We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #25 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights on a stopover. Staff were amazing. Brekkie was good lots of choice. Room was clean & light but you have to step into bath for shower. Lounge bar was great for per dinner drinks. Pool was nice & had swim up bar. Good value for money

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yggiuq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

The staff service was excellent and able to communicate well in English.Room condition are well kept n clean during my 3 nights stay.Have a great gym n nice swimming pool.The only issue is located in District 5 which is a bit far off the commercial/tourist spot ( District 1 ).Choice of food for breakfast can be further improved.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samtantc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at Equatorial Hotel for 3 nights under a big group travel. The rooms are nice and comfortable. Some of my friends who went to the gym were impressed with the set up. The pool is reasonable big and we can see people swimming in there most of the time. Due to the size of our group, the Hotel has arranged the breakfast for us in the Ballroom. It was efficient and food was good. Waiters and waitresses were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcloke6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Being received well at reception sets the tone for a place. As a result things at the Equatorial looked good right from the start. Everyone, including the gentleman who greeted us at the international airport, seemed to be on a mission to promote tourism in Vietnam – it certainly worked.
Three day two night late March 2014 stay and we decided to upgrade to Club status; certainly recommended.
Club was definitely the way to go. Rooms very nicely appointed, Club desk service efficient and courteous, breakfast area quiet and the variety of food to suit most tastes on top of which there were the evening nibbles and drinkee-poos. Most pleasant after a busy day in the outdoors.
Good pool area with the same excellent service at the swim-up bar.
Don’t be put off by the Equatorial not being in district one; it is only a ten minutes cab ride out of central Ho Chi Min City. The service and quality of this hotel certainly makes up for this.
Recommend that the Equatorial is certainly worth considering if you prefer good service, pleasant ambiance and value for money.

Room Tip: Worthwhile upgrading to Club status.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Recently had 3 nights at Hotel Equatorial - 2 as part of deals.com and another prior to that as flight to HCM had been cancelled by Vietnam Airlines necessitating a change. We were able to stay in the same room and that was no bother to the staff. The included transfer to and from the airport went without a hitch. The staff were attentive at all times.

The pool was very refreshing after a hot and humid day out with plenty of lounges around the pool and an extra little seating area to the side serviced by the bar at the pool. (This is also a swim up bar). The guy serving was terrific and remembered our room numbers each day for charging.

The complimentary wifi was a bonus, but we did have to change our password after each 24 hours. The restaurant had a good selection of western and asian dishes both for breakfast and either buffet or a la carte for dinner.

From our room we had a terrific view of the thousands of motor bikes coming down the road and this was picturesque in the evenings. To try and cross at roundabouts was a non-event, and forget pedestrian crossings as they don't mean a thing. But to cross roads, we picked our moments and it was fun.

The hotel shuttle into the centre was a very good service. Check out the Post Office as it is a beautiful building. We also had cocktails at the rooftop bar Saigon, Saigon at the Caravelle Hotel which is right near the shuttle drop off. We had been planning on going there but had no idea how we would find it, but pleasantly surprised when we saw the hotel by accident.

The area near the hotel is interesting to walk around and perhaps have a cold drink, though lacking shops if this is what you are after. The tour desk is in the lobby and we booked a trip to Long Tan with them and Loi was a very good guide.

We had to leave credit cards for pre-authority and then paid cash, and the hotel immediately refunded the amount to the credit card.

It was a very good hotel, just a little out of the main area, but this was not a problem for us and we would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sa2vicfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is my third hotel in Vietnam, and a pattern is starting to develop. This hotel has a 5* rating from the Vietnam government, but is in reality a top end 3* or bottom end 4*.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, but a little small and basic for a 5* hotel. Bed was super king size, and comfortable, and the room was kept perfectly clean. The decor was tired (another common feature in Vietnam, it would seem), and the bathroom really needed a refit. There is a shower over the bath rather than a separate shower - a personal bugbear.

There is an a excellent swimming pool with bar and enough sun beds. I did not visit the fitness centre or spa so cannot comment on those.

The public areas are mixed. There is a very nice lounge bar, which has clearly recently been refurbished. However it opens out on three sides to the foyer which, like the rooms, is tired, and a little disorganised with several desks in different corners of the foyer. Also when the lounge has a band (every Thursday, Fri and Sat) the sound reverberates through the foyer, meaning it is impossible to find a quiet public area.

Breakfast was disappointing. The range was OK, but on one of our three days, there was no western style hot food, and on the other two it was of such poor quality to be uneatable. The range of fruits and pastries was OK, but nothing special and overall breakfast fell well short of that expected in an international hotel.

The service varied depending on how busy it was. On the first morning, coffee was filled up after every sip, and once when I moved a side plate from my left side to right, a waitress jumped in and immediately put it back on the other side. Yet on our last morning, getting coffee refills was very difficult, and a number of food items (cereals, juices) ran out and were not refilled.

The hotel is located some distance from the centre. The area seemed perfectly safe, but other than a supermarket about 500 yards away, there is nothing there for the tourist or business visitor. It is also impossible, even if you wanted to, to walk into the centre as several complex roundabouts are impossible to cross on foot. That leaves guests reliant on taxis or the hotel's complimentary shuttle. It is efficient, and the driver's helpful and friendly, but it only runs very two hours and the last one leaves from the city at 2030.

Grading the hotel is difficult. It is a clean, comfortable hotel, and were it graded 3* I would have no problem with it. However, the location, tired decor and variable service let it down. I seriously considered only awarding it 3, but it is better than that. It therefore, just, gets a 4.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Equatorial, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Sir:

Thank you sharing your feedback.

While we are glad to note that your stay was generally positive, your observations about our breakfast offering is of concern. The comments we typically receive (such as those posted around the time of your feedback) tend to be more favourable. Nonetheless, if there were some specific breakfast items/dishes that you had expected, please feel free to share them with us at info@hcm.equatorial.com.

Thank you once again,

Siegfried Steindl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Great pool area. Breakfast was very good with great choices. We were told that it was 6 star I don't agree with that but overall great place to stay. Not situated in the tourist district, but taxi are cheap and the hotel runs a shuttle bus, so not too many problems getting around.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#30 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,735 reviews
1 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#33 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
679 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#20 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Windsor Plaza Hotel
Windsor Plaza Hotel
#48 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
994 reviews
2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,742 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silverland Yen Hotel
Silverland Yen Hotel
#10 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Address: 242 Tran Binh Trong | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#16 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £63 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star business hotel is centrally located between the waterfront and Cholon (Chinatown) and is only 20 minutes to the airport. 10-minute's drive from the hotel is the city's major commercial, financial centres, shopping strips, recreational parks and night spots. The newly refurbished rooms are elegantly designed and tastefully furnished, providing guests with contemporary surroundings and comforts. Facilities include 7 outlets, a business centre, meeting and function rooms and a comprehensive fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho Chi Minh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing