We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saigon Experience”
Review of Grand Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saigon
Ranked #41 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Saigon Experience”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was very impressed with this accomodation. I found my room huge and comfortable and all the facilities were of the highest standard. The staff I found pleasant and most very helpful although some of our questions were sometimes lost in translation. So a level of patience maybe required. Johnny on the desk was great and his English communication very good.
As mentioned in another review i recently read, The only negative comment was the shower/bath area did flooded easily.
Lastly, this statement should be taken as a general warning to traveller's to this area and not as a reflection of the standard of the Grand hotel...... be careful of pick pockets and skimming devices on ATMs as my travel companions unfortunately experience both while travelling through vietnam. But overall a great travel experience! !!.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngoc L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Glenda193,

First of all, it is my pleasure to read your comment, and understand your personal feeling with Grand Hotel Saigon. I would like to appreciate for your experience sharing, and staying with our hotel.

I would like to apologize you because we could not give you the fantastic service as your expectation. We took it note, and shared your case to all relevant departments.

Regard as your problem with our barthroom problem, I will report it to our manager, and I believe that it would have a big improvement in the near future.

Again, I hope that you could sympathy for us, and I look forward to say welcome you soon in our hotel.

All the best wish for you!

Kind regards,



Jacqueline Ly
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    876
    305
    93
    46
See reviews for
381
939
113
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel is well located, however general services standards are below that of hotels we experienced in other Vietnam locations. The smell of stale cigerate smoke is difficult to allude and is not acceptable for a top end hotel.

Room Tip: Stipulate non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomDocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngoc L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear TomDocker,

First of all, it is my pleasure to read your comment, and understand your personal feeling with Grand Hotel Saigon. I would like to appreciate for your experience sharing, and staying with our hotel.

I would like to apologize you because we could not give you the fantastic service as your expectation. We took it note, and shared your case to all relevant departments.

Again, I hope that you could sympathy for us, and I look forward to say welcome you soon in our hotel.

All the best wish for you!

Kind regards,



Jacqueline Ly
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Loved this place right from the start. The check-in was quick and easy. We were on the 12th floor opposite the lift which was very quiet. The room was spacious and the bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful and the toiletries were a good quality. The location is fantastic with most points of interest close by. Staff were helpful and pleasant. The breakfast had something for everyone. The food was good quality. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marnology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngoc L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Marnology,

First of all, I would like thank you so much for staying with us. Our team and me felt so excited, and happy when you could have the best experience with the nice room, and great view in our hotel. We believe that we gave you the positive views about the Vietnamese hotel industry, and the most beautiful part of Sai Gon river (as you saw from our hotel).

I hope that we could see you, your family, and your friend as well in our hotel in the near future.

All the best wish for you!

Best Regards,


Jacqueline Ly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Make sure you book in the heritage wing. It's really atmospheric, especially if you get a pool view. Our room was huge and really beautifully decorated in the old colonial style, which is very much to our tastes. It was almost kitsch, but incredibly cool at the same time!

Breakfast was delicious and starts at 6 so you can eat before any tours. Staff were friendly and everything else was great.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Np3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngoc L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Np3008,

Thank for staying with Grand Hotel. It is amazing when you could give us the fantastic positive comment.

Personally, I understand your feeling about the French Wing. It is one of my honour for working in Grand Hotel. Therefore, we will try to keep the colonial French style as the differentiation from our hotel.

About the problem with our staff, we took it note, and we promise to improve it. We apologise for the unexpected issue in Grand hotel.

All the best wishes for you!

Best Regards,


Ly Thi Anh Ngoc
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxby Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly, clean, comfortable accommodation, fantastic location close to shopping and also attractions, it's central and has a great view of the Saigon River. It has brilliant food, restaurants and great facilities. It has a very well equipped gym. The health and beauty spa has welcoming staff that did a fantastic job catering for our needs. The staff all around the hotel from the bar staff to the concierge were nice, friendly and also spoke great English. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilJenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngoc L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear PhilJenni,

First of all, we would like to thank for your staying at Grand Hotel Saigon.

We are very proud of our staff and it is always rewarding to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am thrilled that you were happy with the service and felt that no request was too much trouble. The staff like to ensure our guests are happy and have everything they want during their time with us. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the team.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Grand hotel Saigon.

Kind regards,



Jacqueline Ly
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Centrally located hotel that is accessible to many places of interests. The hotel is clean and we stayed on the 14 floor, facing the lift. However it is not noisy especially if you tend to be a light sleeper.

However, word of caution. ALWAYS check you minbar to do an initial inventory. We were accused of opening a bottle of EVIAN even though my partnwr and I did not touch it at all. We did take La Vue bottled water and promptly charged for it but not Evian. We refused to pay and received a very rude reception from front office manager. Later on he threw the bottled EvIan on against his counter as he got angry with us. Absolutely unprofessional. So people, always do inventory check when you first check in.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngoc L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Morwen C,

Thank you a lot for staying with Grand Saigon Hotel.

All your comment will be noticed and shared with all our staffs. It could seen as a gift for our effort to serve you, and your experience about our minibar problem would be send directly to our manager as the report.

We hope that you will get some amazing improvements if you could come back Grand SaiGon hotel one more time.

All the best with for you, and your family!

Kind regards,


Jacqueline Ly
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west victoria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

From the time you experience the quick check-in until you find the same efficiency when departing, this Hotel has everything a holiday maker could want. Staff are efficient and polite room comfortable, good breakfast, and well kept. Location means it is easy to walk around the city and have a good look at all the many stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyah_mob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngoc L, Giám đốc quan hệ công chúng at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear nyah_mob,

Thank you for choosing Grand Hotel and sharing with us your kind comment.

In term of the pathway challenging, we will pay attention to the problem with the noisy sound in swimming pool, and try our best to improve it in the near future.

I believed that you discovered almost the attractions in Ho Chi Minh city, and took a lot of amazing pictures. In addition, it is so fantastic when you could feel comfortable with our room, and bed especially.

I hope all the best wish will come to you, and I look forward to meet you up again soon.

Kind regards,


Jacqueline Ly
Guest Relation Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#44 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#13 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#50 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saig...
#32 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saigon

Property: Grand Hotel Saigon
Address: 8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#22 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#35 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Hotel Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing