We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #26 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Wonderful hotel - staff are very friendly and attentive. Pool was lovely - great to have a pool bar just to relax at. Pick-up at airport was another great plus for us - considering we were late arriving and the driver had to wait over an hour for us. The breakfast was lovely - one of the best buffet breakfasts we have had whilst travelling Vietnam. I would strongly recommend staying here just for the luxurious atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Equatorial, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hi Debbie H,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the swimming pool, airport pick-up service, and our breakfast buffet. Our staff would be very honored by your kind words about the friendly and attentive customer service you received, especially with regard to pick-up service.

We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with other travelers. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel some day in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Siegfried Steindl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    439
    102
    32
    9
See reviews for
148
516
47
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowen, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

From the very warm welcome by Reception Staff to the wonderful service provided by all staff within this Hotel you will feel very comfortable at this Hotel. The area where you can wait after checking out is comfortable and inviting. Really enjoyed the massage we had. The bus to take you to various venues is clean and the driver most willing to stop at any place he was asked. We needed to send letters home and were taken by a staff member to the local post office to do this. The food was excellent and there was plenty of choices from which you could select your meals.

Room Tip: All rooms are very spacious and reasonably quiet. We chose on the south so we could overlook the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menzies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Equatorial, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hi Menzies B,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review.

We are thrilled to learn that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed your room, our lobby, complimentary shuttle bus, and supporting service provided by our Concierge staff. It is also glad to hear that you had a great experience in massage at our Equinox Fitness and Leisure Center, and dinning at our Chit Chat @ the Cafe for breakfast. Our staff is truly honored by your kind words about the wonderful service you received throughout your stay.

We appreciate you recommending our hotel as well as your room tips to other travelers, and we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Once again, thank you.

Siegfried Steindl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We are currently completing our 2 week stay at Hotel Equatorial and I am so pleased with my whole experience. The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly, the porters are the most attentive porters i have ever experienced, the pool is sparkly clean, the buffet breakfast is always fresh, and even after 14 days I am still excited to go down and have a look at what they've got.
The spa on level 3 is greatly professional - you even get to choose the scent of your oils!.

Unfortunately during our stay I experienced a violent case of gastro (NOT FROM THIS HOTEL) and needed to be taken to the hospital during the night. Mr Pham Nguyen Minh Tri was the Front Office Manager that night and he handled everything ever so professionally, from calling the taxi and hospital to sending me a get well letter the next day. The staff here truly care about their guests and how to improve their stay.

Oh and this hotel is in a perfect location. It's right on the brim of district 1 and 5 so even if you want to stay in district 1 but want a little peace and quiet (as much quiet as you can get in Ho Chi Minh City!) this is in perfect location. They also provide a free (yes free!) shuttle bus multiple times a day that takes you into district 1 so that you can explore and be touristy.
Also, the hotels water is fully filtered, meaning that during your stay you can relax and know that the water you consume and bathe in is clean.

I am so glad I chose Hotel Equatorial and cannot thank Pham and his team enough for the excellent work they do. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: We had a room on level 7 facing away from the busy street to minimise noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shayleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Possibly the best breakfast we have had!
Plus hotel is really great with all the latest décor/facilities.
good walk to downtown, which is chaotic with motorscooters= an experience and a half!!
Staff happy, friendly and very helpful , as in all Vietnam = why we keep returning.!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I was a little worried about staying here after reading some of the reviews but to be honest I don't know WHAT they were going on about. We were picked up from the airport in very flash BMW and had cold water waiting for us in the car. From the moment we arrived at hotel equatorial the service has been absolutely fantastic. The porter took us up to our room and showed us how to use the air conditioning, lights and safe. The room was very well appointed and clean. The beds and pillows were comfy and the fridge was cold. We were jetlagged from a long flight so we just went to level 2 to the Orientica restaurant which was beautiful. The service was excellent and the food was tasty and reasonably priced. The pool and swim up bar on level 4 is lovely and a nice temperature. The buffet breakfast at chit chat cafe included in our package was nothing short of astounding. So much variety and good service also. The staff at the bar on lobby level were very friendly and the drinks were good. All in all I was very impressed and wish I had more than 2 nights here. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights after 5 weeks travelling in Europe. Ho Chi Minh City is a very busy place so it was nice to be able to retreat, chill and have some much needed R&R, we had everything we needed in this hotel.

Reception & concierge were very helpful & professional, giving good tourist information.

Cocktails & eating at all of their restaurants were very nice and reasonably priced.

Enjoyed the pool and swim up bar, their Mojito (long glass) was well balanced, refreshing and the best :)

We also made the most of the in house spa, having the house massages each day to work out all the aches and pains of our travels :)

Only negative - you can't easily walk around this area, however it is easy to take a taxi they only call reputable for you from the hotel (make sure you take a reputable one particularly on you way back to the hotel - the green, yellow or Vinasun (White) so you don't get ripped off - you should not have to pay more than 50,000 Dong to get around the central District 1)

Enjoyed our stay here, and this will be our choice whenever in HCMC in the future.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Whilst located a short distance from the city centre, this was a marvellous place to spend our 3 days in Ho Chi Minh City. Staff who remember your name and room number. Vouchers for dining and massage discounts during your stay. Well appointed rooms. Large pool with swim up bar and happy hour. Excellent buffet breakfast with Asian and Western options. Free city shuttle to access the main local attractions. Service excellence.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BelindaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#25 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#34 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
#11 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Property: Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Address: 242 Tran Binh Trong | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#39 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star business hotel is centrally located between the waterfront and Cholon (Chinatown) and is only 20 minutes to the airport. 10-minute's drive from the hotel is the city's major commercial, financial centres, shopping strips, recreational parks and night spots. The newly refurbished rooms are elegantly designed and tastefully furnished, providing guests with contemporary surroundings and comforts. Facilities include 7 outlets, a business centre, meeting and function rooms and a comprehensive fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho Chi Minh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing