We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old-glamour hotel with a few flaws” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Majestic Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Ranked #41 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Old-glamour hotel with a few flaws”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Decided to spoil ourselves with some old-galmour luxury with a couple of nights at the Majestic on our backpacking-trips this summer, and had high expectations. There are lots of good things about this hotel. Firstly, it is really grand! Feels luxurious from the minute you walk in the door. The rooms are large, bathrooms huge, and the pool-area looked very nice (did not use it due to rain, thunder and lightning). The best thing about the hotel however is the breakfast-buffet! It is really lovely. Make sure to have lots of time to try out all the little treats of all kinds.

On the slightly less impressive side, some of the services are less than great. The internet in the lobby is way over-priced, there is no wifi, the ATM-service was broken and the exchange-service was closed all the times we asked for it. Our lovely evening drink at the rooftop-bar was completely ruined by a gypsy flamenco band (!) doing bad cover versions of spanish tunes. Really weird. Beware also there are few restaurants open late in the neighbourhood.

All in all: Come here for a drink (on a night where there is no gypsy-band!), but I would spend my money staying somewhere else. The price is quite high for the service you get.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    1,043
    335
    105
    57
See reviews for
455
1,247
215
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We enjoyed a four night stay here for our first trip to Saigon. The reception staff were very helpful and spoke great English. Our room was very tidy and a good size, with a great view over the river. The breakfast was really very good, with a wide selection, and a great way to start the day. We didn't eat or drink in any of the hotel bars as the prices were far higher than outside and they lacked atmosphere (we didn't see the point in coming to Saigon and eating in the hotel)!

We could walk or get a short taxi ride to everything we wanted to see in District 1, so thought the location was fine.

One of our nights was a Saturday, and our room was beneath a wedding reception. We were informed there would be some noise, although it didn't bother us, it may be a concern for some.

Room Tip: There are many bars and restaurants in the hotel, so if noise from those will be a problem, ask to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

This has to be the best hotel in Vietnam, if not SE Asia, it is charming something most modern hotels are not. Sadly they are thinking to modernise into just another glass set of boxes like everywhere else. Everything about the place is special.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drtco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Neck, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

What an amazing hotel, from the grandeur that only old hotels can emit, to the views of the Saigon river this hotel is a must. While the rooms are quiet inside, we greatly enjoyed walking out on our balcony in the mornings to absolve the chaos of the morning rush of motos as they cross cross every which way

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
327 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 801 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

The Majestic Saigon is beautiful, restored to its original art deco opulence, looking like it belongs in the heart of the New Orlean's French Quarter. It is located right across the road from the Saigon River dinner boat docks, and only a block or two from the heart of downtown Ho Chi Minh nightlife. The SkyBreeze restaurant on the 5th floor offers alfresco dining and breakfast buffet, but the jewel is the M-Bar on the 8th floor rooftop, with one of Ho Chi Minh's best views of the Saigon River winding below. A particularly nice place to wind down the day with a beer or well priced cocktail.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Beautiful hotel, excellent service. Price included breakfast and what a breakfast it was. The Terrace overlooking the river was marvellous.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We loved staying at this hotel. Our colonial suite room was large and just right for ourselves and child as it was two rooms. The breakfast area and bar on the rooftop was a great way to start and finish the day. We found the location convenient for walking to see the sights.

Mostly however we found the service outstanding from the minute we arrived. Friendly, unobtrusive and helpful. We ended up having a great need for this as we left our passports behind (really!) and discovered this on arrival at the airport. A panicked call to the hotel, and about 20 minutes later one of the desk staff who we had talked with quite a lot (and so knew us by sight) turned up on the back of a bike with our passports in hand. We were so relieved and happy.

We would stay here again because it is such a pleasant hotel, and because when we needed outstanding service, they came through.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#13 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#48 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#37 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Saigon

Property: Hotel Majestic Saigon
Address: 1 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#47 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Majestic Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Saigon has been ranked at 118 among Asia’s top 125 hotels at the 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards which is based on voting preference of travelers of which has been praised by Conde Nast, a Top Travel Publication on 20 October, 2011. It’s our honor to officially confirm that the new Majestic Building will be an Annex Wing on Nguyen Hue street and next to the existing building. The Colonial Building since 1925 is still forever maintained as its Colonial French architecture. Since 1925, Majestic Hotel has occupied one of the finest locations in Saigon where guests can enjoy the stunning views of Saigon River. The old world boutique charm of the hotel, the elegance of columned and arched classical French colonial design glorify the Golden Age of architecture. Luxury is achieved through attention to details and complete comfort ensured through courteous service.The Majestic has gone through several reincarnations over the years, changes that reflect the tumultuous history of Vietnam. During World War II, the Japanese Imperial Army used this French colonial structure as a military barracks. During the Vietnam War, it was frequented by foreign correspondents and espionage agents. It is a hotel of tradition - hospitality - elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda and Travelbag so you can book your Hotel Majestic Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Saigon Hotel
Majestic Hotel Saigon
Majestic Ho Chi Minh
Majestic Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing