We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional, historic & impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Saigon
Ranked #67 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 25 June 2014

French inspired with a great location... I was impressed by it's long standing history & it's collection of antiques (though minimal), it shows how well they cared for their establishment especially the Frangipani trees in their relaxing courtyard, it still stands now, beautifully since 1880...well that's impressive! We booked in a junior suite & upon check-in they presented us with an upgrade to a premier suite, making us feel like we deserve nothing less. On my books that's another plus point for this hotel! Both their junior & premier suites are big, spacious, airy and it comes with a sitting area & a balcony that gave us a view of the beautiful opera house just across the street & a mini park. From the doorman, security, reception, bellhop, waiting staff & housekeeping, their service was superb! To the point of perfection actually... like everything was aimed just to please us and make our stay truly enjoyable & memorable. Well, it was that alright! Our trip was semi-business con pleasure and about 30 something boxes were delivered to us in the hotel which I requested to be sent up to our room, they instead offered to safe keep it in one of their conference rooms so that our room is left spacious for us to have maximum comfort. Wonderful! Saigon's Notre Dame basilica, Municipal hall, Post Office, Reunification Palace, Ben Thanh market, Saigon River, malls, shops, cafes & restaurants are all just a walk away. I love this traditional old-fashioned hotel and I highly recommend it for a great stay.

Room Tip: Junior and premier suites has sitting rooms & balconies that gives you a view of the Opera house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAndrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Over 100 years old , The continental is a beautiful low rise and high ceilings hotel with huge room sizes( imagine 2 times the size of a normal hotel room ). Many rooms face the opera house which is an equally charming building from the same period. Residents enjoy a discount on tickets for the opera.Centrally located in the heart of the city , which has lovely parks and is within a few minutes from several attractions. We stayed here 2 nights and 3 adults were very comfortable in a triple room. Service was good and the hotel facilities were clean.

Room Tip: ask fro a room overlooking the opera house.. you may have to pay a bit more but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akka29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great location! Everything is walkable from here. HCMC's oldest hotel certainly looks impressive, nostalgic and romantic from the outside and our suite was large with small Juliet balcony overlooking the opera house. It seemingly had original fixtures and fittings in the rooms that gave it a real sense of the history that we had been hoping for. Breakfast was quite good, with nice selection of fruits and buffet style hot dishes. That is about all the positive things I have to say about this hotel. We arrived at 11.15pm on a Friday to a very frosty reception, not welcoming at all. We asked if there was a bar in the hotel that was open where we could get a nightcap. We were laughed at as they told us no, all bars are closed. We made do with a beer from our room minibar. During our stay of 3 nights, there were weddings on both the Saturday and Sunday (to be expected I guess) but this meant the attractive courtyard area where you'd go for coffee or a cocktail, was out of bounds for hotel guests and no other alternative was suggested. Not only that but the music that was played for these weddings was beyond loud. I can not express in words how loud it was. We had chosen to have hotel spa treatments one afternoon which was in a windowless room close to the courtyard. The volume of the music was so loud that the massage beds were vibrating, we could not hear what the therapists were saying and at one point I actually put my hands over my ears because the music was deafening. Totally unnecessary. The spa itself was not great. The changing room was a small open space for men and women to share in a through room from the reception to the treatment room so staff (men and women) were constantly passing through. There was one corner with a shower curtain hanging from the ceiling so my husband and I got changed behind there! Delightful! This is also where the jacuzzi was situated, not particularly relaxing. The other hotel bar that we were forced to use since the court yard was closed to hotel guests, was soulless and empty on the 2 occasions we went there. It attempted to play upbeat music but this was just drowned out by the blaring wedding party music again from the courtyard leaving a headache inducing mix of different types of music competing for airspace. Also, when asked for the bill the barman asked me to go back to the spa to sign the bill as this was apparently the only room on the floor with payment facilities. Ingenious! On our first day we approached the travel desk to ask if they had a map of the local area as we were heading out to explore. Upon asking my question I was snarled at and rudely told no we don't have maps here, ask at reception. How silly of me to think that a travel desk would have a map of HCMC! We wanted to love this hotel because of its history but unfortunately, overall we would not recommend this hotel and we will not be returning. The location is excellent and the hotel is beautiful from the outside and full of history and nostalgia but the service and facilities fall very very short. There are other historic hotels in equally excellent locations such as The Rex hotel where we will probably stay on our next visit.

Room Tip: make sure your room does not overlook the courtyard incase there is a wedding and/or very loud music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JoGarethB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I got a good bargain for a room here, and was so happy to be in the heart of Saigon, close to my favourite cafes and shops. I travel regularly to Saigon, and this will be my hotel of choice from now on. It's a little old fashioned and agree that the decor in the rooms could be upgraded, but obviously this would impact on the price - so I think the management are making a wise choice in leaving it as is... A good mid-range option. The courtyard is a lovely place to sit for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mungo3068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is the oldest hotel in Saigon/ Ho Chi Minh City and while it has retained its charm and beauty, it has not lost it's style and comfort. The service is top rate and the rooms are large, clean and most if not all rooms have a great view, mine was of the Opera House. The restaurants are exceptional with a great selection of Western and Vietnamese foods. The location of this hotel is central city, District 1, which allows for easy access to the markets, sky deck, bars and shopping. If you are happy with the price then you will not regret staying at this hotel.

Nothing more to say, simply brilliant...............

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Its clear this was once a very lovely hotel. The front desk area is pretty good. The rooms are a bit dingy though. The corridors leading up to the rooms on all floors are dark and not very clean. My room was musty and not that comfortable. the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic. Needs a serious upgrade to catch up

Room Tip: Just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chisanga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel right in the heart of Saigon. Very near shopping, tourist bazaars, transportation and fine dining. The hotel was being refurbished while we were there and the rooms were very large and spacious. They have a top notch breakfast included and a good restaurant for the evenings. Staff was very helpful. Would definitely stay there again. I was there for two full weeks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#41 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#22 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#44 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#30 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Saigon

Address: 132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#45 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £69 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing