We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand!”
Review of Grand Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saigon
Ranked #44 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We liked this hotel very much - it is conveniently located easy access to the shops, the Ben Thanh Market and several good spas. The My Spa which is top on Trip Advisor list is just 5 minutes by foot. I would go along with all the nice things said about this Spa by other who visited the place. The hotel overlooks the river – it is beautiful in the night with barges and boats all lit up. You can take a cruise on the river for about 25 USD. There were a few hiccups - not major but a trifle irritating: - the wifi was not very good. Worked only inside the toilet!! This was the only place in Vietnam where we experienced poor connectivity. The other problem was that the fridge was just not cooling and had to be replaced. The hotel staff was quick with the replacement. Apart from that it was a nice comfortable hotel and I would probably go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chitranganie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,488 - 1,494 of 2,286 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

A great hotel in a great location. The staff were wondefrul and could not do enough for us. The room was large and very very nice with one the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in ..... My 9 year daughter loved the pool as did I love the pool bar.... great stay would go back .........

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gkegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

very good location close to the river ,to other great historic hotels (Majestic, Continental, Rex) to shopping area and Market. From the hotel you can walk as well to the cathedral and the Post Office.
We were in the new wing, room average; must be better in the old wing. The piscine is nice and take a drink on the rooftop with view on the river was great.

The staff is average, the breakfast average (for example : as the staff does not speak english I got a teapot only the third day! and with a Lipton yellow bag!; allways something missing; staff work as civil servants.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cachoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights in March after doing a Geckos Tour around Vietnam and we wanted a little bit of luxury at the end. We checked in and let me just say, the lobby and the outside of the hotel is stunning and has a real old world charm.
Check in was smooth and everyone from the doormen to the reception staff to the porters were all lovely and friendly.
Our room was in the newer wing and overlooked a side street but it was fine. The room was large and spacious and the bathroom was huge with a bath/shower and a separate shower.
The beds - amazing! The pillows and the beds themselves were so comfortable I swear it was the best bed I had in the entire time I was in Vietnam.
Location is good as well as it is in the more upmarket part of Saigon near the river. There were plenty of shops, cafes, restaurants close by and the markets were about 5 mins walk.

Breakfast was fine, plenty of choice but like all breakfasts in Vietnam, it isn't a huge choice. The rooftop bar is lovely and we had the BBQ dinner on our last night. There was plenty of food and wines included which we sipped as we checked out the view at night.

I loved this hotel and if I am in Saigon again I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank convict79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had rooms in the old wing - 201 and 201a. Spacious, clean, large additional lounge/dining room. Staff were great, breakfast also quite good. Booked a half day city tour at the tour desk - that went well too. Room service was prompt. Dinner on the 20th floor was also a really good experience. The Grand could compete in the 4 to 5 star category in any major city in the world.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Enjoyed the stay and wIll be a great hotel in time as still undergoing some fit out works. Really didn't impact us in any major way though. As a result of expansion and refurbishment seems staff may be recent hires, inexperienced but tried hard to please. English speakers limited, tour desk the exception, great breakfast buffet, pool area and roof top bar were good, gym looks ok but machines need to be hooked up properly, excellent location. Overall doubt we saw at its best, but was good value and would stay again as expect it would improve over time.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My mum, sister and I stayed here for 3 nights in April. The room was very big (in the old wing) and e sitting room was very good. The pool was also very nice. But, the service from the hotel staff was not good. We paid for a triple room and had to contact housekeeping each day for extra coffee cups, front desk could not help with any of our basic queries and didn't seem to want to help, the cost of the airport pick up is 5 times that of a taxi and we were squeezed into the back seat as their was a hotel staff member in the front seat, they priced a private tour of the chu chi tunnels as triple the cost of other places. I think there are much better priced options in HCMC.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#39 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#22 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,743 reviews
0.8 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#55 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saigon

Address: 8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#22 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#28 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#34 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £81 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Hotel Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing