We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of old Vietnam - loved it!”
Review of Grand Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saigon
Ranked #41 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A taste of old Vietnam - loved it!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Hotel in an excellent location on the river. Easily walkable to the local attractions. We didn't venture out on our own during the night but felt very safe during the day.

Hotel is a lovely traditional building with many of the original features maintained. Different to staying in your bog standard modern hotel. The room felt luxurious, lots of space, with balcony doors, and an old telephone thrown in to match the era. Complimentary tropical fruit left in the room. Breakfast buffet was a great variety of tasty treats on a lovely roof top terrace too.

The service from the staff was impeccable! Turned out in traditional Vietnamese dress, it was a real novelty to see. I could get used to being referred to as "Madame Jennifer" by the staff, a nice personal touch. Despite other reviewers complaining about the lack of western staff, you don't travel to the Far East if that's the case. The staff spoke very good English and we didn't experience any language barriers whilst being there.

The organised tours were outstanding for the money. The tours desk is conveniently located in the hotel reception. We did the trip to the cu chi tunnels, Mekong delta, city tour,and evening tour to see water puppets and later had diner on river cruise. All chauffeured round in an air conditioned Mercedes with copious amounts of bottled water provided. English speaking tour guide was fantastic.

Lovely outdoor swimming pool in the centre of the hotel. We also had a full body massage which was a steal for the price. It's not everyday you get a Vietnamese person walking on your back!

Overall an amazing experience!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenpen1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngoc L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Jenpen 1987,

We are very proud of our staff and it is always rewarding to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am thrilled that you were happy with the service and felt that no request was too much trouble. The staffs like to ensure our guests are happy and have everything they want during their time with us. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the team.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Grand hotel Saigon.

Kind regards,




Jacqueline Ly
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    876
    305
    93
    46
See reviews for
381
939
113
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent, steps from the Opera House, bars, restaurants etc... However, the overall service is not up to a 4* quality. The hotel is fully asian, and there is no western staff. This results in a lack of language knowledge and in some basic practices that should be standard in a property of such level. Reception staff are good and helpful, but they seem to be the only ones with an OK knowledge of the English language. The waiter at the pool bar seemed to know only a few English words, which made getting some answers impossible. But the biggest issue I had at this hotel was with the cleaning personnel: incredibly noisy, banging their metal cart all the time, talking on their walkie talkie loudly outside guest rooms early in the morning, before guests are up. We got woken up every single morning by the cleaning staff who kept slamming the service door at the and of the corridor, banging the metal cart, talking, laughing etc with no consideration for the guests. The carpet in the hallways is not clean and it didn't seem to have been vacuumed. In addition to that, there is renovation work going on at the property, with drilling at early hours in the morning (which was not notified to the tour operator, as it should have been as normal practice in the industry). The rooms are ok, but not quite 4* quality. Wi-fi is not reachable everywhere, so check as soon as you enter your room, or you will need to be moved to a room closer to the wi-fi signal. There is a lack of electrical plugs in the room (only 2 in the bathrooms), none in the room unless you unplug the tv and the fridge. Breakfast is just ok for european guests, as clearly targeted mostly at asian travellers. Croissants were barely edible (they seemed factory made, worst ever had in my life) and orange juice was from concentrate. We just stuck to fruits and yoghurt every day. The manager went round the tables advising guests that breakfast would be finishing in 5 minutes (not a great touch for a 4* property). The pool area is ok, but quite small, and it doesn't get any sun as surrounded by the hotel walls. The main bonus of this hotel is the rooftop terrace, which enjoys great views over Saigon. It is quiet, with not many guests, and a great place to relax while sipping a cocktail (they have a happy hour in the late afternoon). Beware of the taxis booked by the hotel: they only use the grey Saigon Tourist cars which are parked in front of the hotel. That taxi charged us 435,000 dong for a 5 mins journey which should have costed 130,000 dong. When we realized that, we never used them again, and went straight to the Vinasun taxis parked at the left of the hotel (white cars) which are much more reliable and honest (bring with you address and map of where you need to go, as drivers rarely speak english). Overall the hotel is ok, and if they manage to rectify some of the above points it would be a real 4* property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiarak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngoc L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear kiarak75,

First of all, it is my pleasure to read your comment, and understand your personal feeling with Grand Hotel Saigon. I would like to appreciate for your experience sharing, and staying with our hotel.

I would like to apologize you because we could not give you the fantastic service as your expectation. We took it note, and shared your case to all relevant departments.

Again, I hope that you could sympathy for us, and I look forward to say welcome you soon in our hotel.

All the best wish for you!

Kind regards,



Jacqueline Ly
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed at he Grand Hotel with my 21 year old son at the end of our trip to Vietnam in December 2013. After relatively rustic accommodation in other places we went to the Grand Hotel really was an oasis. Our room was superb, service impeccable and the breakfast world class.

I'm planning to come back to HCM City with my wife for a completely different experience and I'm looking forward to bringing her to the Grand.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chezhodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngoc L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Chezhodge,

Firstly, It need to say thank for staying with our Grand Hotel Saigon, and it is our pleasure to understand your experience in our hotel.

I highly appreciate for your compliments. Personally, I could understand your interested feeling when you come to another countries, and have an enjoyable time. I believe that you took a lot of nice photos, and took a lot of amazing food in our country.

I hope that all the best wish will come to you, and I look to meet you up again in our hotel with your wife. Please email to our team via my email (customerservices@grandhotel.vn) to give a special experience for your wife.

Kind regards,




Naomi Ly
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuart Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our Vietnam tour was completed with a five day four night stay at the Grand Hotel, located in district one on Dong Khoi Street.
We were accommodated in the antique luxury wing overlooking the swimming pool. The room had a good layout, with all the normal requirements, clean and fresh, however was a little dark, probably due to the old theme of the wing.
Breakfast catered for many national tastes in a lovely colonial style room, a great way to start the day.
Roof top bar was excellent for viewing the river and surrounding city. A pleasant river breeze and great outdoor setting. Don’t miss the happy hour.
Being in district one meant that we were close to many attractions, bars of all shapes, sizes and tastes, restaurants (in particular the Jaspas directly across the road), coffee houses and shops.
A short walk down Dong Khoi Street will bring you to the Notre Dame Cathedral, Opera House, Reunification Palace and surrounding parks. Take your walk in the opposite direction and you will find you are just five minutes from the river and dinner cruise boats.
Five minute cab drive to International Medical Centre in Dong Khoi Street and a ten minute cab ride to well-known Ben Thanh markets.
Cab drive to international airport approximately 160 000 Dong and almost without exception you will find the cabbies excellent, courteous, polite, chatty (if you wish) and almost insistent that they handle your luggage of all sizes.
The Grand Hotel was good value and we would certainly stay there when next in Ho Chi Min City (have already had friends change their accommodation to move to the Grand).

Room Tip: Our room in the luxury (old) wing were nice but a little dark, otherwise good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngoc L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Donald C,

I would like to say thank for staying with Grand Saigon Hotel. A part of myself could understand your experience when you could have a great trip with you family in Ho Chi Minh City.

I believed that you discovered almost the attractions in Ho Chi Minh city, and took a lot of amazing pictures. In addition, it is so fantastic when you could feel comfortable with our room, and services. I will send your comment directly to our colleague as your gift for us to give you the better service in the future.

I hope all the best wish will come to you, and I look forward to meet you up again soon.

Kind regards,


Jacqueline Ly
Guest Relation Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for two nights in a 6th floor deluxe room in the Luxury Wing of this 4 star hotel. Built in 1930, restored in 1997, and with a new wing opened in 2012, The Grand sits in a convenient location within walking distance of many of the sites a tourist would want to visit in Ho Chi Minh City. Our room overlooked the swimming pool in an inner courtyard, and across the rooftops. The room was spacious and nicely furnished, with a large marble en suite bathroom.Breakfasts were served in the main dining room on the ground floor, where it was very busy so tables were being shared by different tourists. The staff couldn't clear tables fast enough. A wide variety of western and Asian dishes was offered, with a chef cooking eggs to your specification. We enjoyed a drink on the roof top bar where there were wide views of surrounding buildings and across the river, particularly picturesque as the sun went down. Guide books recommend a drink on the rooftop of another hotel in town, but the views from The Grand were much better. If you are wanting a casual atmosphere, The Grand may not be for you, as the furnishings are very formal, but it was certainly very comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevators would be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cadarnle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngoc L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Cadamle,

Thank for staying and sharing your experience with us. I am so happy when I could read your comment because the French Wing is one of our differentiations.

Grand Saigon Hotel was built in the year 1930. After many years, we made many change from equipment, services, and decoration as well. However, with the French Wing, we tried to keep the traditional, and classic as the way we keep something called "History memory". Personally, I am proud of it.

Regard as your problems with F&B service, we would like to say apology, and we will try our best to improve it. One more time, I appreciate for your staying with us, and I look forward to see you in our Grand Saigon Hotel.

Kind regards,


Jacqueline Ly
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What a feeling entering the foyer ; a beautiful hotel ; very central in district 1
When booking try and get a outside room not one inside
rooftop bar a great meeting place and a place to be seen
Rooms are comfortable and of good size

Room Tip: outside room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjck1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngoc L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Mjck1945,

First of all, we would like to thank for your stay at Grand Hotel Saigon.

We are very proud of our staff and it is always rewarding to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am thrilled that you were happy with the service and felt that no request was too much trouble. The staffs like to ensure our guests are happy and have everything they want during their time with us. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the team.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Grand hotel Saigon

Kind regards,



Jacqueline
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have just spent three nights at the Grand and enjoyed the nicely furnished rooms with fresh fruit every day. The rooftop bar has happy hour from 3 to 7pm and the views are pretty good too. It is easy to walk to the main attractions and we felt quite safe in the area of the hotel. The staff is efficient if not too friendly and I would recommend the Grand Hotel Saigon if you want a comfortable bed in Saigon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbryabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngoc L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Dbryabi,

Thank you for staying with Grand Hotel Saigon and for sharing your comments.

We are delighted to know that your overall experience was a great one and our service was able to meet your expectation. We will continually strive to better improve our service and facilities to deliver exceptional service and create memorable experience to all our guests.

Once again, thank you for choosing Grand Hotel and we look forward to welcome you back at Grand Hotel Saigon in near future soon.

Best regards,


Jacqueline Ly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#44 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#13 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#50 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saig...
#32 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saigon

Property: Grand Hotel Saigon
Address: 8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#22 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#35 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Hotel Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing