We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall impression is good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Ranked #43 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overall impression is good”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The river view is no doubt excellent. The air-conditioning is poor in the corridor area and inside the breakfast area if you choose to stay inside instead of outside. Food is very good for the breakfast. Room size is fair but is sufficient for two persons. Construction work is going on for the new wing therefore some noises in the evening and during night time. Staff service is good particularly the concierge service. Local tour prices if arranged by hotel is on the high side and one can look for day trip arrangement outside the hotel with dirt cheap price and good service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing river will be noisy as the road between the river and hotel is very busy. Rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    1,057
    339
    105
    58
See reviews for
461
1,269
218
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
South Grafton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Always wanted to stay at the Majestic and so glad we did. Had a riverside room which we loved but if we go again would choose a pool view room.
Staff were great and even though a new wing was being built next door it didn't disturb us too much but lite sleepers may be disturbed. Would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grafton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times and each time have had a fantastic stay. Centrally located and with a view of the river The Majestic is the perfect place to enjoy Saigon.

We had Deluxe River rooms and as can be expected with hotels in the region the rooms are big and the beds a extremely comfortable (more in a European style rather than many of the harder beds you normally find in Asia).

We did have an incident where the noise from nearby construction was very loud, the front desk was more than happy to move us and upgrade us which was a nice touch. The service at the Majestic is impeccable without being intrusive, and on one occasion when we missed our flights (due to a rather big night the night before), the concierge was more than happy to rebook our travel arrangements which was immensely helpful.

The Majestic is a grand old dame that is always ready to welcome you back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oliverjamesgould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I really liked this hotel.
it still has the original 1920's fixtures and furniture in immaculate condition! Our sink was like a shell! and the furniture in the room also had shell motifs! Kitch! But AWESOME becauses it was all so well taken care of.

Breakfast was great with everything you could possibly want! They have a special Mr Coffee man to serve the coffee which was fun.

The pool was small but very nice!

They also have a nice roof top bar with free welcome drinks! Woop! Woop!

Very good location! the shops on that street are also very good. I recommend a stop at Lotus which sells vintage propaganda posters, and the Art Book Shop. Very nice book selection..

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view. That way you get a little balcony. But then you are looking into an interior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We loved the old colonial style of this hotel and its undisputable elegance. It is currently still being renovated in parts but this did not bother us. The rooms were old fashioned but had everything we needed and were spotlessly clean. The location is great and even if you do not stay here I recommend drinks at the rooftop M Bar which has simply fabulous views up the Saigon river and wonderful cocktails! The breakfast was al fresco and good quality and plentiful. The pool is small but enough to cool off after the heat of the city. Recommend, especially if you would like to experience some of the style and character of Old Saigon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonMetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms are lovely and in keeping with the rest of the hotel. We stayed on the fourth floor and our only complaint was the smell of food coming from the fifth floor, although this was not evident in our friends room next door but was strong in the corridor.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PageBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We did not stay here but would if every in Saigon again. The view is incredible and the hotel beautiful.
Our experience was on the top floor in the bar overlooking the river. The selection of non-alcoholic drinks was very impressive and very delicious. I had a vietnamese coffee and the other ladies had a slushy of some red fruit which they reported as refreshing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanhoefner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#14 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#47 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#38 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Saigon

Property: Hotel Majestic Saigon
Address: 1 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#33 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#47 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Majestic Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Majestic Saigon has been ranked at 118 among Asia’s top 125 hotels at the 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards which is based on voting preference of travelers of which has been praised by Conde Nast, a Top Travel Publication on 20 October, 2011. It’s our honor to officially confirm that the new Majestic Building will be an Annex Wing on Nguyen Hue street and next to the existing building. The Colonial Building since 1925 is still forever maintained as its Colonial French architecture. Since 1925, Majestic Hotel has occupied one of the finest locations in Saigon where guests can enjoy the stunning views of Saigon River. The old world boutique charm of the hotel, the elegance of columned and arched classical French colonial design glorify the Golden Age of architecture. Luxury is achieved through attention to details and complete comfort ensured through courteous service.The Majestic has gone through several reincarnations over the years, changes that reflect the tumultuous history of Vietnam. During World War II, the Japanese Imperial Army used this French colonial structure as a military barracks. During the Vietnam War, it was frequented by foreign correspondents and espionage agents. It is a hotel of tradition - hospitality - elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Travelbag, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Majestic Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Saigon Hotel
Majestic Hotel Saigon
Majestic Ho Chi Minh
Majestic Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing