We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
Review of Oscar Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Ranked #186 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

It is worth choosing this hotel. Walking distance to Benh Ten Market and saigon square. The bad experience is that the lift is so small can only fit 6 passenger without luggage. We choose this hotel with the recommendation from the internet. We travel to HoChiMinh City in a big group of 42 pax (Company Trip). Keep it up with the cleanliness of the hotel.

Room Tip: Very good selection on breakfast buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlancyLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    198
    139
    48
    19
See reviews for
50
154
48
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely place , but a mad lady goes around in a pink and white dress asking for one dollar . Staff are lovely plenty of smiles breakfast is only on till 930 which is too early . Area is great for nite life

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SineadKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

After reading awful things about this hotel my self , daughter and two friends were dreading our two nights here but it was fine its a fab location and give your self 24 hours to adjust to the crazy busy town and you will start to love it . You get what u pay for the room was a good size the bathroom large and clean the staff a little stern but a smile goes a long way and the people are very impressed if u learn a few simple Vietnamese words like thank you . The breakfast on the tenth floor is fabulous and the lifts are fine . Some people moan far to much

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa12359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Have stayed in many hotels and this is NOT a 4* the room was clean but the DELUX i think they had forgotten to give us!!, the view was of a roof and occasionally a man clearing the gutters inches from the room.
The dinning room was awful, one of the worse i have encountered, we had a fly in our tea, the eggs were only BIN worthy, the tables and chairs grubby. Music was piped in the hall ALL night.
Reception staff smiled alot but did not understand us, i know we are lazy and do not learn their language, but even basic english limited.

ALSO BEWARE whilst in the city. NOTHING to do with the hotel, i was mugged by one of the many moped riders, he ripped my gold chain off my neck, so be aware. Vietnam is not on my return list unfortuneately,,,,,,,,,,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights . I really think its luck of the draw when it comes to the rooms.( I know some guests who were not that lucky , some rooms don't have windows.)
Ours was quite a large room, very clean , comfy bed. The bathroom was also very good both a bath tub and shower.a large window looking out over the blvd.
This hotel is in a great location. Very close to all the main attractions and shops. Can't comment about the breakfast as we didn't go there .

Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were booked in for three nights but left after one and booked in elsewhere. The room was supposed to be deluxe, BUT we had NO WINDOW!, and therefore felt that we were consigned to a dimly lit cupboard! It was noisy all day and all night, the piped music in the corridors can be heard in the rooms, the bed was dreadfully uncomfortable, in fact I have slept better on the plane! The shower was little more than a dribble and was hot and cold in bursts. The breakfast was truly appalling, to boot. We were offered an upgrade and a street view but our experience was so bad I could not spend another minute here and would advise everyone to book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Just don't go here at all but if you must at least demand a window - although other guests at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I was all set to give the Oscar Saigon an excellent review - it's in a fantastic location and is good value for money. Initially, the only downsides were that breakfast is only served to 9.30am (even on a weekend), and despite booking a room with a 'city view' we had a very small window looking straight onto a neighbouring building, so very little light. Wifi was also intermittent.

However, after checking out happily, we left our luggage with the hotel for the day, as our flight was not until the evening. We were given tags, and saw our luggage being put in a left luggage room, so felt reassured it would be safe. But on returning, I was initially given the wrong bag twice, and then when I finally got my bag I realised my ipad was missing.

The hotel were extremely unhelpful, denying any responsibility, and refusing to help in calling the police so I could file a report (I was very polite and did not suggest any blame lay with the hotel, explaining I just wanted a report for my insurance claim.) Eventually, after I said I would call the police myself, the night manager appeared to call them, and directed us to the local station. However, he told us we should not say the ipad went missing at the hotel, as this would cause him problems! The police were similarly unhelpful and refused to file a report - presumably either we needed to bribe them, or the hotel had already bribed them not to!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#153 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#101 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#119 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#57 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#108 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#48 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Saigon Hotel

Property: Oscar Saigon Hotel
Address: 68A Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oscar Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscar Saigon
Oscar Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing