We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel close to amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A&EM Phan Boi Chau Hotel
Ranked #337 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel is a budget hotel. It's very close to the night market as it's just right across from it, so at night it gets a noisy. The rooms are clean but small compared to others in the same class nearby. The breakfast is just average and everyday they don't change the menu. The internet is average but when you try to do skype voice or video it gets choppy. It's easy to access major amenities and get transport from this hotel. So if you are just looking for a place to sleep and won't spend too much time in the hotel and you have a tight budget then this hotel is ok but if you are looking for more comforts, good breakfast and speedy internet then its best you find other accomodations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristan_Anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is very near to all attractions in District 1. At night, you can just go down to explore the night market. During the day, just cross the street to reach Ben Thanh Market. Just a 5 minute walk and you will reach Saigon Square.

Service is okay. No problem when we were there. Rooms and bathrooms are clean.

One concern is air condition, it takes time for the air condition to cool the room during the day especially if you are booked on rooms with windows but at night it's okay. I suggest a stronger air condition.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrs425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I booked this hotel 10 months before the date we required, when we arrived a 6pm we were told that they did not have any rooms and were moving us across the city to another of their hotels, no email was sent to let us know of the change beforehand, we were moved to another hotel where the rooms smelled of smoke and I had to request another room only to be greeted by loud music coming from another guests room all night. Next day we had to wait until12noon to be moved back to the first hotel we booked, to promised upgrades but this did not happen either. When we went to make a cup of coffee we had no cups in our room when we mentioned this to the front desk we were told they we had to ring for cups they only supplied coffee and a kettle not the cups. Breakfast was not worth getting out of bed for and as for customer service there was none. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone it was a disaster from start to finish and we were not the only people moved on this date. Do not even consider this place it is the worst hotel I have every had dealings with.

Room Tip: don,t book at this hotel go else where for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vickyb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Still quite new, very nice hotel. The staff were alright with us all check in and out was no mess. The food was fine the location was near the market so it has got that going for it. The rooms were excellent, just as we imaged.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faustin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A very good hotel, located 10 meters from Ben Than market. Walking distance to most other sights of Ho Chi Minh city. We chose an executive room (VIP 5), which suited us excellent as we were 2 adults and 1 child. For 15 USD extra, we also inserted an extra bed. There is also a very good wireless internet in the room. The hotel has a nice little beer garden at the front door. Here you can feel the real Saigons vibrant life, right in front of Ben Than market. Be careful of the many bike taxis outside the hotel. Remember to agree prices in advance.

Room Tip: Choose a VIP room. Its almost the same price as a standard double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lasse Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We'd booked for 6 nights but checked out after 1. Yes rooms are very small 4 meters by 4 meters. No window, reception staff who are abrupt and don't smile. ok I knew all these things going in. It was the small bugs all over the room, the water leak in the bathroom and the very thin walls and noisy co- guests that sent us running .... To another hotel.

I very highly recommend you give this place a big miss!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We fortunately only stayed for one night in this hotel. If we had booked more than one night, we would have left it earlier.
In the chintzy furnitured room we found ants, a big spider in the bed and a cockroach in the bathroom... Last but not least, we shared breakfast (which was inacceptable anyway) with a rat running through the breakfastroom. The staff seemed to be familiar with that. Moreover nobody asked us, if everything was allright - obviously for a reason. Never experienced that unfriendly staff in Asia.

We would never stay here again! An effrontery for 80 US Dollars per night!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaLa_Dus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
A&EM Corner Saigon Hotel
A&EM Corner Saigon Hotel
#122 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#47 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#55 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
A & Em III Hotel
A & Em III Hotel
#381 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anpha Boutique Hotel
Anpha Boutique Hotel
#32 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngan Ha Hotel
Ngan Ha Hotel
#272 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&EM Phan Boi Chau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&EM Phan Boi Chau Hotel

Address: 44 Phan Boi Chau | BenThanh Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £36 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A&EM Phan Boi Chau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from the famous Ben Thanh Market, this 51 room 3-star hotel is an ideal place to get around the city. The hotel features a Lamenda Café as well as a Violet Spa for your relaxation needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your A&EM Phan Boi Chau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing