We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental Saigon
Nearby Hotels
Blue Diamond Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$50
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$56
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nikko Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$135
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Majestic Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$151
US$115
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Windsor Plaza Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$103
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New World Saigon Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$196
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$138
US$110
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$88
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Song Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$153
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,454)
Filter reviews
1,454 results
Traveller rating
427
612
276
83
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
612
276
83
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgraham greeneopera houseoldest hotelfrangipani treeshistorical hotelcentral courtyardold damerooms are hugeclassic hotelsitting areaan updatefirst floorcolonial stylejunior suitelocation is fantasticgrand hoteldong khoi street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
580 - 585 of 1,454 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

She may be the Grand Old Dame of Saigon but she aint what she used to be....

The history and architecture of the hotel is the essence of old Saigon and a far cry from the modern city that is now Ho Chi Minh although the hotel has some modern features.

The restaurants serve qeeuality food but at a price that would make a local cringe.

Rooms are very ordinary and like other reviewers found the hallways dark and dingy and the electricity supply intermittent.

About the only good thing I can say about the hotel is its location in the very heart of District 1.

I won't be returning to this hotel. (Check out my review of nearby Liberty Central Riverside)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Cwyattx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had no idea what to expect as the reviews were quite good, but found an extremely average hotel for our first visit to Ho Chi Minh . We had a suite that overlooked the opera house with a balcony which was nice, but also extremely noisy. The smell upon entering the room was damp & that lovely carpet smell that you get when it should have been replaced last century. The bathroom was small (tiny) and old. The reception service was poor to the point where we thought that we were annoying them just by checking in. The service in the restaurant in the morning was excellent, almost to the point of being ridiculous. We were a group of three but the tables were only set up for two or four so this was an extremely difficult task for them each morning to set another place. When we booked this hotel we also added extras, eg a massage at the hotel, which we had paid for previously, but trying to explain that it had already been paid for even with a receipt was another difficult task. We were also located above the courtyard where they have weddings on weekends..yay for us no sleep. Overall it was a little faulty towers ish. Strangest part as we were leaving at 5am for our flight to hanoi the reception man was basically slapping the doorman to wake him up to open the door for us, as he was sleeping, he then put on his shoes & socks so he could open the door for us... We were saying its ok don't worry.... Very strange. Great location that would be the only good response I'd have.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank map44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The rooms oozes of old colonial charm, high cielings, spacious rooms, french balcionies, if your room faces the opera house, which is preferred. The bathroom in my suite was a bit run down but it was functional. Beds are big and comfy. breakfask in the courtyard is great, superb coffee, by the way. The only drawback was that the hotel had problem with the creditcard connection, nearly missed our flight, even though we tried to check out 4 hours before our flight. Had to call the bank so the hotel were sure to get paid, not a very nice ending to a lovely stay. It should not be a guests problem if the hotel has a problem with their payment terminal, as they do sweep your card upon check-in. Otherwise all good, and I recommend this place. PS we just got in time foe our flight.

Room Tip: book a room or suite that faces the opera house
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plummer074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beside opera house, I am feel good when I saw the classic room! my room have street view, when you stand in the balcony you can see the opera house and the room is high ceiling very comfortable, you can have the nice breakfast in courtyard, everything is relax, but do not go to the hotel massage, the massage is really bad.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for a week here again.
The suite we had was wonderful and spacious and clean.
Had a huge bath and whole area was huge and the beds so comfortable.The breakfast is good and in a well lit and spacious room. You may eat outside too,in a court-yard.
Service is good and informative.
Opera house is over the road and has shows to go to and are very good.
All shopping is close by and plenty of food places too.
Market is just 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: rooms over looking the square.Opera house lovely to look at.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews