find your comments as a good & helpful advises when looking for an affordable accommodation in the very central & convenient location with personalized services.

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the next three month.

Yours very truly,

John La - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.2 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#23 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
926 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Hotel Saigon
Cinnamon Hotel Saigon
#10 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
764 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#4 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#41 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,737 reviews
0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Saigon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Saigon Boutique Hotel

Address: 36Bis/ 2 Le Loi Street, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 960 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £25 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little Saigon Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Saigon Boutique Hotel is a low rise, contemporary architectural designed building. Located right in the heart of vibrant Saigon - Le Loi Boulevard, next to the TAKA shopping plaza and within easy walking distance to the key attractions of Saigon: Ben Thanh market, the Opera House ect... The little Saigon hotel with 18 elegantly designed rooms with modern facilities and amenities offers guests a refined and relaxing environment for business and leisure travelers alike. The hotel is also ideally located for those who want to experience the city's bustling nightlife, from cheap & cheerful street food vendors to chic cosmopolitan nightclubs and lounge bars and Vietnamese local products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little Saigon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing