We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental Saigon
Nearby Hotels
Blue Diamond Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$50
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$56
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sanouva Saigon Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$54
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Majestic Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$151
US$115
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Windsor Plaza Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$103
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New World Saigon Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$196
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$137
US$111
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sofitel Saigon Plaza(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$165
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Duc Vuong Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$39
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,453)
Filter reviews
1,454 results
Traveller rating
427
612
276
83
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
612
276
83
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgraham greeneopera houseoldest hotelfrangipani treeshistorical hotelcentral courtyardold damerooms are hugeclassic hotelsitting areaan updatefirst floorcolonial stylejunior suitelocation is fantasticgrand hoteldong khoi street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
614 - 619 of 1,454 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Good hotel in a Fantastic location.

Hotel rooms are dated and in need of an overhaul.
AC was terrible and very noisy.
Breakfast was terrible. Probably the worst we had through Vietnam.
Do NOT use their Airport Transfer. We got in late and didn't want to have to stuff around but for $39USD It was by far the most expensive on our trip and wasn't anything fancy. Get a taxi voucher from inside the Airport. About $8 i think to District 1.

Staff seemed to be not that interested.? Didn't really feel like they wanted you there. We overheard another couple saying the same thing.

Tips.

Around the corner across the Park Hyatt is a couple of very nice restaurants in the old Opium Factory.
1. Blanchy Street
2. Hoa Tuc

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ZZZ1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We arrived late March at 3AM from Hong Kong for a check in later that day. Since they had no available rooms they quickly called a neighboring hotel one block away and promptly delivered our bags for our short overnight stay. We completed our check in later that afternoon and found the room to be spacious and beautifully furnished with flat screen TV with CNN, CNBC and BBC. The included breakfast was sumptuous featuring American as well as Asian. The hotel service and location was outstanding. The oldest hotel in Saigon featured beautiful old wood interior and was across the street from the Opera House. Many excellent restaurants were near by and a short walk to the huge market. We would definately recommend Hotel Continental as an excellent value without the hoards of tourists.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank untied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Really good location, nice hotel, super large room, staff were good, breakfast was good for Asia. Spa was disappointing. Our room on the 1st floor was very noisy though, music from the bar downstairs and from the road, they should invest in some double/triple glazing. Babysitting service the most expensive I have encountered since being in Asia $15/hour.

Room Tip: We got the "brighter" rooms as we live in Asia but perhaps the "darker" AKA cheaper rooms are less noisy if they dont face out onto the street?
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is the second time we have been at this hotel, we find this hotel meet all our needs. Breakfast could not be better there was everything that you needed, you could enjoy this meal in a beautiful airconned room or in a wonderful garden outside setting. Don't expect a modern hotel as this goes back to the colonial days of 1890 and has that beautiful charm about it we recommend to everybody. We will stay here again on our next visit, almost forgot ten out of ten for all the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: room facing the town hall
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t0macti0ndivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the Continental Hotel for 2 days en route to Siem Reap.
Although an old hotel, it was convenient, comfortable and the service just excellent.
Breakfasts were great - and the staff in the restaurant for breakfast were first class.
We even bought from the shops in the hotel inner mall. Good value and again professional and honest service.
Whereas there are more modern hotels in Saigon - this is a gem. Location is probably its key feature, together with genuine service and old world charm.

Room Tip: Go and explore the local area - local restaurants are good and shopping, if astutely conducted, is also good. Crossing the roads is a challenge. Just wait for the break and go for it!! We would recommend all tours are with a recognised guide service. The costs are not high but the experience and knowledge are invaluable.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews