We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saigon
Ranked #38 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Stalowa Wola, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great hotel. Room was ready for early check in. Especially the spa is truely amazing providing great customer service! I cannot fault this spa, its lovely and calming as soon as you walk in through the doors. The staff were all very friendly and our hour long Vietnamese massage was extremely relaxing. A full consultation was carried out before and after the massage to help with reducing pain/knots from my work environment eg. sitting at a desk.
The spa was spotless and facilities excellent; we arrived 30 minutes earlier to ensure we could make full use of the jacuzzi, experience shower, steam room and sauna and glad we did - we could have spent much longer!
I highly recommend the spa - you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sells a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    865
    304
    92
    46
See reviews for
376
933
112
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The rooms are lovely and the hotel is in a great central location. Being upgraded to a suite was a lovely surprise, as the hotel was undergoing renovations. The downside of this was that being on the 19th floor, under the rooftop bar, we were kept awake whilst they rearranged the furniture till gone midnight each evening once the bar closed, scraping tables across the parquet floor above.
Unfortunately the reception team really let the side down, as from the outset, we found the team to be unhelpful. Initially our bags were left unattended in reception by one of the bellboys, and none of the staff knew that they were ours, to ensure they got to our room. In the end we took them up ourselves and no one even spotted that they'd gone!
Later that afternoon we came down to change some money from USD to local currency and were told that they had very little currency. We only wanted to change a small amount, so said that wasn't a problem, at which point the story changed to they have no currency. As there are bars, a cafe & a casino in the hotel which are all open to non residents, I find it difficult to believe that they had no cash! They didn't suggest any alternative places until we spoke with the senior receptionist. Appalling, as we could possibly have come straight from the airport with no currency until 8am the next morning when they planned to change our currency!
When we tried to change remaining Vietnamese dong back into another currency at the end of our stay they were equally unhelpful, stating that they wouldn't change it back. The reception staff's standard of English was poor which we found strange as this was one of the largest hotels of the 7 we stayed in during our trip.
When we got to our room, there was a fruit knife, plates and a sign saying "with compliments" but alas the promised fruit basket had not been delivered.
The pool area looks great, but the tiled surfaces appear to have been covered over with a selection of random loose tiles which are very slippery & frankly it looks like a v shoddy bit of work, none of the new tiles are cemented down, they're all just loose. Towels by the pool area were old ones that had obviously had a former life in the hair salon, as they had bleach spots all over, v shabby.
Overall, the room we had was lovely, but I wouldn't recommend staying here, as as the service was poor & reception staff were uninterested in bring helpful!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidaygal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapa, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at the Grand hotel for two nights at the beginning of our trip around Vietnam. We arrived early and were allowed to check in to our deluxe double with no issues, they even upgraded us to larger room with a view of the river on the 10th floor even though we had booked the least expensive room. The room and bathroom are spacious and very quiet. Fresh fruit and bottle water in the room is a lovely touch the hotel is well maintained. There is an excellent buffet breakfast with options to cater for every taste and culture, the best we had in our two week stay in Vietnam. We loved the egg station! The reception staff, especially the porters are very polite, helpful and friendly. Staff are busy here because this is a popular hotel but nothing was too much trouble for them. The courtyard pool and bar is a peaceful relaxing space when you need a break from the horn honking HCMC streets. The courtyard is surrounded by trees and plants and feels like an oasis. The location is also perfect. Many of the more expensive hotels are closer to the main square but this means they are also on louder, more busy streets. The Grand hotel is a 10 minute walk away from the main sights and it was perfect being closer to the river.
We were so impressed with the hotel that after staying for two nights we booked our final night in a deluxe double room, two weeks later at the Grand hotel. This was the best decision we made as when we returned two weeks later they again upgraded us, but this time to the royal suite on the 19th floor!! The suite had it's own lounge and bedroom and two bathrooms and the best view of the city. We felt very welcomed and looked after at the Grand hotel and would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone staying in HCMC. Did I also mention that they squeezed me in to have my nails painted in the salon with no appointment... perfect service and amazing service.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Very satisfied with my stay in this hotel. The rooms are very cozy and comfortable. Location is great. Close to Ban Thanh Market and many restaurants around hotel. Must visit the Sky deck at the new Bitexco Financial tower which is within walking distance from hotel, the view of the city from there is simply amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubuNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Very nice and spacious room, travelled with a friend and the single beds are huge! Hotel is very central and within walking distance to restaurants, bars, PO, markets and the river.
Only 2 things worth mentioning that we were unhappy with - wifi was virtually unaccessible in our room (8th floor), and during peak times, there were not available tables for breakfast. That was hard when you had a tour booked and could not wait for a table. Coffee was dreadful, undrinkable, but we are from Australia and maybe we are just not used to it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We had a delightful stay at the grand. On arrival we were allowed an early check in and the room was spacious and comfortable. We had a nice view out over the city and noise was not intrusive.

The staff were courteous and helpful and we had no problems with them.


The breakfast buffet has lots of choice from cereals to Asian to a chef who will cook an omelette to order while you watch. There is masses if choice but this does mean those masses of choices don't change much every day. I found this to be the same in most hotels and don't see why others on here complain.

The rooftop bar is lovely (but not that cheap) and the food was good. They also have live music here from time to time.

The pool isn't massive but it's nice (apart from the pebbles round it - bring flip flops) and there is a bar and food so you can loaf/lounge by the pool as you wish.

The hotel and facilities were sl spotlessly clean and the decor dies hark back wonderfully to the colonial era. There is air con everywhere - thank god- and it's well located for most local attractions and some good restaurants (do try Ciao Bella on Dong Du less than 5 mins on foot).

All in all a touch of colonial elegance in downtown Ho Chi Minh City.

Aye lad it's grand!!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Individual_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calpe, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Grand Hotel in Saigon (as the locals call it) is centrally located and easy for sightseeing. We stayed here for 2 nights before embarking on a Mekong River cruise and found no faults at all including the best spring rolls ever (according to my husband) in the roof top bar of the Hotel - and it was happy hour!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calpechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#13 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#47 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saig...
#32 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saigon

Property: Grand Hotel Saigon
Address: 8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#22 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#29 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#35 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Hotel Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing