We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money in central location”
Review of Oscar Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Ranked #159 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Good location, nice room, ours had a window but many don't, with very good breakfasts. Staff very helpful and gave late check out to suit our schedule.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

Reception staff are rude and dismissive whenever you ask a simplistic question, lack customer service skills as do restaurant staff ( cashier) upstairs, by 8.30 am they don't bother refill the tea or coffee jugs, replace empty fruit trays or provide glasses for juice. Booking agent downstairs is never willing to go the extra mile to assist in services... Your on your own. And be wary of taxi services in front of the hotel even when asking them 4 times to switch the meter on they still pretend not to understand..

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiviaAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Good location-easy to go shopping, eating. When u tired after shopping, you can go back and relax easily. The room was clean and big. The breakfast buffet was wonderful but when you are late to enjoy your breakfast, you'll miss some dishes...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meeeeeeei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We arrived in the Hotel to be greeted by wonderful and friendly staff who swooped out bags from the taxi for us.
We stayed in the 'cosy' room, however we found this a little TOO cosy for us, with the room having no windows! (However what else can you expect in central Saigon?!)
Apart from that small road bump, (causing a strange feeling of not knowing whether you were waking up in the day or night, to sun or a rainstorm!) it was a wonderful hotel.
The aircon in the lobby is sure to knock you off your feet though after a long day in the Saigon heat!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MakenzieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Good hotel, with amazing breakfast buffet. the hotel is a 4star hotel and as you would expect clean and well managed.

the con for us was that there was no window in our room so we felt cramped and claustrophobic. we also booked this hotel because of the picture the hotel had on the Agoda and trip advisor website with the gym facilities, they looked liked top quality equipment in a big room, when we got there the gym room was smaller than the bathroom with equipment dating to the 1950s !!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcello S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Spent 6 nights in Nov 10 at the Oscar.
Hotel is located in District 1 and in close proximity to city centre.
True 3 star hotel, reception good and staff helpful and friendly.
Rooms somewhat compact but clean and well maintained.
Breakfast served on 11th floor and has a good variety on offer.
15 minute walk to city markets which are large and have a well configured layout.
Central to most large Dept stores and across the street opposite the Rex Hotel is the Tax Dept Store which has supermarket on 1st or 2nd floor.
Good Restuarants in area and we particularly enjoyed Restaurant 19, 19 Ngo Duc Ke for Vietnamese food and also Pomodoro Italian Restaurant 79 Hal Ba Trung. Both within easy walking distance of hotel.
Tip:
Visit Tara & Kys Art Gallery 101 Dong Khoi for interesting paintings and a large collection for sale of greeting cards.
Have a drink at Rex Hotel garden lounge or Caravelle sky bar.

Room Tip: Front of hotel rooms have a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soapy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Considering this hotel's price, it was fantastic value for money: great location, spacious room, pleasant & helpful staff. The only downside was our room with no window. When we asked to change rooms, they said we'd have to pay an extra $20 per night!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsi_Tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#123 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
528 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#100 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#63 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#105 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#160 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#51 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Saigon Hotel

Address: 68A Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £30 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oscar Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscar Saigon
Oscar Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing