We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Continental Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Continental Saigon
Ranked #67 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good, but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

I was hoping for a bit of an old world/colonial vibe when I made my reservations, and in that respect, I wasn't disappointed. The Continental has history in spades, and you can feel it in most of the rooms, which isn't always a good thing. We stayed here as one of the legs on our honeymoon, and the first room they put us in, though very large and spacious, only had two single beds. The staff helpfully gave us a room with a larger bed upon my request, and I think we ended up in the best room in the hotel. Everything was freshly redone, with new carpets and furnishings. The beds were a bit firm, but I think that's the expectation here in Vietnam, but everything else was great. The reason I have given the rooms such a low rating is that the first room we were in, along with other rooms that I saw the staff cleaning, were much older, with aged carpeting, and less nice furnishings. In addition, the water pressure in our room was pretty weak.
As for the staff, they were relatively helpful, but nothing to write home about. The wifi internet was pretty inconsistent in our room, and though they said they'd send somebody to take a look, that never happened. Room service was also pretty slow, but I don't order it often at hotels, so I have less to compare it to.
The complimentary breakfast was okay, but unimpressive. The coffee, in particular, was terrible, which was a real shame, given the generally excellent coffee available everywhere else in Ho Chi Minh City. The courtyard where they serve the breakfast is absolutely beautiful, though.
In the end, I think anybody that stays here should be reasonably well satisfied, as long as they know what the hotel offers. It's not a modern five star that many westerners might expect, but it's also filled with history and beautiful rooms. Not every hotel has twelve foot ceilings (my guess), after all.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddubbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    532
    246
    73
    49
See reviews for
196
479
127
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

This really is a lovely hotel, if you like ultra modern hip hotels, this is not the place for you.

Our room opened out onto the courtyard which was lovely however we got twin beds and not the double we requested. On our last night there was a function in the courtyard , it was very noise but entertainment finished up before 10pm which was great not so good if you have children or were anticipating an early night.

Maid service great. Carpet in room could benefit from being replaced as there were numerous stains. Very spacious and comfortable room.

Breakfast very nice with courteous staff. Gym was small but more than adequate and never busy,I had it all to myself when working out. Would imagine it would not be very pleasant if more than 2 users present.Free wifi and access to printers. Could smell smoke at times in hotel which was unpleasant, also huge ashtrays located in numerous areas which only promotes/encourages smoking in corridors - attempts should be made to curtail smoking to designated rooms.

Very convenient location. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeve2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

Very charming, well presented, well located, friendly staff. It's facilities such as bar, gym could have been a little better.
Great comfortable rooms, not bad for the price. A nice pool would just complete it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mozeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

In the heart of downtown HCMC, is the impressive Continental, just across the street from the gorgeous Opera House. The staff was not overly-friendly, but very accommodating. We were shown to our room which was a huge room with an adjacent sitting room and I saw two twin beds instead of one queen or king. We said that that was not ok, and they immediately found us a comparable room to our satisfaction.
The daily buffet breakfast was terrific and you can eat inside or out in the courtyard.
Beware....the beds are very very firm.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryourinosensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed here on our last night in Saigon to catch up on sleep prior to the long flight back to the UK. The hotel is in a great location for shopping and sightseeing and the rooms are huge and very comfortable - but don't stay here if you want any sleep! In addition to the wedding party noise in the early evening, we were woken by a loudspeaker playing marching songs at 5.00am right outside our window - it was so bad it was almost comical. When we phoned down to reception to complain, we were told that this was a communist 'celebration' which would continue for approximately one hour. There is absolutely no way anyone could have slept through this and we spent the next day exhausted. The hotel was, however, helpful in trying to make amends and allowed us a late check out at 4.00pm the following day.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

I choose this hotel for its location near shopping and restaurants in the Dong Khoi area. At $90/night, it is on the pricier side, but other hotels were fully booked. The check-in was friendly and efficient. My room face the courtyard. The room is nice, although it could do with some lighting upgrades. Even with all six lights turned on, it still seemed dark. The main light is a sad little flourescent light on the very tall ceiling. The main problem was the nightly wedding parties. Every night at 5pm the sound check would begin and the noise would not stop until well after 9pm. At least it didn't go too late, but at $90/night I expect a quiet room ALL the time. It is not that difficult to install sound proof windows. The chairs in the business center are pathetic and sink to the lowest level when you sit in them. This is something easy and affordable to upgrade, but apparently alludes the management. The free in-room wifi did not work and my computer could not connect. This was the first of any hotel or airport wifi where I could not connect. Their solution? "You can check internet outside." Thanks, but not exactly what I was paying for. You can do better with much cheaper hotels nearby or pay extra and upgrade to a well-run, international standard hotel. The breakfast buffet was quite good and eating in the courtyard was a pleasure - awful coffee, though.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

Our family stayed here for four days over New Year and it is a wonderful old colonial hotel full of charm. Rooms are large and bathrooms, wile not state of the art, are adequate will plenty of hot water. On arrival we were shown a very dingy small internal room with a window looking onto a corridor. We expressed our disappointment to management as this was definitely not what we had paid for. Thankfully we were transferred to an outside room of a decent size otherwise I think we would have left.
The location is great for all the night life, near to the hotels with terrace bars ( this doesn't have a decent bar) and in good walking distance to the top tourists attractions.
Definitely would stay again but would insist on an outside room on the second or third floor.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nix47_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#12 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#47 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Ho...
#45 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Saigon

Property: Hotel Continental Saigon
Address: 132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#55 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Continental Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing