We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to stay in ho chi minh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Saigon
Ranked #70 of 459 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location with all the main sites in walking distance. Breakfast was excellent, a great range of food served in a pleasant area of the hotel.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Rooms are not ultra modern but they are fitting to the style of the hotel. Our room had a balcony a great view of the opera house. If you want a new modern hotel that could be anywhere in the world then dont stay here. If you want a hotel with character then I dont think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Junior suite was worth the extra money. If you have a view of the opera house be prepared for some s...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank himandherwarriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Continental Saigon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Hotel Continental has a unique old world charm. There is a lot of atmosphere and ambience.
The room prices are very good for this type of hotel. They serve a fantastic breakfast with a huge choice. The manager overseeing the breakfast was very helpful and welcoming. It is a real haven from the bustle that is Saigon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank katie459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

She may be the Grand Old Dame of Saigon but she aint what she used to be....

The history and architecture of the hotel is the essence of old Saigon and a far cry from the modern city that is now Ho Chi Minh although the hotel has some modern features.

The restaurants serve qeeuality food but at a price that would make a local cringe.

Rooms are very ordinary and like other reviewers found the hallways dark and dingy and the electricity supply intermittent.

About the only good thing I can say about the hotel is its location in the very heart of District 1.

I won't be returning to this hotel. (Check out my review of nearby Liberty Central Riverside)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Cwyattx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had no idea what to expect as the reviews were quite good, but found an extremely average hotel for our first visit to Ho Chi Minh . We had a suite that overlooked the opera house with a balcony which was nice, but also extremely noisy. The smell upon entering the room was damp & that lovely carpet smell that you get when it should have been replaced last century. The bathroom was small (tiny) and old. The reception service was poor to the point where we thought that we were annoying them just by checking in. The service in the restaurant in the morning was excellent, almost to the point of being ridiculous. We were a group of three but the tables were only set up for two or four so this was an extremely difficult task for them each morning to set another place. When we booked this hotel we also added extras, eg a massage at the hotel, which we had paid for previously, but trying to explain that it had already been paid for even with a receipt was another difficult task. We were also located above the courtyard where they have weddings on weekends..yay for us no sleep. Overall it was a little faulty towers ish. Strangest part as we were leaving at 5am for our flight to hanoi the reception man was basically slapping the doorman to wake him up to open the door for us, as he was sleeping, he then put on his shoes & socks so he could open the door for us... We were saying its ok don't worry.... Very strange. Great location that would be the only good response I'd have.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank map44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The rooms oozes of old colonial charm, high cielings, spacious rooms, french balcionies, if your room faces the opera house, which is preferred. The bathroom in my suite was a bit run down but it was functional. Beds are big and comfy. breakfask in the courtyard is great, superb coffee, by the way. The only drawback was that the hotel had problem with the creditcard connection, nearly missed our flight, even though we tried to check out 4 hours before our flight. Had to call the bank so the hotel were sure to get paid, not a very nice ending to a lovely stay. It should not be a guests problem if the hotel has a problem with their payment terminal, as they do sweep your card upon check-in. Otherwise all good, and I recommend this place. PS we just got in time foe our flight.

Room Tip: book a room or suite that faces the opera house
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plummer074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beside opera house, I am feel good when I saw the classic room! my room have street view, when you stand in the balcony you can see the opera house and the room is high ceiling very comfortable, you can have the nice breakfast in courtyard, everything is relax, but do not go to the hotel massage, the massage is really bad.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for a week here again.
The suite we had was wonderful and spacious and clean.
Had a huge bath and whole area was huge and the beds so comfortable.The breakfast is good and in a well lit and spacious room. You may eat outside too,in a court-yard.
Service is good and informative.
Opera house is over the road and has shows to go to and are very good.
All shopping is close by and plenty of food places too.
Market is just 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: rooms over looking the square.Opera house lovely to look at.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#44 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#55 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#45 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#17 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#21 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Saigon

Address: 132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#55 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £57 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing