We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
Ranked #170 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expected more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Even though this hotel is cheap the way its presented we expected a bit more.
Firstly we booked a twin room and when we arrived it was a double, they told us they would seperate them the next day so we just dealt with it. The next day came and they didn't seperate the beds. Luckily it was quite a big bed so me and my friend didn't have to see each other.

The room overlooked the busy main road and it wasnt too noisy. The room was quite nice and clean.

We booked with them to visit the Cu Chi Tunnels. The lady told us we would be picked up at 8am from reception. At 7.30am we got a phone call telling us our bus was waiting outside for us and we had ten minutes to get ready. We quickly rushed as we were not ready and headed for the lobby, the man on reception had no clue and wasnt the one who called us. At 8.25am we finally got picked up along with another guest so god knows why someone rang us to tell us we were late. This wasn't the only phonecall of the stay. The next day reception rang us at 11.30 asking when we were checking out, even though checkout is at 12 and we were literally on our way downstairs we felt like they couldn't wait to be rid of us.

Breakfast is in the hotel next door and on the 10th floor. Bit of a weird layout.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amylil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    83
    49
    16
    15
See reviews for
11
77
72
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Beware which Bizu hotel you book. We thought we were in the other one and had an OMG moment when the taxi pulled up outside...!

This one is located opposite and next to two of the biggest and loudest bars in District 1, great if you want late nights of loud music and the hassle of people on the street constantly offering you drugs.

No Way is it a 'Business Hotel' as they describe themselves, unless you're talking about the 'other' sort of business that goes on in some of the local bars.

The first room we were given was small and windowless. We moved because the gap between the door and frame meant you could open it with a business card. Unfortunately my whole backpack wouldn't fit in the safe, which they suggested I use, which wasn't even attached to the wall. The second room was on a low floor at the back, away from the street noise but still pounding to heavy bass from the bar downstairs until 2am. It was clean enough, but could do with freshening up a bit.

Breakfast was disappointing and the top floor dining room hot and dirty. Cheap enough for partying backpackers but there's much, much better not very far away.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StevePies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed there for three nights. Though it is a small hotel, but the service was beyond expectation. The people there showed dedication towards their job well! Downside of it, located in the bustling area, it was pretty noisy at night, thankfully we were on the seventh level, hence it was not that bad. The room was a decent one, we've got all the amenities we need. Good job to Julie and her wonderful colleagues :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norrohani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights whilst visiting Ho Chi Minh City. The location is great, right in the middle of the backpacker district with a huge amount of places around to eat and drink at.

In addition you can walk to most attractions (market, museum, cathedral etc) from the hotel. The map they give you is brilliant, at first glance I thought it wouldn't be possible but all roads were signposted and we felt very safe walking around.

The room we had was great, the room was big with two large windows on both sides, a bath and two beds! In addition to A/C, safe, TV and wifi. You are in the middle of a city so yes there is noise but we were on the fifth floor with two windows facing the street and it still didn't stop us sleeping!

The staff were really friendly and helped us out with getting to places and booking stuff. One of the guys rushed to open the door for us every time we walked in or out!

Overall a great hotel in a great city, would definitely recommend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstyJosh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is my second time staying in this hotel. Booking was so convenient as I only need to email them directly and they replied quickly too confirming my dates of stay. They throw-in discounts on the rates which made me feel valued as a returning guest. Truly a value for money. They even accomodated our requests that we will be checking-out late and we were given a very fair rate. I feel like I was coming back home away from home. The staffs are very welcoming. Got my old room just like last time as it was located at the back so we will have a sound sleep, away from noise coming from the surrounding bars. Thanks again guys, Julie, Annie & Andy and bizu staffs for making our stay felt like home again. We'll keep on coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deehkooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Great location. Wonderful and helpful staff. Hope to come back soon. The staff always smile and ready to help. Even at night they are always alert. My mate had a small run in with some people at the pub outside but their staff stepped in and sorted it out.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank mdmuneerkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

...and here's why:
Location - The hotel is perfectly situated in the back packer district and area is super friendly/supportive to tourists while still immersed in local culture. If you've got a good set of feet you can walk to most of the popular attractions and area is safe. In addition, most tour buses meet about 300 meters from the Hotel...can't beat that!

Value - Price is fine

Service - Excellent and very helpful to visitors

Condition/hotel style - Hotel is typical of what you'll find around the city, not a Hilton® or Marriott® but adequate, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast - Good

Suggestions -
1) The hotel offers tours through a travel agent that had poor ratings here on Tripadvisor® so I choose another called "Vinaday" and was happy but there are TONS of them in the area so.
2) DO NOT book a tour till you get here! I was going to book trips before I arrived and the agent wanted $250 (USD) for 3 days of tours, booked them here for $25 (USD)!!
3) There are small gift shops right down the street that have MUCH better prices than the famed "Ben Thanh Market" of course selection at the market is staggering but if you want simple stuff like tee shirts, magnets and stuff like that just shop near the hotel.
4) Last suggestion...right near the hotel there are two bars. may I strongly suggest sitting with a beverage of your choice and simple watching street traffic...mesmerizing!

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms 201/301/401/501/601/701 They face the street and all-night bars and are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AKcharger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#174 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nguyen Khang Hotel
Nguyen Khang Hotel
#123 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#155 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kim Hotel
Kim Hotel
#128 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#110 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.2 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#92 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)

Property: DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
Address: 183 De Tham | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam (Formerly DDA Hotel District 1)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU) 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near tourist attractions such as Ben Thanh Market, HCMC Central Post Office, Reunification Palace, Municipal Theater Saigon Opera House and The Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral. It’s suitable for either leisure travelers or business travelers who wish to stay in the most convenient location.Located right in the heart of the tourist area - the intersection of the famous De Tham, and Bui Vien street, the hotel offer great convenience for tour booking, shopping, eating, drinking , spa, massages , and nightlife entertainment. Name it, you mostly may have it just out side the hotel door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing