We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
Ranked #17 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Rye, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“just a great hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Spent a week in Saigon at the Sofitel, the room was clean and well appointed.
The food could not be faulted. Breakfast selection was amazing, and evening meal options just great.
Well located hotel, easy walk to most of the must see sights.
Roof top pool was clean and well organized.
Can't recommend enough.
A must stay for location, comfort and value for money.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that your week long stay with us was enjoyable and confortable and that our food beverage offers met your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

With our thanks and best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
Directeur General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,165
    604
    178
    34
    16
See reviews for
266
900
104
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Location is very convenient, short walk to the cathedral, zoo, war museum & shopping centers. Hotel staff were all more than helpful & accommodating. Truly a 5 star experience with the best breakfasts I have ever had, including choice of eggs, smoked fish, pho, sushi, all sorts of fruit at their peak of ripeness. Room was more than comfortable, although a little on the small side. Excellent bathroom with robes & just about anything you might need. Quite expensive, but you more than get what you pay for. I will certainly return look forward to staying there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussy-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us from the scumptiousness of our buffet breakfast to the friendliness of our Ambassadors and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
153 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 607 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Before choosing this hotel when I was planning some days in Saigon, I was impressed by the fact that the management was looking so attentive in replying to the reviews.
This is a point to which I always pay attention because it is a clear sign of caring towards the clients.
The good impression has been confirmed.
First of all, the position, just in front of the American Consulate, is perfect because all the main attractions are in a short walking range.
The entrance of the hotel is stunning, with a delicious perfume of jasmines.
When I arrived, at around 20.00 in the evening, I noticed one of the manager that was discretly in the hall taking a look to everything around.
I have years of experiences in hotels around the whole world and this is a thing that deserves a bonus point.
Our room was a superior, that is to say a standard one with a better name, but it was wide, with a beautiful bathroom and all the amenities that you can need, included toothbrushes with Colgate toothpaste and Lanvin products.
The furniture is nicely modern with touches of violet, black, grey and white.
Tv has a wide choice of international channels and there is also the DVD reader.
Complimentary bottles of water are added every day.
Breakfast is sumptuos. You can find really everything, included every kind of fresh juices. Waiters are incredibly attentive, asking you every minute if you need something and changing cutlery at every use.
Some other confirmation of excellence: we had a problem with the bathtub and the reception sent the plumber in charge in literally five minutes.
The day of the check out we asked for a late one and they immediately accorded us an extension at 14.00. As it was not fitting with our needings, they gave us the use of the Gym facilities before leaving at 15.30.
Now some thumb down.
As written also in other reviews, wifi is not the best one. It is often slow and, above all, you need to write the password every couple of minutes of not browsing. Moreover you are allowed to connect only two devices at a time per room.
At the evening turndown, the little macarons (always appreciated in other Sofitel hotels) have been brought only the first evening (why?). On the other side, few minutes after the arrival, the housekeeping knocked at our door with a nice teddy bear gift for my kid of 6 (a deep touch of class).
There aren't umbrellas in the room (and in Saigon is often raining) and you need to ask for those at the reception desk everytime.
Last, the light system in the room is well working and of clear use (and everyone that use to stay in hotels like this one knows that sometimes they are really a riddle) but is inexplicable and bothersome that the control panel is only in one side of the bed so you have to surf in the bed to the other side to manage it if you stay at the opposite edge.
In brief, it is almost the perfection, with very few steps to check to cut away the "almost".

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank micius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that, as a seasonned traveller, you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and our care towards our guests. We have also taken good notes of your few 'thumb down' comments.

We offer internet speed of 1 MB per second, which is one of the highest available in hotels in town and indeed it allows 2 devices per room. We will investigate the issue of unstable logging as this should not happen, unless you had more than two devices in use at the same time.

In order to avoid monotony, we provide macarons on the first turndown service and change the amenity on the following nights.

We are working on the other points you mentioned to improve our guests' experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back on your next trip to Vietnam.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langnau im Emmental, Switzerland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Sofitel Saigon Plaza is located on a tree-lined Boulevard, within walking distance to shopping malls, different kinds of restaurants and cafés. Their service is on an expert level, rooms are large and comfortable. We experienced a friendly service by the staff at all levels and services.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhPSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel conveniently located and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here on a recent family holiday of Vietnam. The hotel is in a great location, with just a short walk to many of the sights of Ho Chi Minh City. The staff of the hotel were lovely and friendly and very helpful. The room was extremely clean, although on the slightly smaller side in terms of size compared to other rooms we have had in Vietnam. We didn't dine in any of the restaurants but did sample the scrumptious delights of the 'Pink' Afternoon Tea, definitely worth a peek though if you'd rather not give your body a sugar overload! All in all, a wonderful stay. Thank You Sofitel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheCheRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thanks for chosing Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the friendliness of our staff and our facilities to the Pink Affair afternoon tea. Indeed a bit of a sugar overload but, once in awhile, such a nice indulgence...

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
200 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights. Was good value compared to some of the other options, upgraded and used the lounge area which was very nice. Gym also quite adequate for a hotel gym (bench/free weights/dumbbells etc). No area for squatting though. Pool upstairs on 18th floor with a good view and breakfast also had sufficient choice and taste. Checked out some of the other hotels in the city for their bars and was glad I stayed in the Sofitel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelJT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read that you found the hotel convenient and of good value. As you seem to be an avid user of hotel gyms, please note that squat exercises can be done in the exercise class room whenever this room is not in use for yoga, step or other classes.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon on your next visit to Saigon.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

It values its price. This hotel is managed to the minimum details. From the entrance door, to bars and restaurants, as well as the spa and pool it shows to be taken care in all details. The rooms standing purple colours represent the cozyness viet with lots of confort. The staff are well trained and friendly, the bar always offers nice gatherings and good drinks, besides the afternoon delicious buffee. The restaurants serve well prepared and exquisity vietnamese foods, without mentioning the well served wide breakfast with lots of choices, lunch and dinner buffees of meat and sea food along the most delicious desserts. Trips can be organized from the local tourism agency inside of the hotel. Downdown and sightseeings are walking distance from the hotel. It is a must when staying in Ho Shi Min.

Room Tip: Os andares mais altos fazem parte da classe business que lhe da acesso ao business club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your commetns on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the care extended during your stay with us. We do look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre
Pullman Saigon Centre
#12 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#14 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Saigon Hotel
InterContinental Saigon Hotel
#7 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Saigon Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Saigon Plaza

Property: Sofitel Saigon Plaza
Address: 17 Le Duan Boulevard | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Saigon Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Saigon Plaza is located on peaceful tree-lined Le Duan Boulevard just a moment from the city's commercial centre with it's fabulous shopping dining and landmark attractions like Notre Dame Cathedral and Reunification Palace. Newly renovated rooms and suites offer guests contemporary 5-star hotel style with a blend of modern French design and Vietnamese influences. Each room features spacious elegance while the Imperial Suite is the largest in Saigon. Situated in the business district and offering a full range of expert services the hotel is ideal for business as well as leisure travellers to Ho Chi Minh. It's conference facilities make it a preferred host for Magnifique weddings and events. Experience the French art de vivre the best of Ho Chi Minh City and gracious 5-star hotel service at Sofitel Saigon Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Saigon Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Saigon Plaza Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Sofitel Hotel Plaza Saigon
Sofitel Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing